Susan Ann Kassel’s Reviews

Susan Ann Kassel

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. So Thankful!

    Posted by Michelle, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I can't even begin to express my gratitude to Susan and her staff for all their help and support! They were all very accommodating, understanding, professional and absolutely always made me feel like their top priority! I know many attorney's can be very busy and have several cases but Susan and her staff were always ready with information on my case. Susan definitely wasn't one to charge me a high retainer unlike a few of the other attorney's I contacted before her. She was reasonable and kept the cost down on my bills every month. It was so great being able to call her office and actually be able to speak with her that very same day. I was very impressed with her and her staff and was thankful that she was able to win my case so quickly! Thank you so much to everyone at the office again! Especially Susan! You were like my guardian angel!

  2. Susan Kassel is the best!

    Posted by Craig, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first have to say that I had been represented by two prior attorneys both of whom had simply taken my money and left me nothing to show for it in my custody case. They kept telling me what they were doing for me but I found out they were lying. Susan on the other hand had gotten me temporary custody and support for my children and myself within two months of hiring her. I cannot say enough about her.

  3. Absolutely Loved Susan and her Staff!!!

    Posted by Christine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had nothing but a great experience with Susan as my attorney! She is so generous, helpful, trustworthy and is always there for her clients. It was hard enough to go through a divorce with two young children but Susan reassured me and always made sure I was well informed on my case. She would always return my calls and she even gave me her cell phone number to contact her at any time I needed. Both her assistant and paralegal were tremendously helpful to me with information on my case and they were always so kind and patient. I'm so thankful that my friend refereed me to her as I will recommend her as well to anyone that needs an attorney!!!!

  4. A relentless adversary

    Posted by Robert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Susan represented me in connection with 2 criminal proceedings brought on by my wife, 2 family court proceedings and my divorce proceeding. She conducted three trials and got all charges against me dismissed. She backed my spouse into a corner until I, the man, wound up getting custody of our daughter. She substantiated my pre- marital claims and got me a fair share of equitable distribution. This had been a night mate that I could not have gotten through without her. She gives her clients her cell phone number and tells them to text if there is an issue. When I texted her she always got back to me. When I was in jail at 3:00 am she got back to me. She has a very knowledgable paralegal and a polite assistant. I never really needed to deal with them often though because I had a direct line to Susan. He fees were super fair too. She didn't charge me for much of her time and when I ran out of money she didn't stop working on my case. I made a plan and a commitment to her which I honored. She is by far the smartest and most knowledgable attorney I know. (As a young adult I had several). Never was I afforded a direct line to an attorney. I am grateful for having met her. She changed my life.

  5. Divorce Case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.

    Ms. Kassel handled a very complicated divorce and custody matter for me. She was extremely professional and very knowledgeable. Ms. Kassel took charge of the case from the outset and led it to a successful conclusion

  6. Agree as above, but.....................................................

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    The Good......
    I did really like Susan as a person. That is why I hired her and not someone else. The moment I meet her I got a feeling that she really cared and I was not just another case to take on. She is definatley not part of the "boys club" in court and she tells it like it is, She has a good heart and will fight for you, She has a good relationship with the judges and is very personable and honest in the court room. She is family oriented and a hands on parent.
    The NOT so good.
    I feel she takes on more than she can chew. She always "just make it" to where she needs to be or every one even the court has to wait for her. There is absolutley NO verbal communication to let you know what is happening and her office help (Alicia) is just makes her whole situation worse . You never get to talk to Susan even when you ask for her and gosh forbid you leave a message with Alicia, your really on your own. When every you call and ask Alicia what is going on with the case your paying for or don't understand something pertaing to that case , she never gives a correct answer or even the same answer that Susan tells you, I swear she makes it up as she goes along. And if she tells you she has to ask Susan and get back to you , you'll never hear from her again. But then again I was told things by Susan and she said she would find out and get back to me and never heard from her again either and next time you would meet with her she didnt even remember. So then you should take notes and do what you say you will. Charge by the minute if need be, so please if we ask it means we do want to pay to get the correct info. Hire a good knowledgeable assistant that will further advance your firm and let Alicia take messages, make copies and actually type the addresses on the outgoing mail, not write them out in pen. Send out that invoice every 2 months like the law reguires, not 1 or 2, then nothing for 5 months later. or ever again.
    Please, Don't assume that just because you know how the law works and the procedures involved that the ordinary person that hired you does too, Because we DONT! Let people know what is happening, what will be happening and what will come next.
    Susan is a good lawyer BUT she needs a to pay for a good law assistant Then she might be a GREAT lawyer and be able to successfully handle many more cases to pay for that extra "hand."
    I really do like her when I get to see her though!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. The best and most decent human being I ever met. Called me back on Christmas Eve and also won my case.

