Standish Alexander’s Reviews

Standish Alexander

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Good Attorny

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Got my reckless driving reduce to speeding violation and expired license charge dismissed. Very good attorney.

  2. Speeding (x2)

    Posted by Karen, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 1-3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, I've needed Mr. Alexander 2x in less than a year. I live in MD and this year I began to travel regularly to NC and SC. The first speeding ticket was Oct 2011, the 2nd June 2012. Both tickets were for 80+ mph, and therefore considered reckless driving. I hired Stan the first time based on reviews I read online. He went to court for me both times, so I didn't have to take a day from work to travel back to VA for court. The 1st time he was able to get the charge reduced to a non-moving violation, the 2nd time, he was able to negotiate for me to take an online traffic class, and when completed my ticket would be reduced from reckless to simple speeding. I live in a very traffic congested suburb of DC, it's nearly impossible to speed around here, so when I get on the open road of southern VA, it's really hard not to let my speed drift-up. I will be traveling this same route for the next few years, and I really hope I won't need his services again, but if I do, I'm glad to know he's there. I highly recommend him!

  3. Out of State Driver

    Posted by Patrick, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 1-3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was driving through Hopewell County, VA and was pulled over for doing 71 in a 70. The cop told me that I would be charged with reckless driving - speeding. Being an out of state driver, I was just going to pay the ticket and be done with it. After receiving Mr. Alexander's letter in the mail, and doing some additional research, I learned that this was a Class 1 misdemeanor and would mean 6 points on my New York State license. All for being 1 mph over the speed limit! I hired Mr. Alexander to represent me on this ridiculous charge. I did not have to appear in court and he was able to reduce the charge to defective equipment. All I had to do was pay a fine - no points on my license, and my insurance did not go up. During the process, he answered all my questions in a timely fashion, and his rates were very reasonable. If I ever find myself in a similar situation again, I would not hesitate to hire Mr. Alexander again.

  4. Simply the Best

    Posted by Betsy, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 1-3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I received a reckless speeding ticket in February 2012 in Petersburg. Being from out of state, I searched the web for an attorney. Attorney Alexander was the only attorney that responded to my request for help in a timely manner!! Attorney Alexander took care of my case with excellent results!! I couldn't have done it without him!!

  5. good lawyer

    Posted by graham, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 1-3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    good and knows his stuff, got my reckless driving ticket reduced to a $54 fine

  6. Attorney Alexander exceeded my expectations.

    Posted by Phillip, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 1-3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Attorney Alexander did an excellent job representing me in court. He negotiated an agreement that exceeded my expectations. I am very pleased, and will be certain to use his services, should the situation arise.

  7. Great job

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish 1-3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    For the price, his work is probably worth three times as much. He had the connections and knowledge to get my 96/70 reduced to driving school, but also to be upfront and honest about what to expect. Most of the other reviews describe my experience exactly and I'd recommend him to anyone around the area.

  8. I recommend this lawyer with a heart beat

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish more than 3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was given a court date for reckless driving in Hopewell, VA. The judge wanted to take my CDL license away. Mr. Alexander was able to reduce the speeding ticket 91/70 reckless driving to a civil ticket with a simple $100 fine and clean drivers license. His price was extremely reasonable!

  9. A lawyer you can count on

    Posted by Arlean,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My college son was driving very fast and Mr. Alexander put all of my concerns to rest. My son was looking at jail time. Mr. Alexander represented my son and he had charges reduced and all turned out ok. Thank you Mr. Alexander for the proffessional work. God bless you and Happy Holidays.

  10. A truly helpful person!

    Posted by Kevin, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Standish Alexander.
    • I hired Standish more than 3 years ago.
    • Standish handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was given a court date for reckless driving in Caroline County, VA. I was likely going to spend a weekend in jail and a $1000 fine. Mr. Alexander got my court date moved to a day with a more lenient judge and was able to reduce my reckless driving to a speeding ticket with a simple $100 fine. His price was extremely reasonable, especially considering it kept my criminal record spotless and kept the fine to a minimum. And all this over the phone. I didn't have to show up in court because I live in another state! He took payment via credit card over the phone and mailed me the paperwork after my day in court.