Todd Richard DeVallance’s Reviews

Todd Richard DeVallance

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommend Todd DeVallance

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Todd is an extremely intelligent, competent and ethical attorney. He kept us focused and optimistic despite a very anguishing, long and difficult child custody case. His skill and diligence resulted in a successful outcome and his advice and expertise were instrumental. Todd is a highly principled person in addition to being an excellent attorney.

  2. Todd is the best!

    Posted by Tina, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been divorced for almost seven year and have joint custody of my 3 teenage sons. Todd helped me with a complex, very contentious, child custody case with my ex husband.

    A year ago, my ex husband decided to use my short term personal struggles as an opportunity to try to get custody of the boys and child support. He was unwilling to work together and support me in the short term despite our history of working together supporting each other for the good of our children. It has taken close to a year to resolve this due to my ex husbands unwillingness to be reasonable. This involved multiple court hearings for motions filed by my ex. Todd prevailed in every hearing. His expertise is evident and his advice was always right on.

    Not only is Todd have the highest standards of professionalism, he is compassionate and caring. He always responded to my questions, even on evenings and weekends. Todd was realistic yet always kept things in a positive light. He kept the focus on the long term goal which was to maintain the existing parenting plan and 50/50 residential schedule.

    With Todd’s help that was accomplished through a settlement offer a few weeks ago. There is nothing more important to me than my three sons. With Todd’s help, the goal was achieved and the parenting plan and residential schedule were retained. I also felt that Todd was excellent at keeping legal fees as reasonable as possible. He works very efficiently.

    This was a very hard time in my life, but it was certainly made better by working with Todd. My ex husband was and still is very bitter and vindictive. He had an aggressive, bull dog attorney. She didn’t seem to have an ounce of compassion and had no qualms about making false accusations and using underhanded tactics against me. Without Todd’s representation I am don’t believe I would have fared nearly as well under those conditions.

    Today I am able to move past this and look to the future and the years to come with my boys. I would recommend Todd to anyone, he really is the best!

  3. BEST LAWYER EVER :)

    Posted by Denise, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Todd took over my case after choosing a money hungry shark to help me out with my very complicated case, my previous attorney was very unprofessional and really put me in the worst situation, things couldn't of been any worst, I had lost my daughter, after being the primary parent for her since she was born, to lies by my now ex husband that i proved were incorrect yet my previous attorney had not a clue what she was doing so I got screwed over and my daughter taken away and my ex was granted temporary custody and to make things worst he was military and was going to be living in Hawaii, my previous attorney did nothing , she didn't stand up for me she just agreed with everything and always made me feel like I was a horrible person, I had to do a lot to prove myself that I wasn't this crazy person that I was made out to be, and losing my daughter completely destroyed me, I didn't know what to do, I felt hopeless, lost and honestly I just hated my life, things kept on getting worst the harder I tried, And i was 100% in compliance with everything but still it wasn't good enough and nothing got any better..
    But then I meet Todd he was very different from all the others, he was confident, straight forward and honest with me about everything, and he made me feel comfortable and seemed to understand me, and actually cared about my case and knew what he was talking about, very professional and knew the laws very well, he saw where my attorney had messed up and everything. To be honest yes Todd seemed great but I was already so broken and felt hopeless I didn't know what to expect from a different attorney since I had such a bad experience with my first attorney, right away he took charge he gave me a list of things to do, told me what we were going to do, what we were going to go forward with the courts, and when, he gave me hope to see things differently in a positive light, he wasn't just an attorney but he felt like he became a good friend, someone I could truly trust, and with him knowing everything about me, I never felt so comfortable talking to anyone like I did with him, he never judged me and he really believed in me and encouraged me and really made me feel better about my situation and my self physically, mentally and emotionally.
    My case was a very bumpy roller coaster, and I felt so discouraged at times but Todd kept on fighting for me even when I wanted so much to give up, he'd tell me "things are going to change, things WILL get better " he'd talk to me even after hours at night when I was just crying and asking myself why everything was happening this way, when my ex would say things like
    "no attorney is going to give you what you want......"you would need a miracle to have things change"....."he only wants you for your money" and a lot of those things got to me, I was already at the losing side of the stick it felt, but my gut told me to trust Todd, he was so kind to me like no one had ever been and he cared about my case and me as a person, not just as a client.
    Our first court appearance was with a commissioner Todd told me flat out what was likely to happen, and it did, and then I was very discouraged and had lost some hope, but the tricky part was that that was his plan to go through the commissioner to get down to then go in front of a judge,
    The way Todd spoke of me was very genuine, he made me feel like I was a good person and more confident about myself, he stood up for me and fought for me his hardest he put so much time and effort into my case it was unbelievable how hard someone would fight for me, Todd literally saved my life he took a broken down woman with a broken down case, and turned it all completely around, he gave me back what I had lost for a whole year he gave me back my confidence, my life, my dignity and most important my daughter, he was my "MiRACLE" .

