Karen Purcell Reynolds’s Reviews

Karen Purcell Reynolds

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Same story as the other negative reviews

    Posted by Tom, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Initially, my impression of Karen was that she was a consummate professional with extensive experience in family law. While that is certainly how she markets herself, it soon became apparent that Karen had little interest in actually working my case.

    Karen was impossible to get a hold of. My divorce proceeding was prolonged as a result. After I proceeded to hire another lawyer, she took 6 months to refund my retainer. All the while, ignoring my emails and calls.

    Additionally, I never received a single billing statement. So it's literally anybody's guess exactly what she billed me for.

    And wait for it...here comes another rebuttal from Karen. At least there's one thing that she can respond to in a timely fashion.

    1. Karen Purcell Reynolds

      Karen Reynolds

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is Karen Reynolds. Of course, I am writing to address this review. I do appreciate that this former client signed his first name so that I can accurately address his concerns. This client and I had a personality conflict which lead to me advising him that I could no longer represent him. It is true that after addressing the situation many times, I stopped responding to the repeated e-mails and calls. Please also note that this client states he has previously worked with 3-5 lawyers. That can be a very telling piece of information. This was an unfortunate situation, not representative of my practice. Thank you.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Experienced and fair

    Posted by Nick,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.

    Karen is an experienced and fair attorney. She is up front, honest, and transparent. Her guidance and advice made a difficult situation much easier to get through.

  3. Review of Attorney Reynolds representing my divorce case

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Attorney Reynolds has been extremely knowledgeable with regard to family law and she has been aggressively working on my behalf to protect my rights as a man who is going through the painful divorce process. She also responds to my request for status in a timely manner with professionalism and courtesy. I strongly recommend Attorney Reynolds to anyone who is going through the pains of a divorce.

  4. Finding a lawyer you can trust is a difficult process - I got lucky with Karen.

    Posted by Paul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I can recommend Karen to anybody going through a divorce. She gave me an understanding of the process, kept me updated, offered alternatives, and was a good steward of my money. She would communicate with me via E-Mail, phone, and of course in face to face meetings. Finding a lawyer that you can trust is a difficult process - I got lucky with Karen.

  5. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am so glad that I hired Karen Reynolds to represent me in my divorce. I felt well-informed every step of the way. She really cared about helping me, and my kids, get through this tough time. I would very highly recommend her to anyone.

  6. Sorry CAN'T recommend, communication just STOPPED

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Child Support matter.

    Helpful as could be in the beginning, returning calls and emails. Then just like dropped off the face of the earth. No contact after several calls and emails and for over 2 1/2 months. My divorce didn't get final cause the 30 days lapsed with no reply about having gotten the papers to my spouse after several calls to see the status of it. Beyond frustrated with how it was all handled after the first part.

    1. Karen Purcell Reynolds

      Karen Reynolds

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is Karen Reynolds. I always strive to provide my clients the best and most personal service, so I was very sorry to read this review. The situation described above does not ring a bell. Since it is anonymous, I cannot respond directly. If the writer sees this comment, please contact me directly so that we can talk about the situation. Thank you, Karen

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  7. Compassionate and knowledgeable

    Posted by Irene,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.

    Finding a family law attorney that had the right balance of compassion for their client as well as extensive knowledge of the law was difficult until I met Karen. She worked with me and helped me through the process with kindness and honesty.

  8. Don't Use This Lawyer!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Terrible experience with Mrs Reynolds. Not responsive and did not do what she said she would do. In addition, she literally stole my retainer money since she did not work for the number of hours she charged me for and did not help me at all. There are many better attorneys in the area. Steer clear of this one.

    1. Karen Purcell Reynolds

      Karen Reynolds

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is Karen Reynolds. I work very hard to provide excellent legal representation to all of my clients. Although this review is anonymous, I recognize the situation. For reasons of confidentiality, I cannot discuss the situation. I ask those reading to consider that there are two sides to every story. In a service industry like the legal profession, once in a great while a client's demands are unrealistic and unattainable. If this is the case that I think it is, that is what happened here. I feel badly about this review, but I do hope those reading will consider that there are some important pieces missing from this story. Thank you, Karen

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  9. "Karen Reynolds"

    Posted by Eric, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Karen was recommended to me by a friend and I couldn't be more pleased. Her guidance through my divorce was second to none. More importantly, she always had the interests of my children in mind.

    Karen's professionalism and practicality were invaluable during my divorce. When things got difficult, Karen responded with integrity. She counseled and armed me with the right amount of guidance in an effort to make proper decisions. She ultimately helped me step past my anger and fears to make these decisions. Her sensitivity to the psychological weight of the matter didn't allow emotions to get in the way. This was particularly important to me when I was worried about how the divorce would affect my children while making decisions based on parenting and support.

    Karen's advice, professionalism, and integrity are second to none. Look no further.

  10. Clear, honest, empathetic legal advice

    Posted by Debbie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Reynolds.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Karen is very professional and personable in her demeanor when providing legal guidance. In a situation where we had absolutely no knowledge, she was able to clearly and succinctly outline the law and address the different scenarios based on that law and her experience in the PA court system and knowledge of child developement. (She keeps current with not only the law but studies done on child development, which gives her added insight and credibility regarding how the law and science "partner".) All of this combined has contributed to our feeling more comfortable and confident while managing our present situation.