Horace Van Smith’s Reviews

Horace Van Smith

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. True to his profile

    Posted by Steve,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.

    I chose Mr Smith based on his online website and profile. I needed a lawyer that was experienced in child support/custody law without interference from other legal cases that affect focus on specific types of law and that's what his profile indicated and with rave reviews. I had a very pleasant and successful outcome to my case based of Mr. Smith's experience and talent, it is obvious why he is so highly thought of. I will continue my relationship with Mr Smith if needed to protect my rights and the rights of my child.

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      I understand for many clients, particularly family law clients, it's tough to know who to trust when those you formerly trusted the most and gave the most to are now seemingly "against" you. Thank you for putting your trust in our team here at Smith Strong, PLC. I'm thankful for your note and welcome the continued relationship in the years to come.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  2. Knowledgeable and Dependable

    Posted by Jessica,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Van Smith and his associates assisted me through a difficult process. Their patience and guidance as well as their understanding of the situation I was in throughout the case allowed me peace of mind. I appreciate their efforts and how they handled my case and highly recommend them to anybody looking for a reputable family law firm. Thank-you to Van and his associates!

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Truly appreciate your kind words. And I know how important that "peace of mind" can be for our clients. We know how difficult family law matters can be--it was our honor to guide you through the transition.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  3. Excellent service and great results

    Posted by Jeff, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • Horace handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Van helped us in our matter and was reliable, gave good advice, kept us informed and got us a great result. We would definitely recommend him to anyone. Both Van and his staff were professional and pleasant to work with. Thanks!

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      As my team hears me say each week--cases are won and lost oftentimes before even stepping foot in court because of detailed, thorough preparation. We're as tickled as you are about the positive outcome. Best of luck--

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  4. No need to search high and low..search Van

    Posted by Chris, a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • Horace handled my Marriage / Prenuptials matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After searching online and discovering Van's website, I knew he was the man for the job. Once you meet Van you will realize he is very personable and loves his profession. Van has a great heart and is knowledgeable in what he loves.
    I was nervous and he walked me through the process and at the same time made the experience a pleasant one. I highly recommend Van for any big decisions you need dealing with a lawyer. On his side he has experience, commitment, and effective communication. He was always positive with his reassurance.
    Van's staff was very friendly and very accommodating. They all are really good people who make up a great team to have on your side.

    "Good has two meanings- it means that which is good absolutely and that which is good for somebody."
    Aristotle

    Van is both :)

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      This comment is really powerful, and I'm truly humbled to read it (and I'll admit, I re-read it too!). First, thank you. Second, our firm is truly blessed to have clients that come to us for honest, done-right-the-first-time solutions. Working on your matter was very enjoyable, including securing the 'little tweaks' needed to get the agreement signed. All the best, Van

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  5. Great when there is a lot on the line

    Posted by a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Alimony matter.

    I first reached out to Van Smith a day after being served a notice for spousal support for 70% of my income. Scarred and worried, I found Mr. Smith on the internet and was encouraged by his specialization in divorce. He met with me outside of regular hours and while on vacation (over the holidays) making a special trip to Williamsburg just to meet with me. His office was very upfront with the purpose of the initial visit and cost (a one hour consultation) with no obligation. Mr. Smith called me himself to provide directions and confirm. After the hour, I hired him on the spot.
    Since I have been working with him, I have received invoices at the agreed upon schedule. I go over them with a fine tooth comb and have not found any discrepancies yet. His staff has been upfront and honest and allowed me to complete work on my own to cut cost. His paralegal provides most of the information gathering for discovery, which is good because she is cheaper.
    Mr. Smith makes it clear that he meets with his entire team every week to go over the case and make sure everything is on track. After this meeting, I often get calls for clarification and other information. It is helpful to know that at least once a week, everyone is on the same page. He provided me with his direct contact info and has answered every question the day of being asked. His staff is very responsive as well and I have never had to leave a message.
    I have been to court once with Mr. Smith. It was clear that his experience has taught him very effective strategy. He was anticipating the opposing attorney's underhanded move to obtain temporary support without a formal hearing. He was able to squash this, and demonstrated that he expected this all along. My first hearing was a clear victory. After the hearing, he sat down with me one on one in the courthouse to move on to the next step.
    I will say that he is personally involved in my very complicated case and has made an effort to understand all the intricate details. I have not had any abnormalities in my invoices, and I've looked. I work a lot with the paralegal, but just on information gathering. Strategy and court appearances have all been handled by Mr. Smith himself. At this point, I have no regrets in hiring him and would repeat in a heartbeat. My only regret is not hiring him sooner.