    Posted by Allison, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Susan to represent me in Family Court where my ex husband was seeking to hold me in contempt of court. She filed a cross petition for sole custody and for increased support. When we went to court she convinced the Referee that my husband was not telling the truth and had unresolved hostility toward me and that he was using our daughter to hurt me. The Referee was so angry with him that my husband's attorney withdrew his petition. Then Susan was able to accomplish something I had been requesting for years: counseling. Well counseling worked. My ex husband has not been causing problems. One more thing, I remembered crying on Christmas eve due to the overwhelming stress. I called Susan and she actually called me back from her house a few minutes later. You could hear her family in the background. What a great person and lawyer.

  8. Former Divorce Client

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I hired Susan to represent me in a divorce matter where I was fighting for custody and to limit my wife's equitable share of our assets. I won custody of our son, kept the marital residence, kept my professional practice, kept my building and paid less that half to my wife. This was after a long term marriage. She was able to persuade the court that equitable is not equal and sometimes the man does deserve to win!

  9. Level Headed,Well Thoughtout Strategy To Produce The Best Outcome. Compassionate To Your Expenses, And Will Not Walk Out On You.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is an interesting review by the previous anonymous poster. There is always something suspicious when someone bashes a character behind a veil. Quite ironically, while driving past Susan’s old office, I noticed she wasn’t located there anymore. In searching for her name, I found this site, and a review that is contrary to my experience and personal character assessment of Susan Kassel. My experience was extremely favorable, and I would go in the opposite direction of an anonymous poster by offering anyone interested in learning my experience with Susan as my divorce attorney my e-mail address. I will gladly talk about my case and how it was handled from both ends. [email address removed].

    If you are choosing to go the route of retaining an attorney and becoming a ward to the state, then Susan Kassel is one that I trust to represent me.

    I started my divorce late in 2004, and was referred to Susan by a friend who was currently using her services. Another note I would like to add is that today, my ex-wife and I have a relationship that is civil, respectful, and we work together on what we need to do for the children, ad even each other. This was my goal, and Susan helped me attain that.

    My initial intent was to give my ex-wife the house [provided she didn’t sell it for the ids sake], take all of the bills, and provide $1,600 a month support. Well, my e-wife’s attorney didn’t think that was enough and didn’t want to settle. Mind you there wasn’t anymore. During the first year, her attorney directed my ex-wife to move out of the house with my kids and not let me see the kids for 5 months, forced a sale of the hose, got me fired from my job by threatening my company with future court appearance subpoenas, created charges in family court for assault and lost, brought it to criminal court and lost [Actually, the Judge commented at the end that the wife appears to be the aggressor as the husband was trying to leave the house to avoid arguing in front of the children], and tried to get me thrown in jail for not being able to keep up with temporary support because I was out of job.

    Ok, enough of that…Susan from almost day one had a plan to handle what ever came our way. She understood what I was trying to accomplish, and she didn’t manipulate the situation to create more revenue for herself. Here is what I mean…After the one year, my ex-wife was already at about $36,000, and I was at about $17,500. In every instance related to the progression of the case, Susan Kassel came out ahead for me. When I say me, I mean that she kept the closest to what I wanted to accomplish.

    The divorce was finalized in the first trimester of 2006. In hind-sight, there are no winners between the two in a divorce. There is a guaranty that you will lose money, have and create hurt feelings, damage spirits. If it is a route that turns out to be necessary, than try to keep a level head and minimize losses.

    I feel that I was able to accomplish that goal with Susan Kassel.

    Oh, one last note: after researching my ex-wife’s attorney with friends in the court system, I told her that she would drop her when she ran out of money. She didn’t believe me until it happened and the case wasn’t going anymore the way her attorney wanted it to be going. She had to get another attorney. Susan stuck with me when my money ran low, she worked with me, and trusted that I would make the payments when I couldn’t at the time…And I did.

    - Chris

  10. You can count on winning.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Susan Kassel.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend her due to her vast experience. Helped me with my divorce and we cleaned up after having another attorney bomb out on me. Her knowledge of the law was insane since she was able to counteract any move my spouse tried.

Call now for a free consultation.

631-738-6761