Ruchi Thaker’s Reviews

Ruchi Thaker

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best attorney ever

    Posted by Mr .G, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We had such a great experience with Ruchi Thaker.We had such a complicated case but thanks to her professionalism ,dedication ,patience and knowledge of immigration laws ,we were able to get an approval of the i 485 .
    If you are looking for the best immigration lawyer in the tri state area Ruchi Thaker is the one you want .

  2. Best Immigration Lawyer you can ever have!

    Posted by Kenny, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-6 months ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a complicated Naturalization case and I didn't know what to do. My brother referred me to the Law Office of Ruchi Thaker. I decided to go consult them and see what my options were. From the very moment I walked into their office, I was made to feel like I was the only client and not just one of their many clients. So I decided to retain them to help me with my case and boy, am I glad I did!
    They did such a great job with my case and in preparing for me for the interview that, at the end, a case that seemed so daunting months earlier was made easy.
    At the interview I felt so confident because I knew I had a great attorney sitting next to me. Needless to say my case was approved and I was granted a United States Citizenship.
    One of the greatest points I want to highlight is how quickly they respond to you when you have a question or need an advice. I actually had a bet with a friend of mine whose immigration lawyer in the city was not responding to his emails that my lawyer will respond to my email within 15 minutes even on a weekend just to prove a point. I sent an email on a Saturday and got a response within 5 minutes. Now that is a star service!!
    I will highly recommend to anyone dealing with the immigration system to have the Law Office of Ruchi Thaker on your side. You will never have a better immigration lawyer fight for you than the Law Office of Ruchi Thaker.

  3. The best immigration attorney!

    Posted by Senol, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When looking for an Attorney to handle my Immigration case, I called several law firms before I found the Law office of Ruchi Thaker.

    I was very impressed that I got to talk to her right away instead of going through a pre-screening staff. She spent a considerable amount of time with me on the phone discussing my case even before she knew she’d be hired. Once I got off the phone with her, I knew I had the right attorney who would help me win my case and get my citizenship.

    Due to my previous lawyer’s improper handling of my case, my citizenship was denied. And I was left in a situation where my future in the United States was endangered. Therefore, I was very frustrated, unhopeful and had no faith that I would win my case. That was of course, until I met Ruchi. I was placed in removal proceedings after I traveled abroad and returned to the USA. Ruchi tried to explain to the authorities that I should be allowed back into the country as a greencard holder because the immigration law was on my side. But no one listened. I even had to go through the immigration court process, where Ruchi explained to the judge that the law was on my side and that the DHS was wrong in preventing me from being admitted back as a greencard holder. Judge agreed with us and terminated my removal case!

    In comparison to my previous attorney, Ruchi was much more knowledgeable, proactive, attentive, and did not shuffle my case off to a Paralegal. Ruchi handled every aspect of my case personally. As my case went forward, Ruchi was able to reduce my anxiety about the case by her attention to detail. She followed up with authorities relentlessly until she got answers to her inquiries. Ruchi was always very responsive and my questions were answered within minutes.

    Even when the authorities were stalling our requests for information or applications and providing incorrect information for the path forward, Ruchi followed her instincts, and always prevailed.

    I am happy to report that my immigration court case was terminated because of her extensive legal knowledge and perseverance. After the case was over, I immediately applied for citizenship. As a result of her persistence I am now a U.S. Citizen, seven short months after my case was terminated. I also applied and received my US Passport. All thanks to Ruchi.

  4. Ruchi is the best immigration lawyer I've ever seen!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Ruchi instills confidence, hope and trust in her clients! She is incredibly thorough and knowledgeable and out of all the lawyers I've encountered through out the years she is the only one I felt could help my family! I would with out a doubt recommend her.

  5. Careful and diligent approach to immigration law

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ruchi Thaker is THE best immigration lawyer I've consulted and hired. I've been to 4 other lawyers that attempted to represent my complicated DACA - Deferred Action - case. Non of whom were patient, kind, and understand of the tough situation I was in. They simply wanted to take a deposit and take risks. Ruchi will listen to your problems and carefully decide the most logical approach towards solving your case. She solved mine!

