Anthony William Dunleavy’s Reviews

Anthony William Dunleavy

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Knowledgeable

    Posted by Pmc2109, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-6 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Dunleavy was not the original lawyer on my case, I met him in court, the morning of my case, my lawyer was called away for an emergency. Within ten minutes of meeting Mr. Dunleavy, I knew, I was in good hands. His warm demeanor and knowledge of the law and my case in particular, eased my mind. Mr. Dunleavy was charismatic and walked me through every possible scenario and worked very hard to achieve an outcome that he knew I would be most comfortable with. I highly recommend Mr. Dunleavy.

  2. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Daniel, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-6 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Dunleavy and Freeman Hughes Freeman are excellent. I've been dealing with the law office for 2 years now and will be for many more. After consulting with Mr. Freeman himself, I became a little apprehensive when he told me Mr. Dunleavy would be handling my case. I thought they had handed my case to a beginner. But, after his representation I could not be happier. He and Freeman Hughes Freeman are very attentive and realistic. They treat you as an equal and not as a subordinate. For the money I spent (about 2,500 retainer), I received that level of representation and more. Mr. Dunleavy is a consummate professional who is street savvy and exceedingly intelligent. For someone I perceived as young for an attorney; he is overly astute and perceptive. He has represented me twice (thus far) with impressive results and a REAL plan moving forward. Mr. Dunleavy has addressed my concerns night, day, and weekend; and has endured my pestering with limitless patience. I sought the best family attorney/law group in Hudson County and I found them.

    Many Thanks

    P.S. : If my friends were in the NJ area, they would all be going to him.

  3. A RISING STAR!

    Posted by Erica, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-6 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I called the Freeman firm in my divorce and spoke to Anthony, although I was unable to hire him I felt he was extremely knowledgeable about the divorce law and seemed very proactive and willing to do what it took to get things done timely. He was very polite, honest, direct and definitely a great representation of the practice. He really seems to be on the side of his client unlike others whom I spoke with. If I have any other matter to deal with I will definitely hire him some day. He's going to be a real star!

  4. Anthony William Dunleavy review

    Posted by Max Vesely, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 6-12 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Anthony is a knowledgeable attorney practicing law in Jersey City NJ. He's very familiar with and navigates well the court system in Jersey City. I highly recommend him and his office as they exhibited high professionalism handling my case.

  5. Best Attorney. Trusting, Knowledgable, Fast & gets results!

    Posted by Alex, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 6-12 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.

    Mr. Dunleavy is a great lawyer he is knowledgable and
    A very trustworthy lawyer. He was great with my whole case
    And got the best results. I would recommend him to everyone.

  6. The BEST!

    Posted by Ashley, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 6-12 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Anthony helped me with less than 24 hours of notice and won my case (which was very messy)... He is very precise and professional. Fabulous attorney. Very impressed!

  7. Great in dealing with problem tenant

    Posted by E.B., a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I'd be hard-pressed to consider going into a legal battle with anyone other than Anthony in my corner! From the first day he listened to everything I had to say about my case and let me know realistically what my options were. He kept me updated on everything he was doing and even presented me with other avenues that I wasn't aware of. This was a dispute with an unreasonable and problem tenant that was filled with gray areas. I had a ton of evidence against them and I'm sure it was no picnic to go through it all. It did, however, illustrate to him how unbalanced this tenant was and he was prepared when it came to dealing with them face to face. In the end, we walked away with a respectable settlement. We even had a recap meeting a few days after the case to make sure I was happy with everything.

  8. MR. DUNLEAVY IS THE BEST!!!!!!

    Posted by Sabura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Anthony Dunleavy is an impeccable lawyer who respects his clients. During my divorce proceedings Mr. Dunleavy remained professional and in contact with me every step of the way. All of my questions and concerns were addressed in the most professional and proficient manner. Mr. Dunleavy explained the entire profess of my divorce to me and made sure I understood everything he explained prior to proceeding with anything. Mr. Dunleavy is destined to run his own practice in the near future and I wish him well. I would definitely recommend tons of clients to him.

  9. A voice for the Client thru all the legal Noise and Uncertainty.

    Posted by Delbert A.Philips, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Legal issue no matter how minor or great can be stressful, to the point that you feel alone and unheard. The misconception is that lawyers are sharks only looking for blood in the water. This can not be further from the truth with Mr.Dunleavy.
    My Case was complicated and stressful, on me and my family. Anthony made this process much easier to deal with by ensure and working for our best interest. keeping us informed and ensuring every possible avenue is investigated and addressed. I received nothing less that 110% from Anthony, I Highly Recommend Anthony as legal representation, not because i was a client but because he treated me like i was a person. Thank you

  10. Excellent customer service

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Dunleavy.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hired and successfully represented in traffic court on ten minutes' notice. Court had a storied history of misplacing documents and written pleas, and its personnel could not be reached by phone over the course of several months -- resulting in repeatedly rescheduled hearings and no resolution in sight. Contacted Anthony by phone for the first time ten minutes before a hearing, he was on-site and ready to represent -- and an hour later, the matter was dismissed and resolved.