Ian S. Mednick’s Reviews

Ian S. Mednick

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Precise and Quick Representation

    Posted by Cristina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 1-6 months ago.
    • Ian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Mednick was nothing short of amazing. He made me feel as though he was by my side every step of the way through a difficult time. His attentiveness, quick responses to my requests and moral and professional support through my divorce was more than I could have hoped for. I truly recommend Mr. Mednick not just based on my favorable results with my divorce, but on the knowledge that his commitment to your satisfaction and needs will always surpass your expectations.

  2. Representation at it's Finest.

    Posted by Joseph, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ian S. Mednick represented me for my divorce. His knowledge, experience, and tenacity in fighting for my rights as a father helped me to win joint custody of my children, keep my home, and not have to pay child support. My ex fought hard for full custody, the house, child support, and maintenance. I do not know what the result would have been with a different attorney. When my ex decided to violate the stipulation, I went back to Mr. Mednick to represent me again. I have already recommended Ian Mednick to friends needing a divorce lawyer and I would gladly do the same for anyone else.

  3. Highly recommended...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    After leaving another divorce company unsatisfied, I went with Ian Mednick who took over my case and saw it through personally. I am very satisfied with his guidance and work from preparing, filing to finalizing my divorce. He always responded to my emails and phone calls in a timely fashion by not only replying to my questions but also keeping me abreast with updates on my case every step of the way.

    If you are looking for a divorce attorney, I will highly recommend Ian. He has a good understanding of family law here on Long Island and charges very reasonable rate. He is very approachable, Knowledgeable, comfortable and pleasant to work with.

  4. The Best Lawyer

    Posted by Donna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ian is counseling me through the possible separation or dissolution of a 40-year marriage. The case is further complicated by severe physical disability and the need for continued medical care. When I contacted Ian, he was very patient and went over every scenario that could possibly occur and spoke to me at length regarding every conceivable outcome. He is extremely knowledgeable and responsive; if Ian says he will call, he does, and if I call him with a question he responds quickly. There is so much going on it seems that the stress is never ending, but Ian's professionalism allows me to make the best possible decisions because of his calm and reasoned objectivity. The last thing anybody needs in an emotional state such as this is an attorney they have to hunt down to speak to or one who does not have your best interests at heart because they seem to be preoccupied with racking up billable hours. I am extremely confident that I will achieve the goals I have with Ian's counsel and representation. He cares about the welfare of his clients and this is underscored by the way he conducts himself in the office and in court. I would highly recommend Ian to anyone seeking top-notch representation in matrimonial law. He is deservedly well-respected and a wonderful advocate. I consider myself lucky to have him on my side.

  5. Efficient, Caring lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 6-12 months ago.
    • Ian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ian Mednick was referred to me by a friend, after I had a horrible experience with another lawyer. I am so glad I listened to my friend. I actually feel like I have a lawyer now that is looking out for me. Going through divorce has been a rollercoaster; however, knowing you have a lawyer you can count on makes it a little easier. I was lied to by my former lawyer; moreover, told to do things that would not benefit me. I found out the hard way. I really feel blessed that my friend recommended me to Ian. Ian is knowledgeable, thorough, competent and shows genuine concern. I would highly recommend Ian and have done so already!

  6. Ian Mednick exemplifies professionalism in divorce and family law.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.

    Ian is representing me in my divorce and child visitation efforts. My wife's ongoing campaign of turning the children against me reached new levels as soon as I left the household. She has made false accusations and continues to denigrate me and manipulate the justice system to distance me from my children. Ian Mednick has shown the higheest level of professionalism, urgency and compassion as he helps me navigate through this difficult case to reunite me with my children.

  7. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Maureen, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 6-12 months ago.
    • Ian handled my Child Support matter.

    I was referred to Ian by a friend who highly recommended him and I'm glad she did. I feel comfortable with him handling my delicate case. He has kept me informed throughout and is responsive, consultative and knowledgeable and wants to do the right thing for his clients in seeking justice for them.

  8. Professional, Knowledgeable, Confident, Personable

    Posted by Tara, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Family matter.

    Ian has represented me for my child custody and support cases quite a few times. His professionalism in the office when discussing my case was amazing. He went over every option with me not just the "most expensive" He took the time to answer all my questions and make each and every step clear to me. His professionalism was not just in the office, but in the court room as well. I felt so confident each and every time appearing before the judge and having a great feeling knowing he was so confident in what he job, as well as predicting the outcomes. He is a very personable attorney who does not intimidate you with his vast knowledge of the law, but educates you at each meeting.

  9. Highly recommend Ian Mednick for any divorce, family or custodial issues

    Posted by Gail,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.

    I had the pleasure of meeting Ian Mednick in 2011, he represented my boyfriend in a nasty divorce & custody case. There were false allegations filed in the court paperwork by his ex-wife and her financial demands nearly exceeded his annual salary. She had just voluntarily quit her full time job and took a part time position with over a 50% pay cut, in an attempt to claim poverty & make my boyfriend pay spousal support and all of her attorney’s fees. In addition, she was attempting to severely restrict his visitation time with his children. My boyfriend adores his children & cherishes every moment with them, he felt helpless and completely stressed over the situation.
    Ian immediately reassured him that her allegations were clearly fabricated, because they were so ambiguous. He fought for joint custody, the time with the children divided equally. He fought hard to prove that she intentionally quit her job in order to make my boyfriend pay far more than his fair share. At one point during the proceedings, my boyfriend’s ex-wife denied his weekend visitation, unless her petty demands were met. Ian scheduled an emergency meeting with the judge, cleared up the issue and there was no further interference with his visitation.
    Ian immediately addressed all the issues as they arose, he fought hard and maintained a no nonsense approach. He did not waste any time on the nonsense that he knew the judge would not entertain. He stuck to the core issues. As a result, my boyfriend has joint custody and physical custody 50% of the time. Ian was able to prove to the judge that my boyfriend’s ex-wife intentionally quit her job to sabotage her income. As a result, his ex was ordered to divide the joint expenses for the children according to her original full time income, not the part time income when she appeared in court. My boyfriend kept his pension and only had to pay 10% of her attorney’s fees.
    In April 2013, my boyfriend’s ex-wife filed a case in family court, claiming that he owes her a mere $1,400 and again is attempting to restrict his time and communication with his children. Meanwhile, she currently owes him over $10,000, according to the judge’s pendente lite order. My boyfriend and I turned to Ian Mednick for assistance in this issue. Because family court has no jurisdiction over the divorce decree & pendente lite order, we retained Ian for the second time and moved the entire case up to Supreme Court to deal with all the financial and custodial issues. Ian did not try to sell us on this decision, he provided all of the pros & cons honestly and said it was ‘up to us’.
    Ian is a highly experienced and skilled litigator. I would highly recommend him for any divorce, family or custodial issues. He will address all of your concerns and be honest about the potential outcome. His rates are very fair for the high quality of representation you will receive.

  10. Ian Mednick: Absolutely the finest Attorney to represent your divorce proceeding

    Posted by Ron, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Mednick.
    • I hired Ian more than 3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ian Mednick was my attorney for my divorce from my wife. He represented me with the utmost professionalism, immediacy and personal care I expected. I have two young children and was first and foremost concerned about them; without question Mr. Mednick handled my family like his own. He never pursued or pressured me to pursue unrealistic goals in my divorce just to simply increase his bill. He stayed the course from beginning to end. I work in law enforcement and as a result of hiring Mr Mednick I was able to keep 100% of my pension, have joint custody of my children and get a fresh start in life.