Ruchi Thaker’s Reviews

Ruchi Thaker

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ruchi is the best immigration lawyer I've ever seen!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Ruchi instills confidence, hope and trust in her clients! She is incredibly thorough and knowledgeable and out of all the lawyers I've encountered through out the years she is the only one I felt could help my family! I would with out a doubt recommend her.

  2. Careful and diligent approach to immigration law

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ruchi Thaker is THE best immigration lawyer I've consulted and hired. I've been to 4 other lawyers that attempted to represent my complicated DACA - Deferred Action - case. Non of whom were patient, kind, and understand of the tough situation I was in. They simply wanted to take a deposit and take risks. Ruchi will listen to your problems and carefully decide the most logical approach towards solving your case. She solved mine!

  3. My Expipence

    Posted by Rita Krishan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband has been living in this country for 20 years without any legal status. When I met him I tried to help him achieve an status but we asked so many lawyers but they all shut us down. The only response we got from others was if we had money or that there is no way we can get my husband a legal status. After a while we found Ruchi Thaker and saw great reviews about her and when we had her as a official lawyer every good comment about Ruchi people made were true. His case was very difficult and Ruchi had first tried to understand the case and wanted to find the strings that un-knotted the knot, and she did. When we went to her office we had no idea that she would be the person to give my husband a legal status here in the U.S. Ruchi Thaker is a very hardworking and straight to the point kind of women. If she thinks she can do it. One thing i loved about Ruchi was that she gave off positive energy and that let you talk to her with no hesitation. With her Help all the obstacles we had gone through had gone by kind of smoothly. She had always kept me informed on what was going on and what process we would be up to, what left etc, but even when she wasn't in the office her e-mail was always open to me and would really from her heart want you to achieve what you wanted to achieve. I strongly say with no doubt that she is fantastic lawyer who will try to solve your problem. Thank You Once Again From the Bottom of My heart!!!

  4. Best immigration lawyer!

    Posted by Maria, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.

    Words can't explain how wonderful it was to work with Ruchi on my husband's complicated immigration case! My husband's case was going nowhere for the last 20 years. Every lawyer we saw said he can't be helped. When we decided to meet with Ruchi, we were expecting to hear the same, that nothing could be done on the case. But we learned that my husband had a good case! Other lawyer in the past just didn't take the time to investigate the complicated history of the case and didn't know what to do. Ruchi explained step by step what my husband's options were and she answered all of our questions that no other lawyers were able to answer. She explained the case was difficult but not impossible. After meeting with Ruchi, we decided to hire her. She spent time with me and my husband to work on a motion to reopen his old deportation case. Once the case was reopened, she went to court with my husband to have his case terminated because he was able to apply for greencard directly with immigration. Without her help, we were lost and she guided us step by step. Finally, my husband won a waiver from the immigration service and his greencard is on its way! I wish we had found Ruchi earlier! She is kind and compassionate and cares deeply for each client as if they were the only client she had. She always answers the phone and writes back if an email is sent (usually within the hour). Making appointment with her is easy and she is always prepared. I have already recommended her to friends who I know have hired her for their complicated situations. I will always recommend her to anyone needing an excellent immigration lawyer with experience in complicated cases.

  5. Honest, Friendly, Smart Immigration Lawyer!

    Posted by Gabriel, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ruchi is amazing! She is the best immigration lawyer I have worked with. I was considering several lawyers before hiring because I wanted to make sure the lawyer knew what they were doing. When I met with Ruchi, she answered all of my questions about the greencard process before I even got to my questions! After she explained how the greencard process works, she asked me "so, do you have any specific questions?" I told her "you answered everything!" My wife and I knew from that moment that our case would be handled best by Ruchi. She kept us informed of everything happening in my case. When she got a notice from immigration, she scanned and emailed it to me right away and asked me if I got my copy at home. She regularly touched based with me and my wife while we waited for our interview date. She prepared us for the interview and came to the interview with us. The officer told me and my wife that the lawyer did a very good job and that he didn't have too many questions about my case. So instead, he talked to us about our cultural things from my country (Sweden)! It was like we were at a party talking to a friend instead of an immigration officer at a greencard interview! I got my greencard within 2 weeks! My wife and I know we will be going back to Ruchi in two years when I have to file the next step. After that, we will go to Ruchi for my citizenship case! If you want a friendly, honest immigration lawyer in Manhattan, there is no one better than Ruchi, in my opinion!

