Karyn T. Missimer’s Reviews

Karyn T. Missimer

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. awesome

    Posted by valerie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mrs. Missimer treated me with respect and was very helpful to me. She made sure that I got treated farely. Mrs. Missimer is very thorough and keeps you well informed of what is going on with your case. I will recommend her to all that need her services. Thank you for careing.

  2. Excellent Investment

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The past few months in my case have been a new experience for myself. An experience I never plan to visit again and one I wouldn’t have trusted with another attorney other than Karyn. When I signed on with Karyn, I knew that my case would be handled correctly and to expect nothing but the best.

    Karyn is a fierce defense attorney that will stop at nothing to get what is truly best for you and your situation. She executes each move with precision and when the time is right, attacks. Karyn was nothing short of my expectations in all the work she accomplished for me. Her stern but yet graceful demeanor definitely shows its effectiveness in the courtroom. Everything was done in a timely manner, with extreme professionalism and with results that one could not argue with.

    Karyn’s services were a great investment and definitely made me rest a little easier knowing she was fighting for me. The Missimer Law firm truly represents and goes above and beyond their motto "quality representation at a price you can afford". I would highly recommend Karyn to anyone and without a doubt turn to her if I need her services again for any matter.

    Thanks again for all your service!

  3. Honest and Hard-Working

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.

    I've had the chance to work with Mrs. Missimer on my case. I found her to be extremely helpful and hard-working.

    Mrs. Missimer was able to explain the different outcomes of my case in a language I could understand (something difficult to find with other lawyers) and set me on the right course.

    I found her to be someone that I could trust with my case; not only to handle it in the utmost professional manner but to keep me informed the whole way.

    I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for an honest and affordable attorney.

  4. Proffessional and Effective

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had occasion to use Ms. Missimers services recently and found the experience to be effective and comforting. I felt as though I had someone on my side. I was kept informed in a timely fashion and found her rates to be fair.

  5. Horrible legal advice /

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Your probably thinking, how can karyn have such a bad review when every other review makes her look like the saintly mother theresa? Well, first you should be questioning all the glowing reviews from fellow attorney's. Now I may be wrong, but im pretty confident that on those attorney review pages, karyn returns the love (wink wink).thats what friends are for.I guess I should'nt be surprised by the glowing client reviews either. I can only speculate.The reason im lashing out at mrs Missimer is that I felt she was lazy and unprepared.I found her name on the web along with others. After calling the names on my list, I narrowed it down to reviews but mainly cost.Now im a financially poor guy who borrowed my attorney fees and feel I could have gotten a better result without her help! Just to give a little backround on my case, I was arrested for DUI in 2009 shortly after that I contacted Mrs missimer to represent me.Two weeks later I was pulled over for a tail light out. When the officer looked up my record, he noticed the drunk driving charge, he asked me to step out of my car. He thought my eyes looked funny. Now keep in mind I've been playing video games at a friend's house for the last 7hrs and had not drank any alcohol.They took a breathalizer and found nothing.Then took blood to find out I had prescribed medicine in my system for my A.D.D. They charged me again with DUI simply for driving on my prescribed medicine. On the day I was scheduled to appear for sentence she calls to inform me that she is on another case that is running later than expected.So instead of rescheduling she sends her husband who knows nothing about me or my case. Already being nervous, now i'm increasingly concerned with what will be said in my defense. Finally, minutes before my trial, Karyn showed up looking like she had just woken up- completely unprepared. Her clothes were unprofessional and wrinkled and she looked as if she had been taking a nap while she should have been reviewing my case with me. What really makes this whole experience enfuriating, is that she KNEW NOTHING ABOUT ME OR MY CASE. She told me to plead "guilty" because she had not read my file to find out that my "DUI" was caused by prescribed medicine, and she believed the second offense would not show up on my file yet. However, it did show up and was therefore charged with BOTH. She didn't even double check to make sure she was correct. When the judge asked her questions about me and my case she kept looking to me for answers because she literally had no idea what she was representing me for. I wasted thousands of dollars on someone to do a job that I could have done myself. I ultimately lost my license for a year and a half, received jail time, and eventually my job. Now clearly I was in the wrong for my first offense...I will never defend that mistake. But after speaking with multiple attorneys after this case I have found out that there is a whole other process that could have cleared me from this charge. She also missed the step to give me an occupational license, which would have made a huge difference in my life at the time. I feel that Karyn misrepresents her skills and knowledge of working with the court system, and needs to reconsider the time and effort she promises a client before she takes their case. I was, and still am, severely disappointed with my decision to hire her.

    1. Karyn T. Missimer

      Karyn Missimer

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is false, by the father of a client not charged with OWI and who threatened to ruin my reputation because I would not give my services for free. But don’t take my word for it, look at the false review itself.