  6. My Expipence

    Posted by Rita Krishan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband has been living in this country for 20 years without any legal status. When I met him I tried to help him achieve an status but we asked so many lawyers but they all shut us down. The only response we got from others was if we had money or that there is no way we can get my husband a legal status. After a while we found Ruchi Thaker and saw great reviews about her and when we had her as a official lawyer every good comment about Ruchi people made were true. His case was very difficult and Ruchi had first tried to understand the case and wanted to find the strings that un-knotted the knot, and she did. When we went to her office we had no idea that she would be the person to give my husband a legal status here in the U.S. Ruchi Thaker is a very hardworking and straight to the point kind of women. If she thinks she can do it. One thing i loved about Ruchi was that she gave off positive energy and that let you talk to her with no hesitation. With her Help all the obstacles we had gone through had gone by kind of smoothly. She had always kept me informed on what was going on and what process we would be up to, what left etc, but even when she wasn't in the office her e-mail was always open to me and would really from her heart want you to achieve what you wanted to achieve. I strongly say with no doubt that she is fantastic lawyer who will try to solve your problem. Thank You Once Again From the Bottom of My heart!!!

  7. Best immigration lawyer!

    Posted by Maria, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.

    Words can't explain how wonderful it was to work with Ruchi on my husband's complicated immigration case! My husband's case was going nowhere for the last 20 years. Every lawyer we saw said he can't be helped. When we decided to meet with Ruchi, we were expecting to hear the same, that nothing could be done on the case. But we learned that my husband had a good case! Other lawyer in the past just didn't take the time to investigate the complicated history of the case and didn't know what to do. Ruchi explained step by step what my husband's options were and she answered all of our questions that no other lawyers were able to answer. She explained the case was difficult but not impossible. After meeting with Ruchi, we decided to hire her. She spent time with me and my husband to work on a motion to reopen his old deportation case. Once the case was reopened, she went to court with my husband to have his case terminated because he was able to apply for greencard directly with immigration. Without her help, we were lost and she guided us step by step. Finally, my husband won a waiver from the immigration service and his greencard is on its way! I wish we had found Ruchi earlier! She is kind and compassionate and cares deeply for each client as if they were the only client she had. She always answers the phone and writes back if an email is sent (usually within the hour). Making appointment with her is easy and she is always prepared. I have already recommended her to friends who I know have hired her for their complicated situations. I will always recommend her to anyone needing an excellent immigration lawyer with experience in complicated cases.

  8. Honest, Friendly, Smart Immigration Lawyer!

    Posted by Gabriel, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ruchi is amazing! She is the best immigration lawyer I have worked with. I was considering several lawyers before hiring because I wanted to make sure the lawyer knew what they were doing. When I met with Ruchi, she answered all of my questions about the greencard process before I even got to my questions! After she explained how the greencard process works, she asked me "so, do you have any specific questions?" I told her "you answered everything!" My wife and I knew from that moment that our case would be handled best by Ruchi. She kept us informed of everything happening in my case. When she got a notice from immigration, she scanned and emailed it to me right away and asked me if I got my copy at home. She regularly touched based with me and my wife while we waited for our interview date. She prepared us for the interview and came to the interview with us. The officer told me and my wife that the lawyer did a very good job and that he didn't have too many questions about my case. So instead, he talked to us about our cultural things from my country (Sweden)! It was like we were at a party talking to a friend instead of an immigration officer at a greencard interview! I got my greencard within 2 weeks! My wife and I know we will be going back to Ruchi in two years when I have to file the next step. After that, we will go to Ruchi for my citizenship case! If you want a friendly, honest immigration lawyer in Manhattan, there is no one better than Ruchi, in my opinion!

  9. Got my old deportation case reopened!

    Posted by Rodrigo, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Ruchi is one of the most genuine lawyers I ever met. She was so careful and thorough with my case, that I from the time I met with her the first time, I knew she was the right lawyer for me. She talked with me like I mattered and my case mattered to her. She answered all my questions. Other lawyers I met with before couldn't care less about what I had to say. But Ms. Ruchi listened to me and my concerns. She addressed all my questions and talked to me about how she was going to try to fix my immigration problem. I put my faith in her and I was so happy when she told me that the government lawyer agreed to reopen my old deportation case! other lawyers didn't give me any hope, but she did. She worked hard with me and my family to put together the best evidence in my case and we succeeded! I will now get a chance to apply for my green card. I have been waiting over 20 years for this day! Thank you, Ruchi!

  10. One of the Best Immigration Lawyers in NYC

    Posted by Leah, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ruchi is by far the best immigration lawyer in NYC that I've worked with. I had a complex immigration case and from the consultation until the end, she handled my case professionally and with compassion. She treated me with respect and genuinely cared about what happened to me, my case and my family. Without her help with my immigration case, I think I would have been deported. She and her law partner, Mr. Berowitz, are always friendly and care so much about their clients. I can't say that for other lawyers I've dealt with in the past.