  6. Got my old deportation case reopened!

    Posted by Rodrigo, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Ruchi is one of the most genuine lawyers I ever met. She was so careful and thorough with my case, that I from the time I met with her the first time, I knew she was the right lawyer for me. She talked with me like I mattered and my case mattered to her. She answered all my questions. Other lawyers I met with before couldn't care less about what I had to say. But Ms. Ruchi listened to me and my concerns. She addressed all my questions and talked to me about how she was going to try to fix my immigration problem. I put my faith in her and I was so happy when she told me that the government lawyer agreed to reopen my old deportation case! other lawyers didn't give me any hope, but she did. She worked hard with me and my family to put together the best evidence in my case and we succeeded! I will now get a chance to apply for my green card. I have been waiting over 20 years for this day! Thank you, Ruchi!

  7. One of the Best Immigration Lawyers in NYC

    Posted by Leah, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ruchi is by far the best immigration lawyer in NYC that I've worked with. I had a complex immigration case and from the consultation until the end, she handled my case professionally and with compassion. She treated me with respect and genuinely cared about what happened to me, my case and my family. Without her help with my immigration case, I think I would have been deported. She and her law partner, Mr. Berowitz, are always friendly and care so much about their clients. I can't say that for other lawyers I've dealt with in the past.

  8. Immigration Lawyer you won't be disappointed with!

    Posted by H.T., a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Ruchi Thaker is one of the best immigration lawyers I have ever worked with. I had other lawyers in the past but they messed up my case, didn't tell me what was going on and kept telling me not to worry about anything. I had to go before a judge. When Attorney Thaker reviewed my case, she was honest and upfront about the problems in my case, but also told me the process to fix it and how she can help. I felt very comfortable talking to her because she actually listened to me and didn't make me feel like what I had to say wasn't important (like my other lawyers did when they kept telling me "everything will be fine, don't worry."). With Ms. Thaker's help, the judge gave me time to fix the mistakes the other lawyers made. She asked me for the right paperwork. She always answered the phone when I called and called me back right away when I had to leave a message. I really highly recommend her and her law partner, Mr. Berowitz, who was just as helpful in putting my case together. I won my case with the judge and now my family can stay together in America. Ms. Thaker was able to undo all the mess my other lawyers created and she did it with honesty and by keeping me informed. I am grateful to find her and will always depend on her for any immigration concern my family, friends or I may have in the future. Thank you, Ms. Thaker!

  9. Best immigration lawyer in NYC

    Posted by Juan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms. Thaker is an extremely dedicated and professional immigration lawyers. I am a doctor and I needed her services to apply for my permanent residency through my marriage to a United States citizen. Ms. Thaker was detailed in preparing my case and asked us for all the documents she believed were important and necessary to present to the USCIS. She prepared me and my wife for our interview, and she came to the interview with us and represented us competently throughout the entire process.

    We are extremely pleased with Ms. Thaker's legal services and we highly recommend her to anyone in need of immigration services!

  10. Ms.Ruchi Thaker is Excellent!!

    Posted by Yukiko, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruchi Thaker.
    • I hired Ruchi more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruchi handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    One month after I married a US citizen, I started looking for an
    immigration lawyer on Internet and then I found Thaker Berowitz LLP. They had great reviews from other people. When I went to Ms. Thaker’s and Mr. Berowitz’s office with my husband to discuss our case we were concerned about our age gap and the fact that I had been out of status for a long time. After the consultation, we felt comfortable with the two lawyers about their legal advice and thought we were fortunate to have found these lawyers. We immediately hired them.
    We were very happy and really appreciated that Ms. Thaker was our lawyer. She in not only very positive, kind and patient but she also always return my call or email me when I needed her advices. Mr. Berowitz was as equally helpful as Ms. Thaker. When I called for Ms. Thaker and She was busy, Mr. Berowitz always answered my questions.
    Ms. Thaker adequately prepared our documents and us for our adjustment interview. I have examples; we had filed our tax return separately for certain reasons, but Ms. Thaker advised that we needed to have them fixed and file jointly. She recommended a good accountant and he fixed our tax return 5 days before the interview. And also unfortunately we had to have a second interview (stokes interview), but Ms. Thaker and Mr. Berowitz prepared my husband and me and we passed the second interview. A week after the second interview, my husband’s petition for me and my application for permanent residency were both approved. Without their help, we could not have made it.
    I strongly recommend Thaker Berowitz LLP. So if anyone needs immigration help, you have to go to them.