Jan M Pederson’s Reviews

Jan M Pederson

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Pederson Law firm is excellent!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    Ms Pederson is an excellent lawyer. Her firm is professional, very trustworthy and knowledgable.
    She helped us when many other lawyers did not seem to have any hope of a good solution. She was highly recommended by a friend and we have to state that she is truly the best!

  2. Best of the best!

    Posted by Vijay, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    Jan has helped me steer through the perilous waters of the immigration ocean over the last 12 years starting with the O-1 visa and physician Conrad 30 J-waiver process followed by H1B filings, LPR filing and Naturalization. Over the years, her superlative judgment and fantastic instincts have helped me navigate through the maze and complexities of the process to truly arrive in the land of the free - the United States. My family and I remain indebted to her - she is truly the best of the best! I could write many pages on her stellar abilities, but the ones that stand out about her are: 1) her can-do attitude, 2) quickly overcoming USCIS errors, 3) always being available by phone, text or email, and 4) her amazing attention to detail and advocacy on my behalf. I could go on and on, but words are not enough to describe her abilities. May God bless her and her devoted staff!

  3. jan is top rank in immigration

    Posted by fardad, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    if you are in a rush and need a lawyer to do it for you, Jan is the one. I was really satisfied with her group. she is very knowledgeable and knows the shortest paths.

  4. Excellent attorney for the most difficult cases.

    Posted by RITU, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    If you have a case that is next to impossible. See Jan Pederson.

    This is the advice that was given to me by the most renowned immigration lawyers in Baltimore and DC. She is the only one who can save you. When I lost my job due to unfair reasons of my employer. Jan went out of the way to help me. She was there like what my family and
    Did the impossible and got me my visa approved.
    I can tell you most of the lawyers had told me that my case is impossible and were even scared to take up my case. They had actually told me they felt sorry for my situation. But could not help me. They told me they knew I was wronged but the immigration laws on J-1 waiver flex spots were not written. She even helped me get the Waiver approved from the department told health at my current employment. They knew her well and respected her. I did not have a place to stay and jan even offered to accommodate me at her place. I remember it was the sandy storm last year and jan was sick. Yet she called me up hearing the urgency of my situation and took up my case. She even helped me get my new job and made sure they help me with my visa. This is a very true story. J- 1 visa waiver transfers are possible even if it is a flex spot. But make sure you have a very experienced immigration lawyer like jan. so you don't have to live in fear or take the unfair ways of your employer. Talk to jan.
    I even had one of the presidents of the immigration lawyers tell me!!
    Well of course it was jan.

    She truly is the best. She is the only lawyer who has answered every email or call of mine. I can go in and on as my situation was really bad. !! She. Is very well respected and everyone I applied knew jan. it is true she also helped me get my current employment. More importantly she is very reasonable. I don't think it's the money that drives her it's the challenge and the need to help others in need. I had no one in this country and could my see my family. She did what I think my family would have down but no other lawyer would. Be there for me day and night. I can only thank god for making me meet jan.

  5. True Super Lawyer!

    Posted by Pankaj, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    If there is one word I have to describe Ms. Pederson then it would be 'Super'. She and her office have been extremely professional, knowledgeable and courteous. She did not only help me with my immigration situation but also informed me about a special program called 'MAVNI' or Military Accessions Vital to the National Interest (MAVNI) program, a test that permits the enlistment of certain legal aliens into the U.S. Army which was a very valuable piece of information for myself. She has answered my phone calls even after hours without any hesitation and actually responded to my 'emergency emails' even on a weekend and I think this differentiates her for any other Immigration Attorneys. I would recommend her without any second thoughts as I do think that there are very few people with that level of integrity and sincerity that you can trust. Thank you Jan and the entire office staff for helping me and many others like me! Truly a 'Super Lawyer'!

