Terrence F. McCarthy’s Reviews

Terrence F. McCarthy

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I was in a terrible situation. Mr. McCarthy and his staff saved me

    Posted by Eric, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence more than 3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    my ex wife an i were in a contentious custody battle. before meeting with mr. mccarhty i had another lawyer( who will remain nameless) handle my case, and in my opinion blew it badly. Mr. McCarthy and his team got me a very fair visitation schedule and attorney's fees. throughout the ordeal they kept me informed and helped keep me calm in a tough time. i felt better knowing that i has such a professional, agressive, and courteous group of people in my corner.

  2. A Wonderful Experience

    Posted by Kody, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence more than 3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having less than desirable experiences with lawyers in the past, I was expecting the same thing this go around. Terrence, or Terry, was recommended to me by a co-worker, and he was nothing short of surprising. He explained the situation to me in terms I could handle, kept me abreast on any developments, and was just good about maintaining an overall correspondence. I would recommend Terry in the future and cannot sing his praises enough!

  3. Tacoma's Finest

    Posted by Thomas, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Terry McCarthy and his son Michael handled my divorce better then I could have ever imagined. It's obviously not a fun time going through one, especially when your wife is trying to take you for everything you have. I was able to hold onto many of my assets and ended up paying a fair alimony.

    I've used various lawyers for different things over the years and never have I experienced this kind of client attention and quality assistance. They made everything very clear to me so I always knew exactly what was going on. I'd recommend their services to anyone.

    Terry has helped many people and has a sterling reputation in the community. Like father,like son as Michael is extremely professional and seems to be on track to maybe one day fill his fathers shoes. They make a great team and helped me immensely.

  4. You won't be disappointed!

    Posted by Dayne Nelson, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. McCarthy and his team settled the lawsuit against us. His knowledge and preparation forced the other side to realize the futility of their claim. He kept my wife and I well informed, especially when it was crunch time. He and his entire law office were professional and responsive. Without going into detail, I can assure whoever is reading my review that in addition to having intelligence and experience, Mr. McCarthy is honest, ethical, and anxious to do the right thing. We are very grateful!

  5. Best in the NorthWest

    Posted by Craig, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I recently retained McCarthy & Causseaux to set up a trust for my grandchildren and am very satisfied with the outcome. They worked with me to craft exactly what I wanted, were responsive to my inquiries, and gave me accurate advice. It is comforting to know that once I pass I will still be able to provide for my loving grandchildren.

    I would definitely go back to McCarthy and Causseaux and I recommend them to anyone who wants peace of mind regarding their estate.

  6. This was the best experience that i have ever had with an attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence more than 3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. McCarthy was very agressive representing my interests. I came to him for help at the last minute regarding a custody issue. He and his staff worked tirelessly to get up to speed and obtained a result that I never imagined possible. I can't reccomend his firm highly enough.

  7. One very disappointing "advocate"...

    Posted by James, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence 1-3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    The deed to a house was to be transferred from a Mother to her son...however. The elderly mother's estate was being handled by a local bank, who as trustee of her estate would now handle the deed transfer. The bank and the woman's son had done business together years prior to this situation..and it was made VERY clear to Mr. McCarthy, that the relationship between his client (the son) and the bank was extremely negative and bitter.

    As mentioned, Mr. McCarthy was cautioned, that from past actions, the bank had proven---that just short of breaking the law, that it (the bank) would be incompliant and obstinate when dealing with the son.

    Regardless of the "warning", Mr. McCarthy allowed the bank's attorney to continue to delay and stall proceedures for over 2 months, while during that timeframe, I as the client, had to repeatedly contact Mr.McCarthy's office for updates--to wit, I was only given excuses and explanations over the phone.

    The only thing Mr. McCarthy was prompt and organized about---was sending his invoices......

    I hired this very experienced professional to protect my rights and make certain that I was not taken advantage of by a bank that had proven it would do so if given the chance, and unfortunately Mr. McCarthy gave them that chance and the bank took it by delaying the simple deed transfer by over 2 months.

    In the past, after working with several attorneys particularly from Seattle, I have always felt proud and honored to work with them---but after having Mr. McCarthy as my legal representative....I feel like a man that has been made to look like a fool.

  8. awesome

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Terrence McCarthy.
    • I hired Terrence more than 3 years ago.
    • Terrence handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    straightforward and very fair-minded.... he really made me more comfortable

253-272-2206