Andrea E. Mertz’s Reviews

Andrea E. Mertz

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very professional and trustworthy.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea < 1 month ago.
    • Andrea handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She was very professional and always kept my best interest a priority. This was my first experience with the court system and she made sure I understood everything as things went along. She was very personable and I always felt comfortable and confident in having her handle my case.

  2. Great to have on your side!

    Posted by a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 1-6 months ago.
    • Andrea handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Mertz was wonderful. She is a very confident and connnected lawyer who will fight for your rights above all else. Not to mention her great and impressive people skills, a true dream to have on your side and a nightmare to fight against. She knows exactly what she is doing!

  3. A positive experience.

    Posted by Lauren, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 6-12 months ago.
    • Andrea handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Andrea Mertz was very professional and able walk me through the overwhelming legal process. She was able to be reached anytime I had a question and replies quickly, which can be difficult from my past experience with lawyers. I would certainly recommend her to anyone in the Berks County area.

  4. Great representation

    Posted by Greg, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 1-3 years ago.
    • Andrea handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Andrea Mertz was an excellent attorney. She spent a great deal of time with me on my FREE consultation. She promptly returned all my calls. Made sure I understood every question I had. Gave me piece of mind through my whole legal ordeal.

  5. Excellent legal representation!!

    Posted by Sheryn, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 6-12 months ago.
    • Andrea handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was absolutely pleased with my representation by Andrea Mertz. She was helpful and consoling. She was always very punctual and prompt with answering my questions and returning my calls. I highly recommend her legal services.

  6. Honest and respectful legal representation.

    Posted by Doug, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 6-12 months ago.
    • Andrea handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Andrea helped me drop some potentially serious charges early on and later made it possible for me to avoid a dangerous trial where I could have been charged for things I did not do. She is very honest and keeps you up to date with your case as well. Andrea's experience in the field helps her realize ahead of time what might be best in your case and she is very honest with the costs of her service.

  7. Heaven Sent! Understanding, Organized, Responsive and On-Point!

    Posted by Alex,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 1-3 years ago.

    I am very thank ful for Andrea and for her services. Prior to my most recent case she was my Public Defender on a previous case. I feel that destinity brought her back to me. In March 2013 I was incarcerated for a charge against me in 2007. Specific charges were Theft By Deception, Receiving Stolen Property, Tampering with Public Records, Computer Trespass and Unlawful Use of Computers. I was looking at a Felony on my record and 3+ years in prison.

    After reviewing my information and helping me understand the charges she was able to give me an idea of different options I may have. She always made sure to go over any paperwork thoroughly and never gave me false expectations.

    After having to rescedule some court dates because of personal reason we were finally able to close my case.

    Originally having to face all of the above charges, having a felony on my record and facing time in prison Andrea was able to get me to only serve what I would consider the very minimal.

    I had to pay back any money owed to the plaintiff, serve only 40 hours of community service and was approved for the ARD Probation Program for 2 years at which point when I have completed them I will have no record whatsoever (expunged).

    Thank you so much Andrea!

  8. Knowledgeable. Aggressive. Motivated. Caring.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.

    I recently found myself in a situation I never expected would ever happen to me. I was unjustly facing criminal charges that if convicted, would literally change my life; charges that would destroy my reputation and ultimately end my career. Because of research and then good fortune, I was able to secure Ms. Mertz as my council.

    One of the main things that are essential for excellent legal representation is knowledge and the ability to deliver the knowledge assertively but with enough poise to not lose credibility. Ms. Mertz has mastered this balance. In addition these essentials, Ms. Mertz also kept me fully informed of what was happening regarding the case and the where the case was in the legal process. When asked, she was never reluctant to offer her professional assessment of the dynamic situation, and was consistently forthright. Her response time to emails and telephone calls was exceptional.

    There were many possible avenues to utilize and angles to take with this case. Additionally this case was complicated by the fact that there were other parties and council involved, but in the end, it was Ms. Mertz's plan and strategy that was implemented and ultimately resulted in my not being convicted.

    I feel fortunate on many levels to have had the great pleasure of being represented by Ms. Mertz.

  9. Simply Excellent !

    Posted by Michael, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 6-12 months ago.
    • Andrea handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Andrea Mertz prepared an excellent case on short notice and helped me come away with a
    win when the odds were against it . I thank her for a job well done.

  10. Awesome! Knowledgeable of the judicial system, knows the judges, PDs, and ADAs and their ways of looking at cases.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Andrea Mertz.
    • I hired Andrea 1-3 years ago.
    • Andrea handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Andrea has extensive experience in the Berks County Public Defender's Office and thus, the ins and outs of the PD, ADA and judge's perspective in different types of cases. This knowledge of the inner workings of the court and the individual professional's perspectives on certain types of issues is extremely helpful in the approach to your case. She is personable and yet she is professional. She is trustworthy and most of all, she pulls no punches. She tells you what the reality of the situation is and does everything to assure the best possible outcome for her clients. If we ever need an attorney again, we will definitely contract her.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

610-898-8500