  6. Couldn't have asked for a better immigration attorney

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    Jan Pederson is simply superb both in terms of professional expertise and personal attention to clients’ needs. I found Jan on Avvo based on client and peer reviews, as I was in search of an immigration attorney who excelled in cases of H1B visa and consular processing. I met with Jan feeling quite stressed, thinking that I could be in deep trouble. Within minutes, Jan made me feel like I have nothing to worry about. Her vast knowledge of immigration law and years of valuable experience in the industry shine through every aspect of her business. She is well-connected, persistent and does not take “no” for an answer. After briefly talking with her, you know how determined of a person she is and feel confident that she will fight for you until the very end. Coming from a culture where personal trust is as important as trust in professional expertise, I was pleasantly surprised to see that Jan provides you with that extra personal touch, something that I found lacking in the lawyers whom I had worked with before. She is extremely approachable as opposed to many others in the industry, and her staff is also very nice to clients. I would recommend Jan to anybody who is looking for expert advice in immigration matters, as Jan will not only know the best way to resolve your issue, but she will also make you feel that you are in the best hands that you could possibly be in.

  7. Not the attorney I would hire

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would not recommend this attorney to anyone I know. She is Personal and she will judge you by your looks: if she doesn't like you she will try to get her feelings across in a rather crude way, unbecoming of a professional law practitioner. Howard University Graduate she seems to harbor ill sentiments about Harvard Graduates. A former attorney at Cramer, Haber and Becker she now runs her own ptractice. She may tell you a story about one of her clients who asked her a question and was, in response, told some irrelevant story, in lieu of an answer (!). Then she will give a short pause, add loud "F*** YOU!" ( presumably referring to the "bad" client) and then explain to you that if that "bad" client had half wits he/she would "understand" what was being communicated to them via seemingly irrelevant story. I never imagined clients who seek appointments with Immigration Lawyers meet latter to solve puzzles and guess answers to their pressing questions by absorbing some irrelevant, odd story spiced with some vulgar language, my fault. Overall, she has very high opinion of herself and will put an air of " I know this Judge, I know thAt Judge...." etc. One thing alarmed me particularly when she said she is an "expert" in reversing the decisions of Consular Officers who denied someone a Visa. From what I understand Consular Officers aren't exactly folks that can be easily pushed around: if you are refused Visa and there is a reason they believe you should not get a Visa then you are pretty much done. No sweet talking lawyer will change their mind if they are set on it and you gave them evidence you are not qualified for a Visa. They are Foreign Service Officers, if they decided to stamp 214 b in your passport you better show a genuine change of circumstances before they will reconsider their decision. And any lawyer who implies that they can almost for certain overturn CO decision is a sure sign of a trouble for the client. I won't say she is a swindler, I have no evidence of her wrongdoing and she didn't charge me for anything she didn't do, but I would be extra careful retaining this attorney. Oh, and be prepared to drink a full glass of water while watching an Egyptian Mosaic on the wall. It will be at least half an hour to forty five minutes past the appointment time before she greets you. And her lovely secretary will promise to "Kill your name" (whatever that means I have no idea) before letting you go. It just didn't feel right.

  8. Great attorney

    Posted by Mahsa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.

    One of the best decisions I have ever made in my life was asking Jan to help me in my case. She helped me to expedite the process for my J1 visa to start residency on time. She has a great team working with her who are very responsive. I highly recommend her to my colleagues.

  9. Immigration process

    Posted by Raaid, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would like to thank Jan Pederson for all her assistance during my immigration process. I have nothing but just excellent comments about her and her outstanding team. I felt I was always in good hands with them during my process. They did a very professional work. I will definitely recommend Jan to any of my colleagues and friends.

  10. HIGHLY RECOOMENDED FOR IMMIGRATION ISSUES

    Posted by FARAZ, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Pederson.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I strongly recommend Miss Jan Pederson & her Law Firm for any Immigration Issues. She helped me & my family alot in a very Professional & timely manner.