Deborah G. Fiss’s Reviews

Deborah G. Fiss

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Smart, fair and reliable.

    Posted by Sophie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm so grateful to have Deborah Fiss in my corner during my divorce. She's experienced and level-headed, and reads everything carefully. Whenever we speak or correspond I feel like I have her full attention, and that the outcome of my case matters to her. I would absolutely recommend her.

  2. Great Attorney!!

    Posted by Alex, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Child Custody matter.

    Deborah was my attorney for a child custody matter that spanned several years. She was courteous, knowledgeable and protected my interests effectively. She kept me informed throughout the entire process and I felt comfortable knowing that I had great representation. I would use her again and highly recommend her for family legal matters.

  3. More than a lawyer, my POWER TOOL

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I don't wish divorce on anyone, but if you are going that route, Deborah Fiss is that one power tool to have by your side. She is tough and knows the law. She will fight for your rights and guide you through the process with ease and professionalism.

    Deborah gave me options on how to proceed and I was in control of how I wanted my divorce to turn out. Also, having children involved makes the whole process a lot more delicate. She was able to combine my child support, child custody and divorce all into one which saved me time and took me away from the ugliness of it all.

    In the end I am very happy with the outcome of my divorce and have been able to move on as a new person, a stable mother (emotionally & financially) and most important a confidant woman, all thanks to Deborah - my secret weapon.

  4. Lawyer will have excellent afterlife

    Posted by Peter, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 6-12 months ago.
    • Deborah handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    It is said that there are very few attorneys in heaven. Upon the terminally sad day of Debbie Fiss's demise both of them will have someone with whom to discuss heaven's pressing legal matters.

  5. A reputable family law attorney who truly cares about you.

    Posted by Cynthia, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Family matter.

    When I first consulted with Ms. Fiss I was emotionally drained from attempting to handle my child custody matters on my own. I now have a lot less fear and stress because Ms. Fiss is protecting all of my legal rights and is guiding me through the court process.

    Not only is she a reputable attorney in Queens county, Ms. Fiss offers a network of support for single parents going through similar situations. She truly cares on a personal level but is highly professional in court, always looking out for my child's well-being.

    If you are willing to be honest with yourself and look at the bigger picture in order to be the best parent you can for your child, Ms. Fiss is the attorney to help you get through legal custody/visitation/support matters.

  6. If you want the BIGGEST DOG in the fight...HERE SHE IS!!!

    Posted by PATRICK LAMBERT, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I highly recommend Debbie for anyone looking to end a conflict quickly, profesionally and with as little pain as possible. I wish I had found Debbie sooner so that I would have saved myself time and money in dealing with my matter. I was amazed at not only how she worked but how everyone knows her on a personal level. it was like walking through the courthouse with a rock star! Debbie took control, made me feel comfortable and proceeded to decimate opposing counsel! IT WAS MAGNIFICENT!!! I wish I could do more than just writa a review for Debbie because she found a resolution that others were unwilling to see and she made it happen. Debbie is a consumate professional who really cares about her clients. I am a Weapons Instructor with the Military and there is nothing more welcome than someone who can make it all easy to understand, fight and at the end look even more amazing than when they started. Thank you and your COURTEOUS and FUNNY staff that kept me updated with everything!

  7. Rude & dismissive

    Posted by Sandra, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I used Deborah about a year ago. After almost two years and more than15K she had accomplished absolutely nothing! (My case was only for visitation, not even divorce!) She has the worst bedside manner. Rude & disrespectful. She takes other more "important"business on your time and then bills you for it. She doesn't respond to your emails. She is dismissive, If she doesn't get things her way she can be pushy and insulting with you. She will waste your money just arguing about bullshit. She is unprepared when in court and doesn't have your best interest in mind. I do not recommend this lawyer to anyone! Best decision I made was to fire her and go with Harounian

    1. Deborah G. Fiss

      Deborah G. Fiss

      Lawyer Comment:

      Sandra was the type of client who became annoyed during the course of my representation of her because I didn't respond to her quickly enough on New Year's Day!

