Kristy Lee Stell’s Reviews

Kristy Lee Stell

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Puzzled By This Lawyer's Behavior, Suspicious Of Her Motives

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    In early 2008 I sought to have an old criminal conviction vacated, and the court record sealed. I found a Seattle firm which claimed to specialize in this action, headed by a male attorney with what looked like excellent credentials. Contacting them by phone, I was greeted by a young female who identified herself as Kristy Stell. I gave her some information about my case, and she said she would do some preliminary research and let me know what could be done. She also told me that she was a paralegal who worked only part time for this firm, and did not indicate then that she would be working full time on my case. Because the crime I had committed was against a woman, I did not intend to have a woman working on the case because of possible negative bias against me. However, because I assumed the male attorney would be doing most of the work and would represent me in court, I accepted the arrangement and went ahead with this firm. After several conversations with Ms. Stell I decided I was not totally satisfied with her answers to my questions and I asked if I could meet, or at least speak with, the male attorney, but she was not agreeable to this request. After insisting I speak with the male attorney, she then told me she was an attorney and could answer any questions that he could. I was surprised, to say the least. I later did some research and found that she was at the time in fact a licensed attorney, and not a paralegal. She did not explain why she had told me this, and I did not ask her, not wanting, at that time, to appear argumentative. But I was puzzled, and began to suspect her motives for wanting to work on my case. I had paid fifty percent of the required fee up front, and paid the remainder several months later. She had not indicated that there was anything else I needed to do after the amount was paid in full. However, after I paid the balance, she then informed me that I would need to write a letter to the judge, justifying why I needed to have my court record sealed. This puzzled me, not that I was averse to writing such a letter, but because she had waited until I had paid the full amount before informing me of this. If she had informed me earlier I could have at least done some preparatory work on the project, which could have saved several weeks of time. After the letter was completed she told me that all we needed to do now was to get a court date for the hearing. Some time later I was doing some research on sealing criminal records, and was surprised and alarmed to learn that a new law had been passed which would make it much more difficult to have a record sealed in Washington State. I contacted Ms. Stell and asked her about this, and she replied that she had already told me about this development, which was untrue. Some time after this she contacted me and said that the victim of the crime would need to be notified and given an opportunity to attend the final hearing. She then asked me if I would give her the victim's address, which I considered an insult and an insinuation that perhaps I was thinking of committing more crimes against the victim. I was upset but kept my composure and replied that I did not have that information. She would later ask me the same question, which again made me angry. She had the resources available to find the victim's address, and I saw no legitimate reason to ask me such a question. I could only conclude that she was trying to provoke me into saying something that could justify dropping me as a client, ending my case, while keeping the money I had paid the firm. When my hearing came up I learned to my surprise that Ms. Stell would not be representing me in court, but instead the male attorney I had never met or even allowed to contact, at Ms. Stell's insistence. The conviction was vacated but the judge refused to seal the court record. Although Ms. Stell worked hard on the case, I believe she was biased against me because the victim was a woman.

    1. Kristy Lee Stell

      Kristy Lee Stell

      Lawyer Comment:

      Disappointed that Avvo allows false and inaccurate comments like this to be placed on the website.

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

    2. Lish Whitson

      Lish Whitson

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is just plan wrong and misinformed. Kristy Stell worked for Steven Rosen, now judge Rosen, 1/2 time and for me the other 1/2 time, first as a paralegal and then as a brand new lawyer. She had no authority to do anything on her own. The work she did for Steve vacating and expunging records was directed, overseen and ultimately endorsed by Steve.
      I am very disappointed in AVVO. Lish Whitson

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

  2. Professional and Successful

    Posted by Rachel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.

    Kristy did a great job with my case. She was very professional, knowledgeable and kept me informed with everything that was going on. I would highly recommend her.

  3. Outstanding Lawyer

    Posted by Angela, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kristy Stell, is outstanding she was able to "Vacate and Seal" my conviction not to mention restore my voting rights.she is truley a professional lawyer, because i live in another state this is my first time being able to put a beautiful face with a kind person.
    Thank you! Kristy

    1. Kristy Lee Stell

      Kristy Lee Stell

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Angela. It was a pleasure working with you.

      Posted over 3 years ago. Flag

  4. Multiple Traffic Violations-Kristy Stell

    Posted by Christina, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kristy Stell had handled two separate traffic violations within the last 3 month on my behalf. She was very professional and thorough with all necessary paperwork and timely with relaying all related information back to me. She was able to get one ticket dismissed and another significantly reduced. I would recommend Kristy Stell to others as an attorney.

  5. Excellent Work

    Posted by Nancy, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kristy, Took charge, instilled confidence in her client and when it was all said and done, we walked away without having to pay a cent. Kristy was great!

  6. She is compassionate, friendly and a good listener.

    Posted by Jeff, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Stell has continually kept me informed via phone calls or emails. She is a great listener and has always taken my information and processed it accordingly. She's thorough and dedicated to her duties.

  7. Highly recommend

    Posted by Lavonne, a LLC client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Limited Liability Company (LLC) matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kristy was easy to talk to and kept us informed during our entire process. She helped us to feel comfortable with her knowledge and supported us through a difficult time.

  8. Incredibly Good Listner

    Posted by Cynthia, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I feel grateful I found someone who not only I listened with all her heart, but was also very gracious about sharing her knowledge in laymans terms and being honest about clarifying my options.

  9. Made me feel comfortable

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.

    She was very easy to talk to and took the time to explain exactly what was happening. Professional while making me comfortable at the same time. Got me a great deal.

  10. dont go to court with out her!

    Posted by Kevin S., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristy Stell.
    • I hired Kristy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Due to some poor choices i made in the past i was required to hire legal help,which is where i meet Kristy Stell,which came highley recomended by a friend that had used her in the past as well.Her ability to complete all the legal proceddings and help me out were far above the bar,and beyond my expectations.she was always on time,and never missed a court date.she always was able to return my calls,and answer any questions i had promptly.going into court with out her by your side..i would highly not recomend!