Tracy Duell-Cazes’s Reviews

Tracy Duell-Cazes

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. she is rude and create lot of fear in customer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy 1-3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently went to Tracy to discuss the my divorce case . this was initial consultation and I did not hire her. .. first of all she is very rude and does not know how to talk to customer. she has lot of ego problem.... she will explain more than required to make u scare without addressing your questions. she has knowledge but she is using it bad way for her own benefit . she will explain what she thinks important . she will not pay much attention to your questions.

  2. Reduce conflict

    Posted by Charles, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy 1-3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for a bulldog who will take the fight to the other side, who will argue every point and who will tell any lie to get what she wants, Ms Duell-Cazes is not the one for you. If you just want revenge against your ex at any price to yourself and your children, move on to the next lawyer.

    On the other hand, if you want a lawyer with a reputation with the judges and with other lawyers for integrity and a willingness to resolve issues fairly, she is the one you need.

    Ms. Duell-Cazes will give you good advice even if you don't want to hear it. She will work to resolve issues out of court whenever possible. She will try to reduce the scope of the issue and to save money for both parties. She will tell you when you are wrong, but will fight for you when you are right.

    If there is any possibility of reaching a mutually equitable solution, and if that is what you are after, she is the choice you are looking for.

    Ms. Duell-Cazes knows her business and has been around for over 20 years. She has earned enough respect to be taken at her word by judges and by other attorneys.

    I highly recommend Ms Duell-Cazes for divorce or custody cases.

  3. Fair and Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy 1-3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Tracy took my case in the nick of time; too many poor attorney's had botch my chances of a fair divorce.

  4. Attorney disappeared for 10 days after getting a retainer check

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy 1-3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Retained this attorney on December 11th to finalize very difficult divorce with mentally disturbed spouse. The reason I have hired Tracy was that she told me that she would file to court by December 20. Today is December 20th and nothing has been filed, no one from her office responded to my emails or have done anything that I ask in these emails (but I am sure she'll bell me for reading them). There were certain things that needed to be done like arranging with my spouse when I would be able to pick up kids' and my belongings, send a letter to my spouse's attorney to remind her that she missed 2 months of visitations, etc. So now they leave for winter break and I have no arrangement to pick up belongings, no letter to my spouse's attorney has been sent. Larry (Tracy's assistant) first told me when I called yesterday that there is no point to send this letter because she anyway will blame me for interruption in visitations, so why bother sending a letter... Looks like this attorney's office is only good at making excuses to why not to do work. Larry told me that Tracy would call me yesterday to discuss this letter, I sent a draft, no one called me, no edited draft sent back to me. Larry told me that nothing is filed in court because my wife has not agreed to anything. This is just amazing! The very reason I had to hire an attorney was that she was not cooperating (otherwise I would have paralegal do all the job because MSA and Custody order is already in place and approved by the court). I have no idea why Tracy possibly being too busy with other cases promised me to file by the 20th and now offering me bizarre reasons why she could not do it. When she was taking my retainer check she knew my spouse was not cooperating. I consider this kind of service outrageous, misleading and not in client's interest.
    Will update this review with new developments.

  5. Money grubber

    Posted by Frances, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy more than 3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I think Tracy is ok for divorce issue and she did get me a fair settlement with that. My child custody issues were not handled in a reasonable amount of time. She speaks out of content and it is actually bizarre. I can only say stay away if you need custody help. Also her husband is also way involved without any JD behine his name,

  6. I endorse this attorney. A+ rating!

    Posted by Rolf, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy 1-3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    There's a good reason why Ms. Duell-Cazes has a stellar reputation with the the judges and her peers. She helps clients navigate difficult situations and is the preeminent attorney for any divorce with contempt issues involved. I have referred people to Tracy and hired her as co-counsel several times. I always contact her BEFORE the other side does - at least I try.

  7. Tracy handled my divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy more than 3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tracy was tasked with handling a very contentious divorce involving several complex issues. As an attorney myself, I relied upon the referrals and recommendations of my peers in San Jose for selecting Tracy as my attorney. I was not disappointed! She was very knowledgeable and hands-on throughout the whole process. Several complex issues arose during the case, including issues that were supported by new case law that favored opposing party's position. Nevertheless, Tracy successfully argued the facts and law in my favor, which resulted in a favorable and successful settlement of the case. I would certainly recommend Tracy to anyone that needs an exceptional attorney to handle any aspect of family law and litigation.

  8. Excellent Service received from this Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy more than 3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Tracy on and off for over 4 years for both my initial divorce and subsequent custody and vistation issues. She is attentive, knowledgeable, fairly agressive, and fair and accurate with her billing. I would wholeheartedly reccommend her services to others.

  9. Poor service from this 'advocate'

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tracy Duell-Cazes.
    • I hired Tracy more than 3 years ago.
    • Tracy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been extremely disappointed with the service received from this attorney. She has done a terrible job of managing my expectations, follows-up on open actions only if I badger her, has not fought for my interests at all, and has allowed my matter to dragged out for months costing me an enormous amount of money.

    A specific case in point - when she was trying to sign me up as a client, she came across as a real bulldog. My situation was that I had been attempting mediation with my ex for a year, without success. We had an informal support agreement in place which I was honoring even though it had not been filed with the court. During the 'selling' phase, this attorney took the position that I had a strong argument that my ex should be compelled to work and support herself, and that the interim support agreement should be enforced by the court. Fast forward 90 days and we're in conference. Now my attorney is telling me that I should accept paying much higher support, allowing my ex to take the next two years off to go to grad school so she can pursue a new career which will REDUCE her earning capacity, and I should also agree to pay a bunch of my ex's fees. She began "let me tell you why you should accept this deal..." To me her explanation sounded like she felt she had reached the point of diminishing marginal returns re: fees she could squeeze out of me without having to actually argue my case before the bench. I should have fired her then.

    Another case in point...having realized my attorney was either unwilling or unable to negotiate on my behalf, I negotiated the final terms of community division myself with my ex in a settlement officer conference in May. Then the two attorneys took over and starting adding "boilerplate" language which neither principal wanted nor agreed to. Net effect - the two attorneys have managed to drag this out for months, it is now August, and the MSA is still not filed with the court. I view this as a willful act intended to allow the attorneys to continue squeezing fees out of us. This should be sanctionable misconduct in my opinion.

    Needless to say I do not recommend this attorney.