      She doesn't share in this public domain that I encouraged her to participate in counseling nor that she is always dour and sees the glass half empty, not half full, nor that I introduced her to another single mother - for support and since they both have daughters - who she remains friendly with to this day as I always inquire about her an her child.

      Sadly, her case went on and on as the father is a rather difficult person who changed attorneys three times, came to court without an attorney when ordered to and was unable to work with Sandra in parenting coordination insisting on joint custody while living too far away to pursue it seriously.

      Despite her negativity, which is not surprising as expressed, I thank her for posting this as perhaps someone reading my other consistently glowing reviews would not believe that so many of my clients understand my unwavering dedication, tenacity, sincerity and caring where money is not my motivation, but, rather, what is best for the client and his/her child(ren).

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

    2. Deborah G. Fiss

      Deborah G. Fiss

      Lawyer Comment:

      PS(Sandra also fails to mention that her case that's "only for visitation, not even for divorce", that began in 2011, is still pending in 2014!!!)

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  8. Two Words: She Truly Cares - Okay, That Was Three ;-)

    Posted by Sara, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    After months of an exhausting search for a divorce lawyer, I was lucky to have met Debbie. While all of my initial consultations with previous lawyers were free, I was taking a financial gamble with having to pay for hers, but whoa, I love that I don't regret it because, like they say, you get what you pay for...

    The cheerful and charming vibe of her office, along with her vibrant and animated personality, is what made me realize that she was “the one”. She has this spunk, and this uplifting and humorous energy that makes such a devastating experience not seem as excruciating - I absolutely needed that! But, don’t get it twisted, she’s a tough cookie when needed and will surprise you when she transforms into a dragon lady, just don’t take it personal, it’s all done with good intention.

    Her no-nonsense demeanor is what gets things done and her friendly disposition, tied in with her good rapport with almost everyone in the court house/legal industry (I’m not kidding you, almost everyone knows and loves her, which is clearly an advantage) is what makes the process so smooth and almost stress-free. She’s truly encouraging and she really helped to keep my emotions out of all my decision making - once again, I absolutely needed that!

    She’s about business and she’s about getting what’s best for you, all while trying to get it done and over with as quickly as possible. No one ever wishes to get divorced, and no one can ever imagine how painful it is when going through it, so it’s important to have a knowledgeable lawyer you gel with, a lawyer who makes you smile and cheers you on when you feel like you’re losing your strength.

    Debbie does her best at making a gruesome experience an enjoyable roller coaster ride - with all the fear, nausea, and ups and downs, you come off the ride satisfied, knowing that you got through it, because you had someone hold your hand, distract you with comical entertainment, and guide you with their essential knowledge the whole way through. Seriously, Debbie cares!!

  9. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Avena, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Debra is an excellent lawyer hard working and gets the job done. Highly respectable and an extraordinary women whose intelligence and kind but strong heart has been helping me get stronger in the process.
    She knows her job to the upmost extent and does it to perfection. I would recommend her in a heartbeat.

  10. A Good Lawyer !

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Fiss.

    Deborah is a hard working and effective counselor. She is well known in the New York City Courts, and enjoys a good a rapport with judges and court personnel. Deborah is practical, smart and knows the law. She also is a quick study of people. Results-oriented, she resolves as many matters as possible outside the courtroom; however, when the situation demands it, Deborah can stand toe-to-toe with any adversary, and do it extremely effectively. She always maintains a professional demeanor, but she does not back down if the situation requires it. Aside from her legal ability, Deborah brings her enthusiasm for life and compassion for others to the very difficult and highly charged family law area. She is a not only a good lawyer, but a nice person. I am a small business owner, and suggest Deborah for anyone who seeks my recommendation for a family lawyer who handles cases in the five boroughs of New York City.