William Carlos Makler’s Reviews

William Carlos Makler

Average Rating

Based on 115 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome DUI lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 1-6 months ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bill is great! I have had 2 other friends use him also. He is very helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. He negotiated some great aspects of my my case and I would have been absolutely lost without him. I plan to retain him again for handling expungement. I highly recommend using Bill!

  2. Makler: Exceptional Lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.

    William Makler was absolutely exceptional in helping me fight a robbery felony. I was able to stay in school while dealing with such a difficult thing as this because Makler was so helpful. At every step along the way he knew what had to be done and kept me informed on absolutely everything related to the case. In addition, when meeting with Makler he was exceptionally nice and understanding to every question or problem I seemed to face. I recommend William Makler to everyone who is looking for an amazing lawyer!

  3. A gift from above! Best Attorney EVER!

    Posted by Alicia, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Makler came highly recommend by an attorney in Santa Maria. No question about it, he was sent to us as a gift from above. Hands down the BEST attorney ever! My son’s life was in his hands facing 2 felonies and Mr. Makler did not disappoint. Both were dropped before it even reached trail. Mr. Maker was brilliant in his research as well as his words in the court room! We are forever thankful for him!

  4. Best attorney in Santa Barbara

    Posted by Ariel Liu, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend William Makler since I'm an international student and the English is not my first language. William is knowledgeable and patient. We I got the case because my boyfriend and I had some argument and I was arrested by the police that is very serious to me. I'm an international student and if I got some bad charges, I would probably get deportation. I'm so sacred during this month. I find William at this website and we met just two days before the court date. He helped me to call the court and get information about my charge that will on Monday that really helpful. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND William Makler!

  5. Great attorney for a student that made a poor choice!

    Posted by ML, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr Makler represented our college age student on a criminal charge. This was our first time dealing with any legal trouble. Since we are not from the Santa Barbara area I researched local attorneys and called the number provided on Mr Maklers webpage. To my surprise he answered on a weekend. He was informative and helpful. In the month waiting for the court date I emailed and called to ask more questions, he was responded timely each time. The outcome of the case was better than we could have ever imagined. If you have a student that gets in trouble hire Mr Makler, and trust his advice.

    Thank you Bill, you are worth more than you charged!

  6. He saved my Career....

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In the summer of 2005 I was arrested for a DUI, absolutely 5 days prior to the start of my medical school education in the east coast. I had a blood alcohol level drawn that night, hoping that it would be below the legal limit. Having to leave California to start medical school, I needed an attorney to help with my new legal issue. William Makler absolutely saved my career. He was extremely patient, answering all my questions, easy to get a hold of despite our three hour time difference. Most importantly, I felt as if he knew what was at stake for me and truly cared about helping me beat this case. My BAC came back below the legal limit, and Makler got the case thrown out of criminal court and I ended up with a traffic violation, hence preventing any possibility o me having a misdemeanor on my record.
    Even 8 years after the incident his office help me obtain information from the Santa Barbara county records office regarding the arrest. William Makler is the solution for fighting a DUI charge in Santa Barbara, and I would highly recommend him to anyone who was arrested for a DUI.

  7. Absolute best lawyer in Santa Barbara.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I have had 3 interactions with Mr. Makler that have all been outstanding.

    First, I was given a misdemeanor citation for petty theft and posted an inquiry on avvo. Mr. Makler responded both quickly and thoroughly to my question which immediately relieved some of the stress of the situation. We arranged for a free 30 minute consultation in which he explained what would happen upon my arraignment. He was very honest and told me that with my circumstances I would be offered the TAP (Theft Awareness Program) diversion program to dismiss the charges. He did not waste my time or money. It was great to have a lawyer be honest about what was going to happen, and not take advantage of one's lack of legal knowledge and fear in an attempt to get hired, which is a common apprehension of those in my situation.

    Secondly, I was involved in a high speed car chase involving an argument over drugs and money culminating in a totaled vehicle and serious damages to a residence. While I was not facing charges, I encouraged the driver speak to Mr. Makler for another free consultation for what to expect. In the end, what we were certain were going to be at best misdemeanor reckless driving charges, and at worst felonious reckless endangerment, were dropped to mere infractions thanks to Mr. Makler's expertise in the courtroom, all of this despite the driver’s history of other traffic violations. I couldn't believe it. The other driver who didn't hire Mr. Makler now has a criminal record and did time in jail.

    Finally, I was given yet another misdemeanor petty theft citation. Knowing the very serious consequences of theft on one’s career, I immediately met with the best lawyer in Santa Barbara for another free consultation in which he was able to tell me what to expect and how he could help. After hiring him and a few weeks of fighting in court, Mr. Makler successfully reached a deal with the DA to drop the charges to an infraction, thereby preventing criminal charges. Unlike other lawyers who gave their critical opinions of my situation as a second time thief, Mr. Makler was extremely professional and nonjudgmental, and unafraid to use all avenues in order to improve my case, such as seeing a forensic psychiatrist, getting therapy, and other details specific to my situation resulting in successfully preventing a misdemeanor.

