Margaret Hackett Oliver’s Reviews

Margaret Hackett Oliver

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Light at the end of a dark tunnel

    Posted by Dionne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.

    Mrs. Oliver was recommended to me by a friend who went through a divorce. She was described as the "best divorce and family attorney, she nice but will FIGHT for you".

    The day I went for my consultation I was afraid, nervous, tearful and anxious. From the moment I met Meg, through the entire process, she was compassionate, thoughtful, honest, fair, and made me feel like my kids and I were her only clients.

    Meg was also fair with respect to pricing for her services. She discussed the most economical way to proceed with my case and was honest about potential future cost associated with various options.

    She made a very difficult divorce into one that was successfully and amicably setteled out of court with my kids and I receiving everything we deserved. What I love most is her ability to work together with the opponent fairly and with the most pleasant demeanor, but she knows how to be "aggressive" when warrented, but all with respect. She has a superior knowledge of the law and is very savvy and creative in designing parenting plans, child support structures, and property divisions that meet your needs and are legally sound.

    I pray that I never have to experience divorce again, but if you find yourself in this unfortunate situation, Meg will empower you, walk you through this process, and make you feel confident that life goes on! Because of her I can now smile again.

    Thank you Meg!

  2. Responsive, intelligent and caring divorce attorney

    Posted by Steve,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.

    Brief description of your legal issue:
    I highly recommend Meg Oliver to anyone who is facing divorce and wants someone who can listen and respond with reason and caring. Her advice is second to none, and yet she is responsive to your requests while outlining possible outcomes. She was more than helpful in designing a separation agreement for me and my spouse that the court accepted as terms for our final divorce agreement. She is fair and certainly an advocate for your rights. In my opinion, Meg is the right choice to guide you through the process, even an amicable one. With deep appreciation.
    Rev. Steve (a divorce consultation client)

  3. You Definitely Get your Money's Worth with Meg Oliver. Here's why...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret 6-12 months ago.
    • Margaret handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Meg by searching for an attorney on Avvo to help me handle my separation, divorce and child custody issues. I am so glad I chose her for an attorney. She made the whole process easy, fast and painless.

    Initially when I first met with her for a consultation I was emotional, had so many thoughts and worries, and I came at her with a lot of information and many questions. I was hoping that she would promise me that she would get me everything I wanted. Instead, she gave me a reality check which I am now thankful for. She explained what was realistically possible, and what would be challenging. She gave me various options on how we could approach the issues in my divorce, and I’m glad that she was honest with me and was not just after the business. She wanted to make sure I did what brought me peace of mind. Meg asks questions like, ‘What do you really want to achieve?’, and ‘What’s most important to you?’ and ‘What do you want to get out of this divorce?’ So she helped me refocus my efforts and take a less painful path which I believe ended up being the best thing for me and my family. Meg helped me think rationally and logically, always explaining that I should be reasonable in my demands, considering what is realistic and fair to me, my ex, and my kids.

    If I had gone to a different attorney, my divorce may have dragged on for a long time, costing me thousands of dollars in attorney fees and years of pain and frustration culminating in a bad divorce. Instead, the separation agreement and divorce was all completed in 1 year, and the divorce was relatively painless.

    For everyone reading this, you should remember that after you sign a contract, just like with other attorneys, every minute you take out of Meg’s day will be billed, including emails, calls etc. That said, you definitely get your money’s worth with her. She achieves results quickly and does not drag things on, which at the end probably saves you money. She is professional, friendly, honest, always responsive, reliable, efficient, and possesses a wealth of information.

    Going to court with Meg was a good experience as well. Aside from the fact that she was so well prepared, I could see that she was respected by her peers and everybody working there knew her. It was a good feeling walking into court with a superstar!

    I will definitely go back to Meg for all my legal needs, and will definitely recommend her.

  4. The Epitome of Excellence!

    Posted by Greg, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret more than 3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Meg Oliver is a true professional in every sense of the word! Unfortunately, my divorce dragged a bit. But Meg kept me focused on the task and we got through it together. I always felt comfortable with Meg, and she made me feel as if I was her only client. She was responsive to my never-ending and long-winded list of questions, and she has the patience of a saint. I highly recommend Meg Oliver as someone who represents both ethics and integrity for the process, and is both caring and sensitive to the needs of her clients. A top-notch attorney, and a wonderful person, Meg Oliver is everything you'd want in someone to represent your best interests.

  5. Meg Wins!

    Posted by Kate, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret 1-3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    If you’re wondering where the humanity is while flailing through divorce, it’s in Meg Oliver’s office.
    After spending nine months and significant funds making slow progress with a previous lawyer, it became a game changer once Meg was on board.

    We found her to be incredibly knowledgeable, efficient and a real advocate (she seriously cares); head and shoulders above anyone else we interviewed or hired.

