Back to Matthew’s Profile

Matthew has received 51 client reviews

These guys are great

Posted by: John 22 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I was pulled over in April 2013 for would be a 6 point infraction (speeding in excess 21 - 20 mph). I was concerned as my license and insurance would take a big hit. After notifying Mathew Jay Weiss i was told they would do their best and keep me informed. They were able to keep moving the court date as to look for the best time and conditions to fight the ticket. Although this was more work on their end it payed off for me in the end. I just received notice that the ticket was completely dropped. Thanks again!!!

AMAZING

Posted by: efmusiclaw about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

Matthew Weiss is extremely knowledgeable, responsive and attentive. If there were more than 5 stars for a rating, I would rate Matt as such. Matt immediately assessed the matter that I contacted him about, advised me of my alternatives and explained the potential implications associated with each. Matt provides results.....quickly and efficiently. Stop reading reviews and pick up the phone and call Matt...you won't be sorry!

An honest assessment of my case

Posted by: a client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I e-mailed Matthew Weiss after receiving a speeding ticket in NYC. He responded within a few minutes and thoroughly explained my options and my chances for a positive outcome. Ultimately, I did not engage him because it seems that the chances for dismissal were pretty remote, but I appreciated his honesty. I hope I do not need the services of a traffic attorney in the future, but if I do, I would not hesitate to use Mr. Weiss.

Outstanding!

Posted by: Seth 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

Mr. Weiss was extremely professional from start to finish. He was very thorough and appeared to be well respected in the court room. He handled my case with the utmost importance and was always readily available to answer any of my questions. At the end he was able to deliver a victory in a very complicated case. I would definitely uses his firm and services again!

Could Not Find a Better Traffic Attorney!!

Posted by: a Speeding Ticket client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I can not talk more highly about the law firm of Attorney Matthew Jay Weiss. Fortunately, I do not have a lot of experience with traffic tickets but when I did find myself needing some assistance, I could not speak more highly for the office of Attorney Weiss. Attorney Weiss and his legal assistants were prompt, courteous, helpful (explained an educational course that I should complete), and successful in helping me to have a first time traffic ticket dismissed, which is not very common in NYC. If you are questioning who to turn to for legal assistance, a great resource is Matthew Weiss.

18 points, dismissed.

Posted by: Barry, a Speeding Ticket client 7 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

THERE IS HOPE!! I m going to start off by saying that anyone who was informed of my situation told me that I have absolutely NO CHANCE of winning. Long story short, I was given four tickets which included speeding, tailgating, unsafe lane change, failure to show documents. The officer promised me that he will destroy my license. The points would have came out to 18 points if I was guilty!!!! Let s just put it this way, took under a year, and Mr. Weiss and his associates had EVERYTHING DISMISSED. Amazing communication, very professional. There is hope guys. My license is cleaner than a whistle.

In a bind? Call Matt Weiss.

Posted by: Jim, a Speeding Ticket client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I live in NJ. In 2014, I was stopped in upstate NY for doing 85 in 65. The officer checked my record and said my driving rights had been suspended in NY which was news to me. Why were my NY rights suspended? In 2006 (my last prior traffic ticket), I had a 76 MPH ticket in 55 on the NYS Thruway in Colonie. (I did not pick up the drop from 65 to 55). Since that was 21 MPH over the speed limit, I was hit with six points and a $300 surcharge. The 2006 officer wrote me up using my NJ license and address. (We moved to NJ from NY in 1993.) I switched my license to NJ in 11/93 and that was duly recorded on my NY DMV driver's abstract.) But the NY DMV sent the surcharge notice to my 1993 NY address. Why? Because unless you notify the DMV of a change of address (and the rule is you have 10 days), the NY DMV keeps your old address on file and sends all further notices to that address. (Yes, even if you are ticketed 13 years later and present to the officer a NJ license with a NJ address.) Since I never received notice of the surcharge, I never paid it and my NY driving rights were suspended without notification. (I did pay the speeding ticket promptly.) So now I have a speeding ticket and a ticket for aggravated unlicensed operation of a vehicle (‘AUO’). The officer tells me I cannot drive in NY and my wife must take over. (If I did not have another driver in the car it would have been towed. I have also read that in certain NY counties AUO leads to immediate arrest.) When we get to our hotel in Montreal, I notice I have a court date six days from the ticket date and since AUO is a misdemeanor, I must appear in person. I got the ticket late Friday; my court appearance is scheduled for Thursday; Monday is a Presidents' Day. I googled 'NY traffic ticket,’ found Matt Weiss, had the hotel pdf my tickets and sent them to Matt's email address. Monday I receive an email from Giselle. By Tuesday Giselle and Jennifer have explained to me how to pay my 2006 NYS surcharge on the DMV website which will restore my driving privileges in NY. (But every time I tried to pay, the DMV website asks me for my NY license which of course I do not have.) Giselle and Jennifer surmount that obstacle and pay the ticket for me using my credit card. By Wednesday they were able to postpone my court date. The judge also agreed that I did not have to appear in person which is generally a requirement for a misdemeanor. Matt then negotiated a reduction in the speeding ticket from 85/65 to 70 MPH in 65. He negotiated the misdemeanor AUO down to ‘facilitating aggravated unlicensed operation’ which is a lower fine, not a misdemeanor and will not leave me with a criminal record. Matt and his firm handled all of this in a most professional manner with constant updates and quick responses to my questions. With limited time, they acted quickly to arrest what could have turned into a terrible situation. Many thanks to Giselle, Jennifer and Matt for their terrific efforts!