  4. Tsai law firm recommendation

    Posted by Jessica, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If anyone is looking to hire a lawyer for divorce and/or for a parenting plan, Todd DeVallance from Tsai Law firm is great! He is intelligent, flexible, honest, and reasonable. Working with him made the stress of dealing with my case so much easier to handle, as I knew there was someone to fight for what I wanted.

  5. My vote of confidence

    Posted by Monique, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I adore and admire this attorney. Like another reviewers, I have worked with "Super Lawyers" who didn't care about me, but no one was like Mr. DeVallance. He was kind. He looked out for my best interest. AND HE IS COMPETENT!

    I'm afraid Todd is too popular now and would not have time for me base on the number of positive reviews here. But he should know many people sing praises about him because of his work ethics! What a rare find in family law profession!

  6. Knowledgeable and professional...

    Posted by Kristin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Todd agreed to represent me during a very complicated divorce. It involved such issues as a military spouse on deployment, living in a different state, questionable previous legal representation, and issues that were ongoing without resolve. He addressed each issue in its entirety and was compassionate during this very extended process. He and Kim, his legal assistant, went above and beyond what I could have ever expected. I would recommend Mr. DeVallance and am very pleased with the outcome of my case!

  7. Todd is Absolutely Trustworthy, Caring, and Smart – Far Exceeding My Very Demanding Expectations

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Todd was referred to me by another divorce attorney who was on medical leave stating that he would be her first choice if she were getting divorced even above her current colleagues.

    My case was one of the most legally complex and emotionally difficult (even brutal) divorces I have personally ever heard of. This was compounded by a protracted custody battle involving three teenagers where my spouse engaged in endless alienation, false accusations of domestic violence, frivolous legal filings and multiple false police reports (all ultimately found unfounded or dismissed by the court thanks to Todd’s legal and interpersonal skills).

    In addition to Todd’s brilliant legal knowledge and ability he was even more importantly able to easily “read” my spouse and her attorneys allowing him to very effectively anticipate their next legal move and stay ahead of it. This resulted in my spouse ultimately retaining (4) four separate attorneys to go up against him. Because Todd is well known with a great reputation among his peers he was able to quickly develop the rapport with each opposing counsel and work towards solutions that were fair but ultimately very favorable to my case.

    How did Todd exceed my expectations? I was (still am) a very demanding client who simply expected Todd to perform flawlessly on my behalf, be consistently available to me throughout this case and to provide me with solid and truthful advice. What I got was all of that and much more. Todd was truly involved in my case on a very personal level. I never just felt like a client. Todd listened to my ideas and was able to honestly work with me where they made sense and honestly advise me even with sometime difficult messages for me to hear. Todd was not just along for the legal battle but he was there for me as a person who cared about my well-being and the needs of my children. He became much more than my lawyer. We worked together as a team, with trust and mutual respect for each other’s skills and capabilities and he continually looked after my children’s needs.

    I hope to never have to go through such a horrible experience as this divorce was but I would absolutely go to battle with Todd at my side without any doubt that he would give everything to not just win but to make this as bearable as possible for me and my kids. I have worked with a large number of lawyers in my career and I truly believe that Todd stands among a very rare class of attorney.

    I recommend him without hesitation!

  8. Great, Passionate, Knowledgeable!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was extremely happy with the way handle my case. He is very passionate about his clients and knows the law. When my wife's attorney tried to submit prejudicial evidence, Todd objected and got the evidence excluded. This was one of the most difficult experiences of my life and I am very thankful I hired Todd to help me through it.

  9. Best Attorney in Seattle!

    Posted by BH, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My first lawyer was a so called "Super Layer" and this site had him ranked as a 10. I watched Todd argue for his client in court while I waited for my case to be called. Without slamming my previous lawyer - the decision to hire Todd to take over my case was the best decision of my life. Todd was well worth every penny. If you have a high asset divorce, don't even think about hiring anyone else. Thanks so much Todd!!!

  10. Todd helped me get custody of my kids back!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd DeVallance.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After several years of being in abusive relationship, I finally worked up the courage to leave to my ex. In retaliation, he filed an Emergency Restraining Order making false allegations. This resulted in my children being removed from my care. I immediately hired Todd and within 2 weeks my children were returned to my care and restrictions was imposed upon the other party. I was terrified when the commissioner took my children away from me. Todd met with me on a regular basis, often staying late to work on my case. I do not know what I would have done without Todd. I will be forever grateful.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

206-728-8000