    Patient and compassionate, she listened intently to our ideas and concerns then answered questions. We worked out a plan and she dove in to make things happen -- FAST. She held the line and was tough when appropriate with opposing counsel.

    An incredible communicator, she cut through shenanigans (and there was a lot of it -- emotional and financial) effectively moving us through the process mindful to keep costs down to an absolute minimum expertly balancing "expense VS return."

    Always up on the details of our case as well as quickly returning calls and emails, there was way less stress! We felt extremely lucky to have Meg on our side and recommend her services wholeheartedly.

  6. Meg Oliver The Best of the Best

    Posted by MB, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret more than 3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Child Support matter.

    Meg has been my lawyer for several years. Originally she was my lawyer when she was with a big firm. When she left the firm to start her own private practice I had no doubt that I would follow her and continue to have her as my lawyer. She without fail has been responsive to any and all questions. She was very respectful of my personal financial situation and allowed me to follow a payment plan when it appeared that, after I had paid several retainers, the case was going to take more court time than ever expected. Meg does her best to try to mediate a situation and avoid endless stressful court hearings. In my situation, my ex decided to represent himself and he is quite verbose. Meg managed to limit the amount of time he spent communicating with her as it could have potential to raise my bill but not his. Meg is compassionate and patient, especially during times when I felt like giving up. Thanks to her perseverance and expertise, knowledge of the court system, I am now receiving much long awaited child support. As a single parent, this is life changing for me. I have had other lawyers who failed miserably yet I still had to pay them. Meg is the Best of the Best!

  7. Voice of reason during a difficult time

    Posted by Eric, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret 1-3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Meg listened very closely to my ideas and plans for separation and divorce and provided calm reassuring advice during the entire process - respecting my wishes but offered tweaks and perspective. Not many attorneys would do this. Each person's situation is different and she respects that. In addition she is extraordinarily responsive and professional. A real gem. Recommend without reservation.

  8. Excellent Divorce lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret 1-3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I worked with Meg on my separation and divorce, after trying to use two previous lawyers who were completely unresponsive. She was clear about the entire process and timelines, and set my mind at ease. She also helped negotiate some tricky last minute requests from my ex in a way that was fair and equitable, and moved our hearing to a less formal setting. While never an easy process, she made it as painless as possible, and just gives you the sense that you are well cared for, both legally and personally.

  9. She's the best!!

    Posted by Linda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret 1-3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Meg is an excellent well informed attorney!! She also is a wonderful person and someone I could always trust. I would highly recommend her to anyone facing a domestic issue that requires legal counseling/representation.

  10. Simply The Best

    Posted by Syl & Shantel, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Margaret Oliver.
    • I hired Margaret 1-3 years ago.
    • Margaret handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The best description for Meg Oliver is simple, she is the best. Before retaining Meg, we had poor representation, in fact our case had taken a turn for the worst which is what prompted us to look for better representation. Meg took on our case & quickly got a grasp of the truth and was able to resolve it in no time. Her professionalism in and out of court was tremendous. We didn't have to continue to reach out to Meg, she continued to not only reach out to us, but reach out to both sides to get our matter resolved in our child's best interest. Because of Meg's knowledge in law proficiency, she was able to prove to the Judge without a shadow of doubt that our child's best interest was at stake & she was astounding. We also would like to share the personal email to Meg that we sent to her. Because of Meg we are one happy family. WE have never been in such situations like this. But have truly learned, nothing should be taken for granted & not every attorney has your best interest at heart. Meg, truly did. And we thank her from the bottom of our hearts.

    Emailed to Meg:
    Dear Meg, I wanted to allow Shantel to tell you her appreciation of your services before I gave mine. A day after the hearing, I thought about when we met. We really didn't know how or when this case would all end but we had a strong confident in you. I thought about what you said about taking things a bit at a time starting with the nose until we got what we wanted. I have to say Meg, you were incredible. WE thank you so much for all that you've done. You took our case believing in us and you made our story be told, by knowing our case through and through and it showed. You help bring us Justice. And no matter how complicated things were or how big of a challenge that was made, you made it all possible. Because of you, we now come home to a very happy 15 year old. When Shantel and I realized that it was over, we were very elated and yet we realized we would miss your pleasantries very much. You had a way of making us feel at ease through the toughest times we had in this struggle. You continued to give us sound legal advice, you kept things honest, and worked diligently to get it resolved. It's because of you we can continue moving forward as a family, and our child can continue to have a bright future without any limitations. I will never forget and you will always be in our prayers, our thoughts, and most definitely in our hearts for all of the kind things you have done in making us joyously happy.

    Again Meg Thank you

    Sincerely
    -Syl J & Shantel B.