excellent results. very professional team

Posted by: James, a Speeding Ticket client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

I chose this team based on the excellent reviews I had Read. They are professional, communicative and most importantly results driven. They went to Court for me, won the case and communicated throughout the process. No attorney can guaranty results but after speaking with two individuals from this firm I was convinced they were the best. I will use this firm in the future should I ever have another need. People may bash an attorney if they lose but that had little to do with reality. Even if they had lost, while I would not have been quite as happy I can say with certainty that that my opinion of their talent and professional excellence would be the same. They are truly a good choice if you are looking for people who care about you and about getting the results you hope for

Loses the case

Posted by: Mary, a Speeding Ticket client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Lost two tickets of mine in a row. Not sure the experience or expertise of the lawyer that represented my case. Quick to take $700.00 but no result to show for it. Save yourself the money and defend yourself rather than spend money for this firm.
  1. Matthew Jay Weiss

    Matthew Weiss

    LawyerComment:

    Of course, we are disappointed that we lost your cases. We are always disappointed when we lose. However, we explain very clearly to all our clients and prospective clients, that in NYC, there is no plea bargaining. The cases are decided on a "guilty or not guilty" basis only (i.e., all or nothing). Further, because this is a DMV court, with DMV judges deciding whether DMV gets your money, it is very hard to win. Anyone who hires us knows it's an uphill battle. We do our best under these circumstances.

    Posted 9 months ago. Flag

Not the best...

Posted by: Susan over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Average
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Average
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Average

I do not recommend Matthew Weiss

I received a two concurrent tickets in Queens , NY in April 2011. One was for failure to observe a stop sign and the other was for texting. I took the matter to Weiss and Associates. Out of a possible 6 points, I received 6. All they did was constantly push off the court date for almost two years. In all that time, I talked to my lawyer once; it was the initial phone conversation where I explained my case. They did periodically send me notice that the case had been pushed. I did explain, during the initial interview, 1) I was not texting. 2) The angle and position of the officer, who at the time, was on a cross street of an intersection made it impossible for him to see whether I fully stopped or not. Also he was talking to someone, as he himself stated, so he was distracted. I told my lawyer all of this but I don't think any of it was used to present a defence. After the conviction, I received a brief email that I was found guilty and there was no explanation of points or even how long it would stay on my record. I had to call the firm to get answers and ultimately, the staff member I spoke to gave me a dmv number to call because she couldn't answer my questions accurately. The fee I paid the firm would have covered the cost of the tickets and left enough for dinner and a bottle of wine.
  1. Matthew Jay Weiss

    Matthew Weiss

    LawyerComment:

    Susan, like you, we are disappointed in the outcome. We try hard for all our clients but unfortunately we do not win all of our cases. Your tickets were heard in the NYC Traffic Violations Bureau. In this court, the do NOT plea bargain (i.e., make deals), as we explain to all of our clients.. Therefore, to win, we must somehow beat this case at a hearing, a difficult task. Delaying your case maximizes your chances for success and this is why we pushed your case for almost two years. Incidentally, the points run from the date of conviction so those points do not even count any more going forward.

    Posted over 1 year ago. Flag