Back to Matthew’s Profile

Client Review

Matthew has received 45 client reviews

In a bind? Call Matt Weiss.

Posted by: Jim, a Speeding Ticket client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I live in NJ. In 2014, I was stopped in upstate NY for doing 85 in 65. The officer checked my record and said my driving rights had been suspended in NY which was news to me. Why were my NY rights suspended? In 2006 (my last prior traffic ticket), I had a 76 MPH ticket in 55 on the NYS Thruway in Colonie. (I did not pick up the drop from 65 to 55). Since that was 21 MPH over the speed limit, I was hit with six points and a $300 surcharge. The 2006 officer wrote me up using my NJ license and address. (We moved to NJ from NY in 1993.) I switched my license to NJ in 11/93 and that was duly recorded on my NY DMV driver's abstract.) But the NY DMV sent the surcharge notice to my 1993 NY address. Why? Because unless you notify the DMV of a change of address (and the rule is you have 10 days), the NY DMV keeps your old address on file and sends all further notices to that address. (Yes, even if you are ticketed 13 years later and present to the officer a NJ license with a NJ address.) Since I never received notice of the surcharge, I never paid it and my NY driving rights were suspended without notification. (I did pay the speeding ticket promptly.) So now I have a speeding ticket and a ticket for aggravated unlicensed operation of a vehicle (‘AUO’). The officer tells me I cannot drive in NY and my wife must take over. (If I did not have another driver in the car it would have been towed. I have also read that in certain NY counties AUO leads to immediate arrest.) When we get to our hotel in Montreal, I notice I have a court date six days from the ticket date and since AUO is a misdemeanor, I must appear in person. I got the ticket late Friday; my court appearance is scheduled for Thursday; Monday is a Presidents' Day. I googled 'NY traffic ticket,’ found Matt Weiss, had the hotel pdf my tickets and sent them to Matt's email address. Monday I receive an email from Giselle. By Tuesday Giselle and Jennifer have explained to me how to pay my 2006 NYS surcharge on the DMV website which will restore my driving privileges in NY. (But every time I tried to pay, the DMV website asks me for my NY license which of course I do not have.) Giselle and Jennifer surmount that obstacle and pay the ticket for me using my credit card. By Wednesday they were able to postpone my court date. The judge also agreed that I did not have to appear in person which is generally a requirement for a misdemeanor. Matt then negotiated a reduction in the speeding ticket from 85/65 to 70 MPH in 65. He negotiated the misdemeanor AUO down to ‘facilitating aggravated unlicensed operation’ which is a lower fine, not a misdemeanor and will not leave me with a criminal record. Matt and his firm handled all of this in a most professional manner with constant updates and quick responses to my questions. With limited time, they acted quickly to arrest what could have turned into a terrible situation. Many thanks to Giselle, Jennifer and Matt for their terrific efforts!

excellent results. very professional team

Posted by: James, a Speeding Ticket client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

I chose this team based on the excellent reviews I had Read. They are professional, communicative and most importantly results driven. They went to Court for me, won the case and communicated throughout the process. No attorney can guaranty results but after speaking with two individuals from this firm I was convinced they were the best. I will use this firm in the future should I ever have another need. People may bash an attorney if they lose but that had little to do with reality. Even if they had lost, while I would not have been quite as happy I can say with certainty that that my opinion of their talent and professional excellence would be the same. They are truly a good choice if you are looking for people who care about you and about getting the results you hope for

Loses the case

Posted by: Mary, a Speeding Ticket client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Lost two tickets of mine in a row. Not sure the experience or expertise of the lawyer that represented my case. Quick to take $700.00 but no result to show for it. Save yourself the money and defend yourself rather than spend money for this firm.

Not the best...

Posted by: Susan 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Average
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Average
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Average

I do not recommend Matthew Weiss

I received a two concurrent tickets in Queens , NY in April 2011. One was for failure to observe a stop sign and the other was for texting. I took the matter to Weiss and Associates. Out of a possible 6 points, I received 6. All they did was constantly push off the court date for almost two years. In all that time, I talked to my lawyer once; it was the initial phone conversation where I explained my case. They did periodically send me notice that the case had been pushed. I did explain, during the initial interview, 1) I was not texting. 2) The angle and position of the officer, who at the time, was on a cross street of an intersection made it impossible for him to see whether I fully stopped or not. Also he was talking to someone, as he himself stated, so he was distracted. I told my lawyer all of this but I don't think any of it was used to present a defence. After the conviction, I received a brief email that I was found guilty and there was no explanation of points or even how long it would stay on my record. I had to call the firm to get answers and ultimately, the staff member I spoke to gave me a dmv number to call because she couldn't answer my questions accurately. The fee I paid the firm would have covered the cost of the tickets and left enough for dinner and a bottle of wine.

Powerful advocates in traffic court

Posted by: Patrtick, a Speeding Ticket client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

Matthew Weiss and his staff know NY city and state traffic law. They are smart and professional advocates for their clients. I was under no illusion that their work would cause or guarantee a dismissal of two tickets I received that could have resulted in 14 points and a suspended license, but was fortunate and grateful when the tickets were dismissed. Without Matthew’s advocacy I’d have plead guilty long ago and paid big fines, had my insurance cancelled and paid punishing insurance premiums for years. Matthew doesn’t make unrealistic promises about results but he does everything he can to increase the odds of success in his clients favor.

Highly Recommended

Posted by: Naga, a Speeding Ticket client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr Weiss has amazing experience in traffic violation cases. His blog on traffic tickets is a landmine of information for any one either needing help or pointing to correct professional help. I took his advise and bingo my 3-point ticket with $350 fine is reduced to 0-point ticket and $150 fine. Strongly recommended.

Good lawyer, but outsource to non lawyers

Posted by: a Administrative Law client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Good
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Administrative Law matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Layer is good, but outsource my case to non-lawyers (para-legals) who are not as experienced

An outstanding service experience

Posted by: Eugene, a Speeding Ticket client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

An Outstanding Customer experience with the law firm of Matthew Jay Weiss I was in Upstate NY and was clocked on radar at 77mph in a 55mph zone. Oops! A referral to Weiss & Associates from a friend was made and I contacted their firm. Not only were they very straightforward delineating my options and potential outcomes, but I was kept in the loop continuously regarding postponements, dates, etc. A potential six point ticket was downgraded to 2pts in NYS which in turn translated to ZERO pts in my home state of NJ. I would not hesitate to advise anyone who will listen that Weiss & Associates is my first and only choice for representation for any traffic tickets or infractions. They made me a fan for life!

Let Them Fight Your Moving Violations!

Posted by: Scott, a Car Accident client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I've used Weiss & Associates twice, and both times, I've gotten incredible results. I wholeheartedly recommend them any time you have trouble with motor vehicle tickets in NY State!

Traffic ticket lawyer

Posted by: Nidal, a Administrative Law client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Weiss

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Administrative Law matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I have been using Mathew Weiss practise to fight my traffic tickets for the last 5 years. He is an excellent lawyer keeps up to date with the case. His charge is very fair. I have had two moving violations dismissed over the last year or so. I strongly recommend using him for any traffic ticket. He also handle fighting your ticket without having to be present at the court hearing.