Tom Steven Hyde’s Reviews

Tom Steven Hyde

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. We found Tom to be a great guy and helped us out

    Posted by Kelli, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom 1-3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I used Tom for my bankruptcy this year. He asked me if would write a review and me and husband agreed. He was great. He did a great job for me and my husband and now he is working with my son and his wife. They lost a construction company and have 3 kids. They're living in a fifth wheel in our driveway and Tom is clearing I their mess. When we got the email from Tom if we were willing to write a review I read some of the less than flattering reviews others have written and I don't think we got Tom on a good day. We have found him to professional and a great guy during our bankruptcy and now with our kids. No one twisted out arms to use tom but Tom and his staff were very understanding with all of nagging calls

  2. Tom Hyde is a horrible attorney!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Tom Hyde was the worst attorney I have ever experienced. First of all he is extremely arrogant, uncaring and unprofessional. You get the feeling he has a miserable life and takes it out on anyone, including his clients. I could get past that if he knew his job but even there he fails miserably.

    Without going into the gory details Tom gave me the complete WRONG legal advise which had long term ramifications. I was diagnosed with a serious illness after hiring him and during the process he just added to my nightmare.

    I am amazed that he has even one good review. These people must have found him on a "good day". I normally do not write reviews but if I can save anyone from Mr. Hyde I feel it is my duty.

    Run the other way is my advice, sad but true.

  3. Just finished my divorce with him, now he's doing my bankruptcy!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent Service. We came to Mr. Hyde through a friend who had used him over 10 yrs ago on a recommendation for our divorce which was just entered this month. Now, I and possibly my ex will be filing bankruptcy with Mr. Hyde.

  4. Fast, clean divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm a young woman in my early twenties, getting out of a bad marriage. My husband and I agreed to an uncontested divorce and we went about looking on line for an inexpensive attorney. I found Mr. Hyde's website and printed off the questionnaire that they require and the following day I was able to come in for an easy, free consultation. I had the paperwork in my hands two days later. I got them back to the Tacoma office and had them filed at Lincoln County two weeks later. I didn't have to pay any unknown fees and the workers (Jan and Sierra) were great help, friendly and knowledgeable. Thanks guys! I appreciate all your work, I WILL recommend you to anybody I know who needs a divorce attorney.

  5. happy I used Tom Hyde

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Mr. Hyde ten years ago for my first divorce. Happily recommended many friends over the years and have had good responses. I knew that Mr Hyde has filed thousands of divorces in Lincoln County because of costs and convenience. His office couldn't have been nicer or more cooperative. Should I divorce for the third time I will happily use his services.

  6. He is not a great deal considering these facts...I will keep you posted about the outcome of my case.

    Posted by Anonymous User, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First of all, this lawyer has been very lax in following through on my case which is yet to be filed because he has not gotten around to doing they job yet. I full filled all my requirements and paid all my fees up front--my case should have been filed 2+ weeks ago, possibly a bit longer give a few days. When I call his staff for updates they all tell me different stories about where the paperwork is as far as the process.

    I continue to call the court house he is supposed to file this paperwork at and I ask if they have gotten the paperwork which was supposedly filed on the 14th of Feb, 2011 (according to one of his offices). The court house says they haven't gotten said paperwork. Than I spoke directly with him yesterday and he tells me it was mailed out last Saturday and that the court house should have it by now. The court tells me that they do not and that they do not have any lingering un-posted mail and that they post it the same day they get it so that the 90 day waiting period can start for couples seeking dissolution in WA state. Because of a former incident with this laywer I am inclinded to believe the court house staff when weighting out both sides of the story.

    When I was supposed to be mailed this paperwork originally (the beginging of the process) a smiliar issue occured....so that is twice that the paperwork hasn't arrived where it was supposed to within a reasonable time frame! I find it very hard to believe that this could happen twice with one case. Seems suspect at the very least and the laywers staff blamed the postal service the first time..now they are blaming the court house for the delays and disaapearance of this paperwork. It makes me mad but also worries me-- where is this paperwork at that has all this personal information contained within it? And when I asked him this question his attidude and statement was seriously defensive and arguementitive. He said quote ..."THAT IS NOT MY PROBLEM--IT WAS MAILED AND THAT IS WHAT I AM REQUIRED TO DO-- I DID MY END STOP HARASSING ME" He actually had the gaul to imply that I was harrassing him simply because I had concerns that the paperwork had disappeared and that it was taking a long while for things to get done...longer than reasonable. This stuck me as way more than unprofessional so I started to inquired about his background...and now I have bigger concerns about his ethics!!!!!

    So I had a representitve (mediary) contact Hyde to follow-up after the unplesant tone. When my representitive did contact Hyde..the lawyer was completely unprofessional insulting and making defensive accusations about being "harassed". This never happened! My representitive simply was asking him to follow-up and do his job or offer me my money back. I should have had a lawyer who was reputable do the job right! I have my regrets about this whole deal... and I did not like his deaming tone about being thankful for his service as I was getting him at a huge discount...what a total crock! I will post about the outcome on here.

    I have yet to see my divorce be filed as it was agreed per Hyde's written contract. So I started to look into why he cannot do business in King County and found out he was in trouble here ...this is why he works out of different counties but will not act as a laywer in King County. I really wish I would have known all this ahead of time because now I have to wonder if my divorce will ever be filed and be handled right. This laywers inactions are costing me time/stess and delyaing my life.

    I won't be recommending him to anyone if he can't follow through and I might be contacting the Barr Association to see what recourse I have because of his shoddy behavior and his inability to follow through. I will give him another week to get his rear in gear. I mean really, how hard is it to file a non contested divorce ..if you are a lawyer in this state and there are no issues between the parties seeking a divorce?!

    Dated 23rd of Feb 2011

  7. used Mr. Hyde for a divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went to Mr. Hyde on a recommendation from a friend of mine who had used Mr. Hyde about 5 years ago. I downloaded his questionairre, filled it out and called his office. He saw me in a couple of days. Had the paperwork ready for me and my ex to sign within a week. We both signed the day after they called me. It was filed within a week or so. There were no hiccups with my case. It was painless and inexpensive. I didn't have to worry about a thing. I would highly recommend Mr. Hyde to any of my friends who need a good divorce attorney.

  8. bankruptcy

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Had a chapter 7 bankruptcy with Mr. Hyde. I could have paid over $1800 to another lawyer, but he did everything for me for less than $800. I had to provide a lot of paperwork to get my bankruptcy done and then once I got it to the lawyer, he took it from their. I was not overly impressed with his nurse Ratchet secretary but he evened her out. Just seemed she was stressed. This is the most nerve wracking thing I have every had to do in my life, but he kept me informed. If you don't do your part, he can't do his and he told me that unless I followed deadlines he set, then he could not do his job. He stressed that I had to keep his office informed of changes and when I didn't he could not communicate with me. Very efficient and no frills. I would happily recommend him to friends in the future, just hope his secretary is in a better mood.

  9. Seems to busy

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tom Hyde.
    • I hired Tom more than 3 years ago.
    • Tom handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The first time I met with him he had 3 other appointments book at the same time. I only got to talk to him for maybe 10mins. I had a friend who used him before so, even though I had lots more question I still decieded to go with him thinking I will get everything answered later.
    That turned out to be really hard. I had a court date that ended up having a lean on my house that he never came to. Then the day of my court he told me I had 2 weeks to come up with the money to get the lean off my house saying that he had been waiting for a month and a half, but I knew nothing of it. Coming up with $300.00 when you are file bankrupcy and struggleing to pay your mortatge is really hard. The worst is I felt like no one care. Like it was my fault that I didn't know about it.