Rory S. Coetzee’s Reviews

Rory S. Coetzee

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great, patient, understanding, strong, informational Laywer

    Posted by Michele,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.

    As a women I was nerves about finding a lawyer, but not with Rory. He made me feel comfortable the first time I met him. He is very good at explaining the lawyer papers, the way it's worded which for me was very foreign. Always returned emails and call. He is very down to earth and is a people's person. I would highly recommend him to any of my family and friends

  2. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Angelina, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory 1-3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I was introduced to Rory Coetzee by my previous attorney, I had completely lost all faith in attorneys & the court system. Being duped, taken advantage of and mislead by my previous attorney I was a little apprehensive on whether I wanted to "fix" the mess I was in. It was only after speaking with Rory my faith in the legal system and attorneys was restored. Rory took the time to listen to my situation patiently. He did not interrupt and asked detailed questions to ensure he fully understood the nature of my case. I am currently Rory's client and my child support case is still in progress. So far Rory has been an outstanding attorney. Rory's communication and commitment to my case have not faltered. Rory has been consistent with filing of paperwork and keeping me informed. Rory and his entire office staff are caring, compassionate and understanding. As the cost of court fees and legal representation can be immense and become overwhelming, especially for a single parent, Rory has been more than compassionate to my financial situation and has worked with me on his fees all while remaining dedicated in providing excellent representation. By that, Rory proves he genuinely cares about his clients. I am very confident that my case is in good hands with Rory and I am honestly glad I have finally found someone who is knowledgeable of the law, is honest, hard working and has high ethical & moral standards. Rory is dedicated to ensuring his clients get the best possible outcome. I would recommend Rory in a heartbeat.

  3. Excellent attorney and highly recommended

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory 1-3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This is the second time I have used Rory in a child custody case once when he was with a firm in San Jose and just recently after he had gone out on his own and opened his own practice in Monterey. Even though my case was in San Jose I felt strongly that I still wanted him to represent me again. I chose the firm he was previously with because of him, on the recommendation of an attorney friend. I was a little worried when I needed representation again and found out the he had left San Jose to open his own practice in Monterey, but was happy to find out that he still took clients in Santa Clara County.
    In both the instances that he represented me he was great and got me pretty much everything I wanted. I found Rory to be extremely knowledgeable and helpful, he even steered me away from making extra unneeded motions that would have just resulted in me spending extra money that I didn't need to to get the results that I wanted (he wasn't interested in just running up my bill). It truly felt that he was looking out for mine and my child's best interests. I would definitely recommend him.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory 1-3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rory guided me through a recent custody battle and he was able to get me just about everything I wanted. I would definitely recommend him.

  5. Superb Lawyer ! A lawyer with a heart.

    Posted by Ashah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory more than 3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I do not think I even have words to describe Rory. In the 4 years that he has represented me in my very abusive legal divorce I have seen all facets of this remarkable lawyer. I have seen a lawyer with a heart, a lawyer who has become a friend I truly trust and respect for advice, and a person that our family is indebted to for his continued dedication to keeping my boys safe and to do all he can to serve their best interests as my attorney and friend. He truly cares about families and children and is truly a very nice person.

  6. Dedicated lawyer

    Posted by Patty, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory 1-3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Rory is a very competent attorney. His dedication to his job and commitments are very unique, I found Rory to be very respectful and yet persistent in the handling of my case. I would refer Rory to anyone searching for legal assistance.

  7. Great representation

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory 1-3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr. Coetzee is everything a lawyer should be. When I met with him and on my case he was attentive, listened to my questions, issues, complaints etc. and was responsive. He was very honest and straightforward letting me know what he could do and what he couldn't in reference to my custody case. His fees were not excessive and actually worked with me when money was tight. He was successful on my behalf and if needed, I would seek his representation again.

    I only wish I had found him before spending thousands of dollars on excessive fees from a previous attorney.

  8. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory more than 3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rory is very professional and would highly recommened him. He is very knowledgeable and takes his time to listen and make sure your needs or questions are answered. He was always prepared for my court dates and went over everything with me prior.

  9. Extremely efficient representation

    Posted by Madhu, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • Rory handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Rory is exceptional. I have had 5 attorneys before HJMoreno, all of them collectively and thoroughly bungled up my case. We're still working at unravelling it, but with Rory and the firm, we have, for the first time, uncovered fraud and are in a comfortable position in the proceedings.

  10. Wouldn't go anywhere else

    Posted by Heather Masamitsu, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rory Coetzee.
    • I hired Rory more than 3 years ago.
    • Rory handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rory represented me for the mediation portions of my custody negotiations. On one occasion, I was due to be out of the country and the other party's attorney would not agree to reschedule the court date for when I was going to be back. Rory, assured me that he would be able to handle it, appeared for me, was granted the extension and called me before I got on the plane to let me know how things went. I was able to go on my trip with complete peace of mind and that was only one of several times he was able to help.

    Rory is a very knowledgeable attorney. There were a variety of issues that surfaced while he worked on my case. One was a residency issue. I wished to move out of the county with my children and the other party sought to prevent it. The other party's attorney was very abrasive and unprofessional and Mr. Coetzee handled every incident without backing down or being intimidated.
    He is friendly, helpful, returns emails and calls in a timely manner. I will never go anywhere else but the law firm of J Hector Moreno and straight to Rory Coetzee.

Call now for a free consultation.

831-275-1191