Carolyn Annette Elsey’s Reviews

Carolyn Annette Elsey

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. lawyer that cares

    Posted by jean, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn 6-12 months ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Carolyn to gain custody of my grand daughters. She immediately went to work for me and made it happen. She has recently began to help me with related issues.

  2. Carolyn Fights for YOU!

    Posted by Kristi,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.

    I initially worked with Carolyn Elsey when I was a Designated Mental Health Professional for Pierce County (2005-2009). Despite our being on "opposite sides," I have always had a lot of respect for her ability to fight for her clients. She asked appropriate questions of her witnesses (myself included), and she made sure every proverbial stone was upturned!
    Since leaving that position with the County, I have referred several people to her, and I have only gotten positive responses from them! Carolyn Elsey is a fighter, and I would hire her in a heartbeat should the occasion arise!

  3. We Would Never Use Carolyn Elsey's Services Again

    Posted by Sandra, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Guardianship matter.

    When we hire an attorney we want someone who is knowledgeable, gets the job done within a reasonable time frame and keeps promises made to us. That was not the case with Carolyn Elsey and we would never use her services again or recommend her to anyone else.

    She handled a guardianship matter for us that was dismissed before completion because our relative passed away. Although she was aware that time was of the essence because we were trying to manage our relative's estate, it took two weeks for Carolyn to file a guardianship motion and six weeks after our relative's death to file the dismissal. She made several email and verbal commitments to handle the dismissal sooner, which she did not keep, and as of this moment, despite several requests, we have not received a monthly statement so our retainer remains unaccounted for.

    We intended to use another member of her firm for another family estate issue and had the opportunity to refer the firm to friends but because of our negative experience with Carolyn Elsey we chose not to do so.

  4. Carolyn, My Hero!

    Posted by Stephanie, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Carolyn took over a big case load from someone who left the firm that she joined. She helped get a very small and bothersome case resolved. She was amazing and kept me informed the whole way. When I was concerned and emailed or called, she always got back to me immediately.

  5. AWESOME

    Posted by Kari, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Carolyn was my sons lawyer in a family law matter. We could not have asked for a better Attorney, she always kept us informed & answered our calls in a timely manner. The matter was handled very fairly for all involved. We were very happy with the way everything was handled by Carolyn and the court. We would recomend her to anyone & have over the last 6 years.

  6. Terrible!!! I'm still paying for her mistake.

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Made several critical errors. I am still paying for her mistakes that were obvious to my wife and I but she did not catch. Asked her to fix it, she went to court and fixed it but then made two additional errors that were even worse and just as obvious. I am still paying for her mistakes to this day. By using Ms. Elsey I have lost over $7000. BEWARE, BE WARNED!

    1. Carolyn Annette Elsey

      Carolyn Elsey

      Lawyer Comment:

      I don't know what case this refers to. Had these "errors" been brought to my attention, I would have addressed them. I never want a client to feel they did not get the service they expected.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Could not have asked for a better attorney!!!!

    Posted by Stefanie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Elsey represented my husband and me in a family law matter regarding a child. Ms. Elsey went above and beyond while representing us and was able to answer all of our questions, took all of our calls (or returned them promptly) and actually talked to us like we were friends and not just clients. Ms. Elsey's knowledge of the law and how it pertained to our case was on point. We could not have asked for a better lawyer to represent us and will ONLY be using Ms. Elsey in the future when the need arise again! No other lawyer compares and we've had past, unpleasant dealings with a number of them in the greater Tacoma area.

  8. Do not use!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hired her to help me with my divorce and would not return my calls. Would not give me updates, and would get mad for trying to contact her. She did not finish my case, and it has almost been a year. She is very rude.

    1. Carolyn Annette Elsey

      Carolyn Elsey

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client never paid me. I jumped right in to help him because the military was sending him out of state. Despite a number of promises to pay me, he never did. I appeared at court for him. I handled a half-day settlement conference for him where we actually settled the case. Never got paid a dime for even a minute of my time. Client was able to call, email and text me freely. He decided that once the case settled that it would be finished instantly when in fact it took a longer than anyone expected to get final papers together, in large part because the other lawyer was not cooperative and never provided information promised at the settlement conference. The other person's lawyer withdrew from the case twice. Client expected daily updates even when I was in trial and on weekends! Client filed a BBB complaint, so I immediately withdrew from his case. Now he's mad and writing a bad review.

      If you think the legal system is one in which you press a button and everything is finished, you will be disappointed with any lawyer.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by D. Fernandez, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Carolyn was truly a blessing for me. As a servicemember stationed in a different state I had to research lawyers over the internet, which can be extremely difficult and costly. After speaking to a few attorneys I had found on other websites, I was so happy to have found Carolyn. I saw another soldier had written a great review for her and that really caught my attention. I emailed Carolyn and immediately got a response. Her reply was very honest, and she advised me on how she could help me with my case. I appreciated her honesty about a realistic outcome. She gave me her contact information to contact her anytime I needed, which was something I truly appreciated. After one email I knew this was the attorney to go with. I am more than extremely pleased with all her hard work. She gets the job done and will not waste your time. She works directly with you as a client to make sure that you are fully informed and ready for your court hearings. Although, we are not in the same state I never once felt as if my case was not being handled well. She has not let me down and continues to help me as we approach different stages of my case. Carolyn will work hard for you and is truly on your side. As a soldier I recommend Carolyn to any other servicemembers needing help with such sensitive difficult matters. She has worked with many military personal and understands the importance of your military service. If you are looking for a family law attorney in the Pierce County area look no further than Carolyn. Most importantly, Carolyn is not only a great attorney she is truly a honest and genuine person.

  10. Carolyn Elsey

    Posted by Jessica, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elsey.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Carolyn is kind and caring and had my and my child's best interest in mind. Her fees are very reasonable. Carolyn came to a fair and reasonable negotiation settlement on my case.