Steven J Sherlag’s Reviews

Steven J Sherlag

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Successful defense against False Allegations of child abuse in Albany Oregon

    Posted by Dain, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 1-6 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steve's a real guy who understands the real world and the way cops, DHS and the judicial system abuse power and civil rights. He was recommended to me and I recommend him to you. He's my guardian angel and I Iove him like a brother. He's totally human and can relate to the feelings of others. He's not a shrink, but he's not above heartfelt and healing words and "just talking." He's very funny too. He does his best to help you keep perspective when the world seems like it's falling down.

    I owe Steve a debt which may be un-repayable in this lifetime. This was a near death experience for me and I now know just how interwoven and connected we are. Did Steve owe me karmically before or did we begin something this time around? He represented me when I was framed by Albany, Oregon police detective Glen Fairall for abusing my own children when he had actually abused them through going into their school, bullying and intimidating the administrator into letting him question (i.e. interrogate) my 6 year old daughter and subsequently ordering all three of my daughters (1,3 and 6 yrs) "examined" (state sanctioned child sex abuse) at ABC House because he couldn't find any evidence. He had wasted his time and probably realized he was looking bad so he blew his stack and went berzerk when I got an attorney and charged me with 3 counts of child sex abuse and a topper of RAPE to make things stick. The Grand Jury dismissed the rape charge but undoubtedly the DA George Eder easily pushed over the foggy and nebulous charges of sex abuse to get an indictment. After all that's what a Grand Jury is for: producing indictments. It's not hard when there's no judge and no defense representation! It's a trial in a vacuum...

    Bathing your child, changing where they might see you, potty training them and comforting them when they're scared at night are readily spinnable as sex-crimes. He didn't charge my wife for doing these things, only me, the father. As detective Fairall said it's his "business".

    Steve stayed with me through the whole thing and regularly came to Albany when needed (75 miles) during the 2+ years of horror, 4 preparations for trials (3 blocked by DA/courthouse shenanigans), DA calling an illegal mistrial and ultimately, 6 months later a 7 day trial and extremely fast exoneration. I hope you never have to hire Steve to defend you and you probably won't as long as you know that it's a bad idea to "talk to cops" and teach your loved ones likewise. "Anything you say can be used against you" IS FOR REAL. It's not just movies. If the cop feels like it your words will be spun, manipulated, taken out of context and even misquoted. All exculpatory evidence will be ignored. That's how the pros make probable cause." Don't be naieve. It could cost your life or that of someone you care for. Cops and DAs are allowed to lie and they do it a lot. They're rewarded for it. They'll lie to your kids too. The courts do not hold anyone of "the system" accountable. That means fraud, perjury, and forgery by cops are not seen as crimes in these kinds of cases. Only we can change the system and that is by exposing these guys, making them and their employers look bad and always demanding trials. But if you are getting railroaded, Steve may be able to help you. To say he saved my family and my life is an understatement. I recommend him with all my heart. --Dain S. A, Oregon

  2. Sherlag recommendation

    Posted by Linda, a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Steven Sherlag. He is trustworthy, and really cares about people. He and his Assistant Kristine San Fillipo, were very professional handling my case. Through this stressful time in my life, I was really surprised that they took time to check in on me, (phone call, email) to see how I was doing. To me, that is a rarity for such a busy firm. He really fights hard for you and defends you to the end!

  3. If your looking for a 1st class lawyer , "Steven J Sherlag " is it!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my case happened , I was truly innocent and needed the very best lawyer to proove it. I am a avid outdoorsman & a firearm collector & love hunting with my children. I reviewed many of the Portland area lawyers & Steven J Sherlags website caught my attention. Something just felt wright about it & so i made the call , and im glad i did. Steven & I talked about my case & the 3different charges & he told me about the different possible outcomes & so I made the decision he was my lawyer. I met with Steven & Kristine San Filippo who is Stevens Legal Assistant @ there office , where we reviewed the case and costs & planned my defense . Kristine was top rate & thorough on the investigation & keeping me updated on my case. Through my whole process Steven kept me positive & they both made me feel more like a friend , i want to thank both of you for that. Well 10months later my case was over & i couldnt of been more pleased with the outcome! O, i also received a check back i wasn' t expecting . Steven J Sherlag is a 1st class lawyer all the way!

  4. Highly knowledgeable and energetic

    Posted by Willy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Sherlag was very knowledgeable and informative regarding our case and the legal system. He listened to our concerns and advised us appropriately. I would recommend him to everybody.

  5. Great lawer In Oregon state. If after 4 years customer still remembers Steven j Sherlag it's means alot.

    Posted by Alexi gudishvili, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Best lawer. A+++++all the way. After his done with my case he send me check for 3749.40 Witch I never expected . that's how fair he is. I tough I was own him more money but I received check from him. His prices are low compare how good he is. Thank you for everything Steven j Sherlag. I owe you a drink.

  6. A lawyer to fight for your best future...

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    After my arrest, on a life-altering charge, I knew I needed a lawyer who would aggressively fight for me.  Steven proved to be a brilliant lawyer who understood my case and knew exactly how to fight for my best future.  From the beginning he "got it!"  Add outstanding empathy and compassion (from both Steven and his assistant Kristine) to his brilliant lawyering, and I had a truly wise counsel.  Steven enabled me to make the best decision for my future even when faced with a "Sophie's Choice." I am a better person now as a result of his handling of my case. I owe my new life to Steven.

  7. A True Professional

    Posted by AF,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.

    Steven is a true professional. His team was always available any time I had questions on my case. He never set any unrealistic goals for resolutions. I always felt like he had my best interests in mind with everything that he did.

  8. Great Lawyer to Have!

    Posted by Ella P, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Steve has been my lawyer for many years now and I am very happy with all of his hard work and dedication! He kept me out of jail on several occasions. As a client I recommend him to anybody. He will try his best to help you out in any way possible. Hes very intelligent and honest! I'm very pleased and would not trade him for another!:)

  9. Steven Sherlag, Criminal Defense

    Posted by Bill, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Steven Sherlag exhibited extraordinary professionalism, know-how and dedication when I was his client. He certainly aims to work very hard to represent folks dealing with the criminal justice system and goes above and beyond to passionately represent those who are on the fringes of society with candor, humor and assertiveness. His deep understanding of how the system works in and out of the courtroom, how to use evidence to it's full potential and when to say the right thing to the right audience truly makes him an ally for anyone who may be unfamiliar with the system. He is fair, honest and strongly recommended.

  10. I had a very positive experience with Atty. Steven Sherlag and his associate

    Posted by William, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Sherlag.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I was involved in a difficult to understand situation and needed the immediate advice and support from an experienced Criminal Defense Attorney. I contacted Steven Sherlag's office and, even though he was very busy that day, he called me back and took time to review my situation and provided me with excellent advice. Following that I had two appointments with Atty. Sherlag and I felt that he was very thorough in walking me through all possible scenarios of my situation; this was quite helpful to me. Also I was extremely impressed with Kristine San Fillippo who is his Legal Assistant / Investigator. She followed up on one aspect of my situation very promptly and efficiently.