Gretchen Lynch Taylor’s Reviews

Gretchen Lynch Taylor

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Clean Up Woman

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen 1-6 months ago.
    • Gretchen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Gretchen on appeal after being convicted on a DUI charge in District Court.

    Why:
    Gretchen Believed: After explaining the case details. She was excited about all the opportunities my case provided to obtain a dismissal or not guilty verdict. We encountered several obstacles with logistics and evidence, but she never seem discouraged; or waned in our ability to win.

    Gretchen's Resourceful: As an asthmatic, I needed a medical expert to provide credible testimony of the challenges asthmatics can sometimes face providing breath samples. She was able to identify and retain an expert in less than 10 days; whereas my withdrawing attorney initially opted not to and later could not find one with 90 days time.

    Gretchen Communicated: Clearly, concretely, and regularly about what needed to be done, by who and when. Between Gretchen, the medical expert and I, it felt like I was a member of my own "high-power legal team." We all had our part to play, not only in trial, but research and preparation. The more and better tools we placed in her arsenal, the more dynamic her defense.

    Gretchen is good with detail: She understands and/can quickly learn great detail. She demonstrated command of breath testing machinery, variances between devices and limitations. Gretchen was able to draw out uncertainty and contradiction in the officer's testimony; while also spotlighting the officer attestations to behaviors the officer testified I demonstrated properly.

    Gretchen's Cool Under Pressure: We drew a prosecution friendly judge who was very "generous" to the prosecution on objections, frequently rushed ; who, at the end, effectively pleaded for the prosecution to give him case law that would allow him to convict beyond the statute both the prosecution and defense agreed was applicable. Gretchen was able to use the judge's zeal for throwing out testimony or sustaining objections against defense witnesses against the prosecution’s witnesses; in one case totally eliminating one witness’s ability to testify all together (the officer was dismissed prior to answering a single question about the case).

    Gretchen's Adaptive: Gretchen was able to take the feedback I provided during the trial of the officer's testimony and integrate it into her cross to further tease out questionable testimony.

    Bottom Line: Gretchen Argued The Case That I Was Totally Satisfied, Regardless of the Verdict.

    nevertheless . . . the verdict was: NOT GUILTY

  2. Completely Trustworthy & Truly Dedicated

    Posted by Kathleen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen 1-3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gretchen went the extra mile within her investigation, discoveries, and insuring my comparability. I would highly recommend her to anyone in need of a lawyer with time, attention, and pure professionalism.

  3. Simply the Best

    Posted by Patricia, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen 1-3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Being indicted by the U.S. Government is a nightmare I would not wish on anyone. When our son was faced with the possibility of 20 years in prison for a first-time drug offense, we were frantic. Thankfully, a local attorney recommended Gretchen Taylor. After meeting with her for a consultation, our son knew he had found someone who would not only represent him well, but who cared about him as a person. Ms. Taylor's years of experience in federal court were invaluable in this case. She is professional, knowledgeable, and very respected by her colleagues on both sides. She is honest and open. She thinks outside the box--to her, every case is unique and should be considered from all angles.No stone is left unturned. She is very easy to reach and very responsive. She is also very patient and understood the anguish our family was going through. She made our son feel comfortable and confident going into federal court. She exudes confidence and calm. And she also has a warm sense of humor. We can't say enough about Gretchen Taylor. The outcome of our son's case was so much better than we had hoped for, and that's thanks to Ms. Taylor.

  4. The best lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen 1-3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    She is very focused,experienced and very understanding. Ms.Taylor defended a juvenile criminal charges. We are very satisfied with the excellent results. She is very optimistic,knowledgeable, and supportive.
    I highly recommend Attorney Gretchen Taylor.

  5. Excellent Lawyer!!! Very professional, tough, kind and understanding

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen 1-3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Well I was recently arrested for a pretty hefty misdemeanor and was very uncertain and pessimistic about what the outcome of the case would be (also was my first time dealing with the legal system), but Counselor Taylor kept myself and my family well informed and reassured through the whole ordeal and I was more than happy with the outcome. She is very understanding and really fights for your best interest as well as the best possible outcome. Represents her clients with honesty, perseverance, and great optimism when you truly need it most. You are in good hands by hiring Gretchen Taylor as your attorney. My family and I truly thank Counselor Taylor for all her work and expertise in all this. Awesome, Highly recommended!!