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Deeply grateful for passing along the compliments, thank you. Our firm employs a team approach. Our best clients get this, understand its value and quickly roll their sleeves up and, together, we set out towards the goal line. The 'easy' cases benefit from the cost savings, the 'complex' ones--like yours--benefit in this approach from each member focused intimately on their part in the play. Sometimes it elevates to an art form. And you know you've got it right when you hit that high of a 'victory' as you mentioned--and you've become a member of the firm's tribe. Welcome! And onward--Van

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  6. Very good strategic thinker as a lawyer

    Posted by Alex, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • Horace handled my Alimony matter.

    I worked with a lot of lawyer in my daily business as real estate developer and am very familiar with the legal profession. I used Van to create a proactive prenuptial agreement and was very impressed with his knowledge of the law and his ability to think strategically about issues. I feel that i got a responsive lawyer who helped me understand the context and make a strategic decision to protect myself proactively against any future issues. What else does one need from a lawyer?

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      I welcome sophisticated, business owners like yourself with family law matters because that complexity really tests my firm's "A" game. And it really is fun to bring security and long term, strategic thinking to a complex series of assets and property holdings. An ounce of prevention beats a pound of cure later--happy to be part of the prevention with that prenuptial agreement--and here's to a lifetime of happiness with the new bride. --Van

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  7. Poor service and extra charges by Van Smith

    Posted by Urmil, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When I hired Van Smith in October of 2013, I was charged the retainer twice and I had to complain. Three weeks later I was charged an extra $10 an hour for each person, without any notice. He did not answer a few of my emails for weeks. He did not file for a court hearing date to get me child support, despite us discussing that this should be done. I provided his office with all of the required paperwork in time, but they did not send the paperwork to the opposite counsel until more than 3 weeks later. I was charged twice for a teleconference with the opposite counsel, but was never told what happened and when I called Van Smith, he said the teleconference had been cancelled. He did not know what was going on in my case, he let his paralegal handle the case. Most of my meetings were with his paralegal and not Van Smith himself. Their invoices are outrageous and I decided to change my lawyer in January. My new lawyer has already scheduled a hearing date for child support within a week, something I was trying to get Van Smith to do since October. I would never recommend Van Smith as an attorney.

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      We are committed to world class service for our clients at Smith Strong, PLC. While I point out the overwhelming number of 5 out of 5 star reviews for our firm, we don't rest on our laurels or awards. As with all of our clients, we want to make you happy (and a raving fan) not only with the outcome of your case, but with your treatment by our team. I welcome your call to discuss any issues, which I personally will seek to diligently resolve. There are many untrue and misleading statements within this particular comment, however, which I believe a return of our calls and communication to you would clarify. We're here for you, in spite of your comment, and wish you and your new counsel all of the best. Thank You.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  8. Van Smith, The Man You Hate To Need.

    Posted by Rolf, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Recommended by a family friend , Van's name came out of concern that I might wish the best,most capable council possible. Matt, (another attorney)pressed home Van being the person he would choose should such a need arise . Professional, able ,and willing, the man who "wrote the book " has proven himself a faultless representative. Along with his excellent staff, Van has remained abreast of my desire for clarity and understanding regarding changes in my rapidly evolving settlement . An articulate personable negotiator, he creatively navigates the delicate balance between firmly expressing a clients views , and being too rigid to achieve the most positive result. My divorce is resolving now ,and I view my financial platform as a stable ship, due largely to his care and attention. By the way the book mentioned is titled"Divorce &Custody in Virginia:Quickly Get Back to Fully Living Your Life", authored by one fine lawyer, H. Van Smith.

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank You for these wonderful comments! I will pass them onto our team as well. I owe much to my staff to deliver the level of service for which my firm, Smith Strong, is known. It is truly wonderful to work diligently for clients that acknowledge that effort--I appreciate it. And keep in touch from time to time as you get going with your fresh start and new chapter.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  9. Best in Williamsburg

    Posted by Alan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Child Custody matter.

    I came to Van during a difficult time. He assured me we had a good case. Somehow Van was able to settle my nerves and get the exact result we wanted. He is very smart, and knows how to get results. Thanks a million!

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the 'smart' comment, I truly appreciate it. And you were truly a joy to work with--my staff also misses working with you! Results are aided greatly by clients that want the 'best' for their children. So, thank you, for that mindset which you brought to the case--it helped achieve the result.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  10. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Maria, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Van Smith.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Family matter.

    Van is an excellent attorney, he made me feel like I was more than just another client like most lawyers do. He cares about what is right and he does whatever it takes to win.

    1. Horace Van Smith

      Horace Van Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      You and your case have truly reminded me why I went to law school in the first place--to solve complex legal problems. I was honored to be your attorney, and wish you all of the best for your future and your family's future.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

804-325-1245