Evan T. L. Hughes’s Reviews

Evan T. L. Hughes

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommend this lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan 6-12 months ago.

    I consulted with Evan a couple months ago. I was facing serious trouble, and he was able to keep me out of a bad situation. If I had not gotten to him early on, I probably would have been charged. Words do not begin to express my and my family's gratitude to him!

  2. self aggrandizing & self appointed "super lawyer"

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    i hired evan to work on my very very very serious case. several weeks into our arrangement, and after paying him $1500 to get started , i'm standing in court , getting admonished by a judge , while my arrogant, unhelpful, and very late (faux) "super lawyer" is finally making it down the hallway talking, hand shaking, and playing self important. on top of his terribly nonchalant work ethic , evan has zero (and i mean ZERO) business skill. for someone charging so much money, you'd think he'd be adept at managing people , his time, disparate egos, your case, and more.
    This "juris do-nothing" could NEVER, then or now , produce a single time slip (or receipt) proving he did one minute of work on my case. and, when you ask him for any data , he'll condescend calling you an "internet lawyer". i say, it's better to be an internet lawyer than to be a lying legal fraud charging $500+ an hour. for sure , because of his terrible know-it-all attitude, incredible hubris , and the FACT i had him on record doing absolutely NOTHING for weeks and weeks and weeks, he was FIRED. oh joy , to get arrested in the summer ...which means your super lawyer will be shuttling between his shore house and his suburban digs while he meanders into court, with an indulgent tan, not even knowing the plaintiff's name.
    When i fired him , he waited until a few days before an up & coming court date to tell me that i had no choice but to immediately hire another attorney, and remove him from the record, or risk possible jail time for showing up to court , before a judge , w/o a lawyer (when one (him) was listed on the record) !!! imagine that ...your criminal defense attorney nearly getting you locked up ,after taking your $, because you caught him being lazy & doing no work.
    It's very difficult, but not impossible. i didn't forget you evan. and , i STILL demand my $ back. you'd think he'd just return the money like an ethical (legal) contractor. nope. evan decides to keep my hard earned money cause he's insulted and embarrassed for being removed from my case telling me to file a fee dispute ! fee dispute? you earned no fees ! see you in fee dispute ? not really ! when im done with my case , we'll be filing a civil complaint.

    1. Evan T. L. Hughes

      Evan Hughes

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry that you are so dissatisfied John, however, this review is inaccurate and out of line. I hope you were able to find an attorney more suitable to your personality. Good luck.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  3. Best lawyer in Philadelphia!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hughes represented me in a very serious case in which I was wrongfully accused. He never gave up and hunted down a witness that my two previous lawyers couldn't find. He knows more about the ins and outs of the criminal system than any other lawyer i've worked with. The Judges love him and so do the jurors, he is an absolute superstar.

  4. Evan Hughes is amazing!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son was offered a deal of 6 to 12 years in state prison if he plead guilty. Mr. Hughes told us to reject the offer because the DA was being unreasonable. After a trial by jury, my son was found to be innocent and came home with his family. If you need a lawyer in Philadelphia, there is none better, he calls back and he cares. We can never repay him for what he has done for us. Thank you Hughes!

  5. Highly recommended Philly Lawyer

    Posted by Heather, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Evan Hughes represented me when I was falsely arrested for Domestic Violence. My life seemed like it was crumbling away in my hands, and he was extremely helpful, professional, supportive, and got the case dropped completely. I couldn't be more grateful for his help during one of the worst times of my life. Absolutely worth every penny, and as much as I hope I never have to call for his help again, I know he would be my only choice for future legal representation in Philadelphia.

  6. excellent philadelphia lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son was charged with a serious crime. We were very scared for him but Evan Hughes guided us through the process and got my son's charges dropped.
    My son is in college now!

  7. Great Philadelphia Lawyer!

    Posted by Wilson, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm not from Philly and found Evan Hughes on Internet, he was great. Returned all my calls and really cared. He knew everybody and was an awesome lawyer.

  8. Amazing

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This guy has one some huge cases. I didn't think he would have time for a smaller case like mine, but Hughes would always call back personally. I thought that I was really f..ed, but somehow he got charges dropped and is now getting erased from my record. People seemed to really like him at the court house. He is very slick. Excellent.

  9. Relentless

    Posted by John, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was beaten up by police and then charged with aggravated assault when I was the person assaulted! Racist Philly Cops!! Anyway, Evan Hughes was a real ballbuster and got my case dropped at a preliminary hearing. This guy is very good, I send him clients all the time. Yo can trust this guy and he is worth the money!

  10. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Hughes.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was offered a 5-10 year sentence on a shooting case. The DA had a weak case and Hughes told me not to take the deal. He beat it for me!

Contact Philadelphia criminal lawyer Evan Hughes AVAILABLE ALL HOURS

215-454-6680