Nathan Edward Sweet’s Reviews

Nathan Edward Sweet

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. When battling DSS in North Carolina, contact Nathan Sweet FIRST!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.

    I had retained Mr. Sweet for a bogus DSS/CPS case against me. I certainly wished I had used him when the DSS investigation began, as the case clearly would have been dismissed before it really began. If you are facing a garbage allegation from DSS/CPS in NC, I HIGHLY recommend speaking with Mr. Sweet regarding your rights, and having him represent you in your case. I expect a very long and successful career practicing law for Mr. Sweet.

  2. Child Custody

    Posted by Fabian Rosado, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I initially hired Nathan Sweet to represent me during my child custody case and citations. Mr. Sweet conducted an outstanding job which resulted on me maintaing primary custody of my children. In addition, Mr. Sweet performed other legal tasks that I had pending. Not only is he reliable and great at his job, he truly cared on the well being of my children. Most definitely , I highly recommend him to anyone who needs a family law attorney or any legal issues. I would definitely count on Mr. Sweet to represent me in any future matters.

  3. Very Thankful for Nathan Sweet!

    Posted by Tiffany, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nathan Sweet was my lawyer recently for a child custody hearing. This was very difficult for me to go through but he was there every step of the way to walk me through it and I never doubted his ability to help me win my case. He is very straightforward and honest and willing to take the time to make sure that he is not only prepared, but that you are as well. He worked very hard on my case and always made me feel like my case was important to him and that I wasn't "just another client". He is not only trustworthy, knowledgeable and dependable, he is genuinely a good person and definitely the person you want by your side when you walk into the court room. Hopefully I won't have to use him in the future however, if I should need legal assistance in the future he will be the first person I call. My girls and I are definitely very thankful for Nathan Sweet!

  4. I highly recommend Nathan Sweet.

    Posted by Alanna, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Nathan Sweet.. He has done a really good job for me. Someone accused me of communicating a threat. My license for my job was on the line with this charge. Needless to say, Nathan Sweet got the charges dropped and handled my case with upmost professionalism. He is also going to handle a divorce case and child custody case for me and I will review later how that was handled. I have the most confidence that he will handle it well and I will be very satisfied. I would and will and do recommend this lawyer to anyone. He is awesome!!!!!

  5. Outstanding Lawyer

    Posted by Aida, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had the great pleasure to be a client of Nathan Sweet. Back in November 2012 I was charged with a misdemeanor larceny and came across the office of Nathan Sweet. I met up with him and we discussed my options, I Immediately felt relieved because I knew right away that he was well prepared and trustworthy. Nathan took my case to court and within a matter of day he got the charged dismissed I've never felt so happy in my life. When you are innocent and your back is against the wall you feel so much pressured. The best thing is to know that you have a lawyer you can count on, call, text and he will always have a response.

  6. Speeding Ticket

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Got a speeding ticket 60 in a 45. Nathan Sweet took care of it immediately. No matter what your legal needs are this man can handle it for you.

  7. EXCELLENT LAWYER "WILL RECOMMEND TO ANY FAMILY MEMBER AND FRIENDS ANYDAY"

    Posted by Ernesto, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Hello everyone,

    I first met Nathan back in November 2012 when my wife and I were accused of shoplifting from Walmart. I did my research like most of you are doing now and found out that Mr. Sweet was one of the top rated lawyers in Jacksonville, NC. I got his number from this site and immediately called him to schedule an appointment. He was very professional from the beginning and i noticed how determined he was to take my case. His professionalism and dependability are above reproach. My wife and I presented him all the information we had pertaining to the misdemeanor larceny charge we were facing. We explained to him that I had applied to the Florida Highway Patrol and that i couldn't afford to have such charges on my record, neither could my wife. Specially being an Active Duty member of the United States Marines. He immediately acknowledged the situation gathered all of our paperwork and told us the options we had. It wasn't a hard decision to make because he went above and beyond and gave us a win win situation. We were so relieved to hear how everything was going to turn out. It felt like so much weight off our back. He spoke to us every week and kept in touch with us on his personal phone. Yes, his personal phone! He gave it to us the same day we hired him and said "Please don't hesitate to call me for anything." I knew then that we weren't just hiring a professional lawyer but instead a trustworthy, dependable, and dedicated professional that is very passionate about his job. Today January 29, 2013 was our court date and he got our case dismissed on the spot. He has already made us aware that he will start the arrest expungement as soon as he receives the dismissal paperwork from the court. We are so thankful for his hard work and dedication to our case that I can't begin to find a word to express our gratitude. We will recommend Nathan Edward Sweet to anyone in our family to include close friends. Please don't hesitate to give Mr. Sweet a call because my wife and I can tell you from our experiences that you will not regret it. Good Luck!

  8. Very Helpful

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We consulted Mr. Sweet about stepparent adoption procedures, since family law is one of his specialties. He was upfront about the fact that we would be his test case, if we were to retain him (adoption law is a specialty of its own,) and he offered a discounted rate in light of that. He also offered to do the initial research pro bono because he hopes to become one of the local experts in adoption law. We saw him late on Monday, and by Wednesday he called to respond to our questions. We did not retain Mr. Sweet, as our case turned out to be simple enough to handle ourselves. However, if we do encounter a need for advice on this or one of his other legal specialties, we will certainly call again.

  9. Very professional, extremely effective

    Posted by Dustin, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nathan has been an excellent attorney, someone I'm definitely glad to have in my corner. Helpful doesn't even begin to desribe my experience with Mr. Sweet. He was proficient in executing in a timely fashion, he always kept me informed as to where I stood in my legal matters and was very effective in accomplishing our goal. In a town full of well-known veterans, this young and enthusiastic attorney is definitely performing at the highest level and has earned the right for his name to be right next to theirs. The bottom line is if you need legal advice/representation...look no further!

  10. Help with traffic tickets

    Posted by Derek, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathan Sweet.
    • I hired Nathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathan handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have dealt with a number of lawyers in the past to help me with past traffic violations. By far, Nathan Sweet was the most knowledgable. He was very well informed, very professional, and handled everything immediately.
    I will definitely keep him in my phone if I ever need a good attorney again. Mr. Sweet was refered to me by a friend and I will also recommend him to my friends.