  6. A Premier Performance! Gretchen Taylor is a DUI Defense Expert.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen more than 3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After being charged with the serious offence of DUI, I expected the worst: severe driving restrictions, higher insurance, consequences affecting my business, and a permanent mark on my record. Quite frankly, I was terrified of the outcome and what could prove to be a life changing event. Thanks to the aggressive defense of Gretchen Taylor, I avoided a DUI conviction.

    I’ve never had a need for a lawyer before, but knew these charges were not something to face alone. After release from jail, I immediately went to work on selecting a lawyer. Gretchen was recommended by a friend, and also a highly respected Fairfax DUI attorney, who does not practice in Federal Court. After my consult with Gretchen, I knew she was well-suited to deliver the results needed. She quickly outlined the gaps the US Attorney would have to overcome for a conviction and assured me that there was reason for optimism.

    Throughout the coming weeks, she prepared the case and was in contact updating me on the progress. We even made a trip to the place where I was arrested, so we could provide the court with an accurate photographic description of the roadway for trial.

    In the courtroom you can tell Gretchen is in her element; she backed the US Attorney into a corner right away by requesting a jury trial. She whole heartedly felt a jury of my peers would see the deficits she was beginning to unravel in the case. After Gretchen made a motion for trial, the US attorney offered to reduce all charges (DUI & Refusal) to “improper driving”, one of the lowest traffic violations which is similar to running a stop sign or failing to signal.

    Gretchen Taylor is your best advocate when it comes to a successful DUI defense. I am eternally grateful for all her hard work, expertise, and care applied to my case. If I am ever in need of an attorney, Gretchen will be the first and only call I make.

  7. Gretchen Taylor epitomizes the ideal criminal defense attorney!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen more than 3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Taylor is very knowledgeable in her field, always keeps you informed, and knows the system very well. Her confidence and compassion made me feel I had the best attorney for my case. Thanks to Gretchen, the outcome turned out in my favor. I highly recommend her to anyone interested in a top notch criminal lawyer in Virginia.

  8. Gretchen is the best

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen more than 3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It took me some time to write this review because I simply cannot find the right words to describe how awesome Gretchen is. I feel proud of myself for making the right " LIFE CHOICE DECISION" and hiring Mrs. Taylor as my Attorney. Needless to say, I was doing my research and searching for a DUI attorney to handle my case for over a month. The moment I met Gretchen, I knew " this is it". I was found guilty , and Gretchen saved my life. Here it is:

    1. super sharp and detailed, always steps ahead and on top of the things

    2. available!!!!! e-mail, text, cell, always in contact with the client and impressive memory, I almost felt like I am her only client :)

    3. extremely charming. Judges simply like her, and compliment her, we had to appeal - the judge found me guilty. Yet, complimented Gretchen " you defended your client admirably"
    She does not even have to try. She just has that presence.

    4. So about the appeal. She just held my hand and said " Appeal". I was not even thinking clearly, - hopeless and lost. She saved my life. Went extra 1,000.00 miles to prepare for the appeal , and we WON!!!!!

    5. And she is very emotionally supportive. While I was on the stand, and the Prosecutor was " attacking" me, all I had to do is look at Gretchen to compose myself.

    So like I said - words cannot describe how greatful I am to Attorney Taylor. All I can say -" I was in good hands". She rocks. She is wonderful. She is professional. And she is the winner. I spoke to a few people who were convicted with DUI and simply saying - " my lawyer never even obtained the video tape", well,- not the case with Gretchen.... she is just awesome!

    Thank you Gretchen. Thank you.

  9. Thank you

    Posted by lala51202, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen more than 3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Gretchen was a great attorney. Always one step ahead of the game. Very easy to communicate with and very knowledgeable about her facts on my case.

  10. Very pleased and impressed!

    Posted by Amanda, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gretchen Taylor.
    • I hired Gretchen more than 3 years ago.
    • Gretchen handled my Animal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came to Gretchen w/ a very personal and hurtful case involving animal cruelty. Just those two words brings back so much pain from a very wrongful charge. She listened to my side when nobody would. The officer never even tried to communicate w/ me before stating her judgement. When you love and put your dogs before yourself, it can crush your spirit for someone to form an opinion based on appearance. Without the whole story and Gretchen to represent me, I would have faced losing my babies who are safe, happy, and healthy. There could have even been a sentence for jail time. There could have also been 3 dogs, alone and in a shelter, very confused and having a small chance of having the life they need, the life here with me. Please consider Ms. Taylor for your legal issues. You won't be dissapointed. I will always be loyal to her cousel and wish you the best with your legal trouble... if you need more than luck, call Gretchen!

Call now for a free consultation.

703-385-5529