David Brendan Starks’s Reviews

David Brendan Starks

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. World Class Advocacy!

    Posted by Doug, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David was a phenomenal advocate for me as I proceeded through my divorce. He considered my interests and preferences, informed me of the law and fought for what was best for me.

    On those occasions where the opposing party made threats and seemed poised to derail the process from a reasonable outcome, David successfully "talked me off the ledge" keeping me apprised of my rights and the law's view of the issues in my case.

    I most strongly recommend David Starks. I do not feel that I could have had better representation in my case or obtained a better outcome.

  2. Highly Recommend, 5 star attorney

    Posted by Michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David and his staff were excellent and got the desired result in a very difficult case.
    Was referred to me by my attorneys at Garvey Schubert Barer Law firm . Highly recommend.

  3. Truly one of a kind

    Posted by Filip, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have the displeasure of dealing with legal conflict in my regular professional activities. In the case where David assisted me, it was most personal in nature related to my family situation. I can therefore say, that David is an outstanding and experienced Lawyer as well as wonderful Human being. These characteristics makes him look at cases holistically, which is an extremely rare strength in the legal profession.
    I do not have strong enough words to describe how well he guided me both emotionally, tactically and strategically through the process, always with a foresight of what was coming next. The execution of the formal legal process was superb. In addition, he was most helpful when I asked all my pesky questions that were most likely annoying to him - and the dialogue was ongoing even during weekends and during his family obligations in a shockingly timely fashion - I have apologized to his family.
    I believe I have made a new friend
    Nobody wishes to be in a legal process, especially one related to one's near and dear.
    If I ever will be in ANY legal process again, I would do whatever was in my power to have David by my side.

  4. Not worth the money

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Starks.

    I went to see David Starks on a modification action. He kept forgetting my case facts. It's also hard to get a direct answer from him. He was totally off the mark on basic child support and tax return questions. My case did not go far, but I was charged a outrageously upsurd amount, and had to pay another $5,000 for a new attorney.

  5. David Starks was my beacon of hope

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    David was my beacon of hope during the nightmare of an international child custody case I went through. I knew I had found the right attorney during our very first preliminary phone conversation. I could tell within a matter of moments that he was not only knowledgeable in this specialized field of law and had the experience to back it up, but that he was also able to listen, to really hear what I was asking/saying. Through all the months he represented me, David's interactions and communications with me were always forthright and useful. He was (and still is) responsive, providing me with the needed answers and direction. He is an attorney with integrity, one who doesn't lose sight of the fact that his clients are real people going through possibly the worst experiences of their lives. Needless to say, we won, and my hope was made into a reality.

  6. Very competent and client-oriented attorney

    Posted by Matt,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.

    David helped me with my divorce. He made it a very seamless process, entertaining and answering in detail all questions I had during this difficult stage in my life. I had an amiable separation, but David's levelheadedness and competence would make him a great advocate for others whose divorce is more contentious. I highly recommend David.

  7. Communication, advices and clear explanations

    Posted by Nicolas, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I really appreciated my relationship with David and for the first time out of ten months, I have had the feeling that someone was really going to help me and that fighting for my son was not useless.
    After the wrongful removal of my 2yo son from France, i have been particularly lucky to have David Starks on my side. His understanding of the situation and the conclusions he brought to the court have been a precious help. My son and I were finally able to spend the last Christmas together in France.

  8. Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David Starks is a five stars attorney. I had a difficult divorce that finished in trial. David helped me be prepared for the trial and successfully win the legal battle against my ex-wife. The work he did with the testimonies was superb. His skills and ability to defend the case with conviction during the trial made the difference. He kept me well informed about my chances since the beginning, highlighting my areas of strength and making me work on the areas that I need improvement. I'm thankful for finding David and having his support during this difficult part of my life. He made everything easier for me.

  9. Rockstar Attorney: David Starks

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David is a rockstar attorney. If you need a smart, wise, responsive, attorney for a tough case, David is definitely it. I felt connected, informed throughout a hard and long divorce and educated on process and next steps when I needed to be. I'm convinced that my divorce would have taken a different path without his wisdom and clear but fair approach. He set up paperwork that years later, is still appropriate and works with minimum intervention. In a contentious relationship, that's important as it saves you $$$ years down the line and prevents further arbitration/mediation.
    I found an attorney I could trust, lean on when needed and would use again in a heartbeat if I needed to. I recommend him to often to colleagues and friends, all of whom come back with exactly the same feedback. Don't hesitate. Just meet him and you'll see what I mean.

  10. Superior support, experience, and personal touch

    Posted by Ricky Anderson, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Starks.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Dave is an experienced, thorough, competent, and excellent lawyer. I have been nothing but 100% impressed throughout his representation. Couldn't ask for anyone better than Dave.

    Being a military retiree and living oversees has never been an issue. He is willing to communicate any day, time, or method even with the enormous time difference.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

206-625-9600