Shawn Timothy Newman’s Reviews

Shawn Timothy Newman

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. superb representation

    Posted by jason, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Business matter.

    To summarize my experience in a word I'd say terrific. Terrific service, terrific response time, I was well informed on all that was going on and Shawn Newman saved my butt big time. A great and affordable investment, I'd highly recommend Shawn to anyone who was in need of an experienced and knowledgeable attorney.

  2. Aggresssive and Effective Advocate!!

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Shawn is an aggressive and effective advocate but he won't waste your money picking unnecessary battles. Once he gets his teeth into your case however you will almost pity your opponent. He is very knowledgeable in many areas of law and has tremendous common sense which is a rare and valued trait. He has earned the respect of the community and has a posse of law students that adore him and follow him in and out of the courtroom. A rare gem!! I highly recommend his services!!!

  3. Kowledgeable, focused, patient and exemplary conduct

    Posted by Robert, a Government client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Government matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Through the course of a difficult and challenging case that took several turns, Shawn kept us right on track. Sometimes he told us things we didn't want to hear, but I would rather know those items sooner rather than later. He was able to focus us on the strengths of our case, rather than on what the client perceived was the strength. Intuitive, kind, caring and professional would be the adjectives I would assign to Shawn.

  4. No detail was overlooked!

    Posted by Thomas, a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We had a bad experience with another attorney and his HIGH PRICED Bellevue group. Details were overlooked, we felt like we had fallen through the cracks, that our case was not important to them.

    Like so many others today, our home is worth less than we owe, dealing with megabanks and their teams of attorneys can be very difficult and expensive.

    Shawn took over our case, immediately negotiating with the bank attorneys. He got them to admit to illegal activities. He got us a settlement that paid all our legal fees and court costs.

    We have now been offered a loan modification with a large principle reduction and a long term low fixed interest rate!

    We can't say enough good things about Shawn Newman, his knowledge of the current U.S. housing crisis, the mortgage and banking industry, as well as forclosure law is , in my opinion, unsurpassed. We still get e-mail updates from him with court decisions and legal opinions on things that pertain to us .

  5. Estate Advise

    Posted by Duane, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shawn helped us regarding a dispute of an estate settlement. He helped us to concentrate on the facts and not the emotions of the situation. Family issues can be convoluted. The stress level was lessened because of Shawn's advise. We will definitely return to Shawn if any other legal issues arise for our family. We highly recommend him.

  6. BWS-Newman saved my life!!!

    Posted by Rebecca, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I'm writing this review because Mr. Newman saved my life. I went in for my two hour schedual concueltation. After describing my problem, he figured out that I was suffering from BWS "Brain Worm Syndrom". He agreed to take my case, as soon as we can figure who gave them to me. I so recomoned Mr. Newman as the leading expert in brain worm syndrom.
    http://abcnews.go.com/Health/video?id=6307053

    1. Shawn Timothy Newman

      Shawn Newman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Not true albeit Rebecca may, indeed, have BWS

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Inspirational

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Newman is not only wise but actually showed compassion about my situation. It's not easy to actually find someone who actually cares these days! I would recommend him to anyone who needs a good attorney.

  8. Thank you Shawn Newman

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When you are frightened, overwhelmed,and confused Shawn has got to be the best attorney around. Shawn's calm demeanor immediately gives one hope and his excellent skills in his field insure there truly is a light at the end of the tunnel. Shawn is knowledgeable, approachable, understanding and compassionate. He listens. He knows. He willingly takes that extra step to help you be informed, confident and protected. I love you Shawn! Thank you so much.

  9. Professional, honest, informative

    Posted by Dmitri, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawn was recommended to me by his student from St. Martin University. He is very professional, knowledgeable, and informative. Shawn was able to resolve the unfair foreclosure we faced. There were many other attorneys ready to help me, but Shawn was the only one who really took the case and successfully accomplished our stressful situation with our lender and a Trustee company. I appreciate his work immensely. I would highly recommend Shawn.

  10. Shawn Newman

    Posted by Spencer, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Newman.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Shawn Newman did a great job for me, not only was his intelligence great but the way i was able to talk to him as if he were a friend was refreshing. Newman turned an almost certain conviction to a deferral and under the condition i was at, i could not have asked for more. Newman provided all the information and answer i asked of him as well as providing timely responses to all my emails. With this being my first time using a legit lawyer, Newman set the bar pretty high.