    In sum, Mr. Makler has tirelessly defended me and a friend of mine from criminal charges that have very serious consequences. His knowledge and connections in the courtroom are unparalleled in Santa Barbara, and his prices are completely reasonable on top of it. He also communicates very quickly and comprehensively to emails and phone calls. I cannot recommend him enough. Mr. Makler is incredibly intelligent and experienced, and it’s truly amazing to see the results he achieves in persuading the court in your defense.

    Thank you Mr. Makler for your representation!

  8. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Very helpful and successful in using the McNeely law to downgrade my possible DUI to a Dry and Reckless. Affordable and realistic about what he can help you achieve.

  9. The Best DUI Attorney Ever...Bill Makler Saved My Life

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I know that this sounds crazy, but much of me is actually glad that I got pulled over for that DUI on that fateful night in June 2013 because...had I not been pulled over, I'd never have had the chance to meet the incredibly brilliant, passionate, kind, powerful, effective, amazing Bill Makler.

    In short, Bill Makler saved my life. He is the best attorney that I've ever had the privilege of knowing. And that includes me, because I am myself an attorney and, if I may be so brash, I happen to think that I'm pretty damn great at what I do. Unfortunately, my law degree couldn't save me when I was pulled over that night. But it didn't need to...because Bill Makler saved me.

    After my DUI arrest, I returned home to find piles of envelopes, letters, and postcards piling up in my mailbox. They were from a plethora of DUI lawyers who all claimed that they could help me, each with his or her own respective catch phrase or sales pitch or too-good-to-be-true price quote. Instead of falling for that, I turned to Google. "santa barbara dui" Bill came up first or close-to-first. I checked out his website. And then I checked him out here, on Avvo. I couldn't believe his perfect rating. How could that be? I'd never seen that before. But then I read the reviews. And they all sounded legit. So I called.

    And when I called...I got to speak to him personally! We talked for nearly a half hour. I was sold. The man is a genius. He isn't running a DUI mill. He's running a gonna-give-you-everything-I-got-to-get-you-the-best-possible-result-for-your-case kind of business. And, my god, how he delivered for me! I had a 0.17 BAC on my blood test. The result? Through Bill's ingenious legal strategy...I walked away with a DRY RECKLESS. That's unheard of.

    Yes, Bill Makler saved my life. And, if you want my opinion, then I'd encourage you to call him and hire him and let him handle your case. He's the best lawyer that I've ever known. And I will be forever grateful to him. When I first saw his perfect Avvo score, I didn't know whether I'd be able or willing to give the same score after my case was over. But, as I sit here tonight, with my driver's license intact, my DUI dismissed, and much love and gratefulness in me heart, I can say without reservation that if it were possible to give a lawyer 6 or 12 or 1 million stars then I'd give the maximum amount to Bill Makler. He deserves them all, and more. And for that, for giving me his all, for believing in me, for fighting zealously on my behalf, I will be forever grateful to him and honored to have been able to call him my my advocate, my champion, my DUI defense attorney.

  10. Absolutely Amazing!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Makler.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After getting a DUI I called some lawyers in Santa Barbara. Some tried to scare me into hiring them, and others tried to make it sound like they were the best lawyer to ever walk the face of the earth. Thankfully I found Bill, off this site as a matter of fact. We spoke about the details of my case and he was honest with me, and I could tell he was being sincere in what he was saying. My case didn't look good from the beginning. My BAC was over the legal limit. Without giving to many specifics about my case, my BAC was between .15 and .20. There were no injuries, accidents, or other complications involved... just the DUI charge. After Bill looked at the evidence he was honest with me that if we wanted the best possible outcome it would take time. I took his advice and was patient. He gave me updates whenever something changed, he was always quick to get back to me if I had questions or concerns, and he always made me feel like I was his only client. He had a great deal of patience with me explaining the avenues we were taking and breaking down what things meant. In the end....I was given a Dry Reckless and he was able to remove the DMV ruling so I could drive again without waiting or taking classes. I know this is not a standard type of case and very rare, but my point I wanted to share if you are reading this, is Bill explored every avenue in order to get me this deal. He didn't just collect my money and disappear. He didn't use legal terminology to confuse me into thinking he "did all he could".

    If you are reading this and deciding if Bill is the right lawyer to hire to take your DUI case... it is a no brainer. Whatever the fee is, pay it. He wasn't the most expensive lawyer I talked to, but he wasn't the least expensive. However, he was honest the entire time. A DUI is a serious issue and it can be incredibly stressful. Bill was able to calm my nerves and put my mind more at ease.

    If you are still in doubt, call him.

    Thank you Bill for everything you have done.