      When all the other reviews are positive and one review is negative: Question the negative review.

      An endorsement implies a relationship between the lawyers and knowledge of each other’s skills. I have not endorsed several lawyers who endorsed me and I did not know.

      The comments about my rates fitting a poor man are true. Compared to other DUI defense attorneys with similar training and experience, I keep my rates reasonable.

      I have had only a few clients with ADD. None were stopped for a broken tail light, and not one of them was playing video games all night. Playing video games all night could make one’s eyes red and bloodshot. But, we don’t know any other facts here, which I go over with ALL of my clients: odor of alcohol; slurred speech; etc. If my client was stopped for a broken tail light and administered the field sobriety tests (FSTS) for red and bloodshot eyes ONLY, I would bring a motion to suppress the evidence. I have won motions to suppress the evidence in similar circumstances.

      Further, the officer administered a preliminary breath test (PBT) without FSTS. Generally, most officers know they need at least one bad FST before they may ask for a PBT. If my client was administered a PBT without FSTS, I would bring a motion to suppress the evidence.

      Next, the court date starts as a sentencing then morphs into a trial. Sentencing and trial are two very different concepts, and generally do not occur on the same day.

      Then, I was running late to court so I sent my partner?! If I am running late to court, I am on the way. Sending my partner when I am already in route makes no sense.

      None of my clients could claim I know nothing their cases. All clients receive a 25-page questionnaire related to potential defenses. We go through the police reports and other evidence. We discuss whether the officer could stop and question them. Next, we consider whether the officer could expand the initial stop into a DUI investigation. Then, we think about probable cause to arrest. With respect to blood alcohol concentration tests, we discuss potential defenses. For breath tests, this may include mouth alcohol interference, radio frequency interference, silent burps, etc. For blood tests, this may include an expired test kit, microbes causing false high positive results, human error, etc. We do all this during the course of a case and before a sentencing or a trial date.

      I do look at my clients in court, to make sure they are OK and understand. Or perhaps, the court is asking a question we have not discussed. Looking at my client in court means I am focusing on his needs.

      I note the false reviewer CHOSE to plead guilty. All of my clients CHOOSE the direction of their cases. I NEVER advise my clients to plead if they believe they are innocent or express a desire to fight. All clients are entitled to a day in court; I guard that right.

      Then, the false reviewer suggests a process to clear someone of a DUI, and I was responsible for obtaining the occupational license. In WI, a DUI may not be expunged. As for the occupational license, only the client may obtain the occupational license on his own behalf. See: http://www.dot.state.wi.us/drivers/drivers/revoke/occ-apply.htm.

      In conclusion: Thank you, Mr. False Reviewer (whom Avvo forbids me to name). Without you, my rating would be a 5 out of 5 stars, and unrealistic. You cannot make everyone happy all of the time. Moreover, this gave me an opportunity to explain the process I go through with my clients and how I assess a DUI case. In the end, this false review makes me look more credible.

      Thanks for reading, and for giving me the benefit of the doubt.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Outstanding attorney, Diligent representation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When arrested for a DUI you need a lawyer who specializes in the field and is knowledgeable. I feel very confident recommending her to anyone who needs a smart and tough attorney. Karyn is very informed and how to represent and challenge the charges you face.
    With her representation, the court amended and dismissed some of the charges I faced. All which resulted in considerably lower driver’s license revocation, fines and court costs and no jail time!. She is very friendly and easy to work with, yet very professional. She kept me informed during the entire process. Karyn is definitely worth hiring to represent you.

  7. Hardworking, truly excellent representation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Karyn was very professional and kept me informed the whole time.
    She was easy to work with and very knowledgeable about the law and defenses in my particular case. I feel very confident recommending her to anyone who needs a smart, knowledgable, tough attorney.
    Thanks Karyn for your hard work and dedication!

  8. Outstanding attorney, Diligent representation

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Atty Missimer has been representing me off and on for three or so years. She has handled a variety of cases for me, mostly traffic in
    nature. Without her help I would have lost my license long ago. And because I live in rural Wisconsin, that would be devastating to both my work and my family. I will hire no one else.

  9. Outstanding Representation

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I unreseverdly recommend Karyn to anyone who needs a thorough, relentless (in a good way) and capable attorney to represent them. She was easy to work with, always knowledgeable about the status on my case and contacted me when it was important to do so. In short, once she was on the case, I let her do the worrying so I could get on with my life.

  10. OWI 2nd Appeal Reversal

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Karyn Missimer.
    • I hired Karyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Karyn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After a less than thrilling verdict in the circuit court trial, she offered to take the case up to appeals - and she did it for cost! We won the appeal and my life is significantly less complicated thanks to her work.