Fredrick Michael Ray’s Reviews

Fredrick Michael Ray

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fred Ray is the Best Administrative Law Attorney!

    Posted by a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you hold a license governed by the California Department of Consumer Affairs, you need to know Fred Ray and here’s why:

    Fred Ray helped me defend my public license against a claim and eventually had the accusation completely withdrawn by the attorney general. It is clear Fred’s skills as an attorney are to the moon, but that’s not the only part you need to examine when you select a licensing/administrative law attorney.

    One of Fred’s best skills is providing you a road map and a pathway to resolution for your case. What follows is my experience with Fred, which I hope will give you hope in your case and will provide you deep insight into knowing why you can rely on Fred’s abilities.

    If you are like me, you would have never dreamed in a million years that your license would be questioned because you take great pride in your work, you do everything by the book, and you earned your license according to all the rules your licensing agency set for you. You are a professional and your license is a pedigree to demonstrate your mastery of your field. Then, without any explanation, you receive a vague inquiry from your licensing board. As you are dutiful, you oblige with transparency. Later, what seem like innocuous inquiries become accusations filed with the Deputy Attorney General. At this point, you feel blind-sided and wonder how this happened and you seek the advice of a lawyer.

    You scour the Internet and find the most qualified, decorated, and recommended attorney for your license. From there you retain him and proceed on a process that usurps about a year or more of your life. Your only saving grace is that you know you did no wrong and you hope the justice system works the way it should despite the legal barbs being launched towards you. Your attorney takes you through the entire process, and in my case, he helped me systematically gather the evidence to support my case, and through his roadmap, he proved my case so that the accusation was withdrawn.

    Now, presumably, any qualified licensing attorney could navigate you through the above steps, but with Fred his roadmap was so clear and his bedside manner was so honed that as stressful as this situation may seem, his factual words were calming. His ability to write precisely and argue succinctly will help you and your eagerness to resolve the situation. Having gone through this, here are my tips to you:

    Engage Fred as soon as you hear from your licensing agency regarding anything outside a standard renewal.
    Do as Fred says.
    Ask questions, but try to remain organized with your thoughts. I should have used a spreadsheet for my questions.
    Provide him as much detail as you can.
    Keep all files and emails with your clients in perpetuity; you may need them.
    Trust in Fred’s abilities.
    Let Fred be the attorney.

    You will want an attorney who is experienced, which of course Fred is, however, what will get you through the year of waiting to defend yourself and your license, is an attorney who will keep your head on your shoulders, and for me that will forever be Frederick Ray.

  2. Excellent professional license attorney

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Ray was incredibly supportive and responsive to my messy out of state disciplinary action. Mr. Ray wrote the most wonderful letter and exceeded my expectations with his knowledge and kindness too. I fondly remember the positive interactions with him during that terrible time. Oh yeah the licensing board in California was satisfied and everything went better than expected.

  3. Real Estate License

    Posted by Sean P., a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had several convictions in my early adult life that I am not proud of, but they were mistakes that I have fulfilled. Aside from the convictions, I had maintained a clean record for several years, and decided to follow my passion in Real Estate. I was honest in disclosing all my convictions on my real estate application; passed the Salesperson's exam; however, my license was denied because of my past. I spent 2 years with the DRE in providing all the necessary documents and explanation of my past but ultimately, it was not good enough. I was heartbroken. I found Fredrick M. Ray by doing a thorough research over the Internet for an Attorney that only specializes in licensing. After several phone interviews with leading attorneys, I chose Fredrick M. Ray.

    When I first met Fred, he was polite and meticulous with my case. He was well-versed in many licensing cases, especially the workings of the California Department of Real Estate. Once hired, Fred acted quick on my case! The next day, he had several updates for me through his correspondences with the DRE. The updates kept coming frequently throughout the duration of my case. Fred was a true professional -- and honest -- and cared for my case as though it were his own. In the end, Fredrick M. Ray was successful in working with the DRE to grant me a restricted Salesperson's license. What Fred achieved for me in a matter of a month was something that I could not achieve in 2 years. I owe it to Fred for helping me to have the opportunity to pursue my passion.

  4. Fredrick Ray Highly Recommended

    Posted by Fred Jefferson, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Fredrick Ray did an excellent job in representing me with the Department of Real Estate. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking an attorney. He was extremely knowledgeable and very diligent and yes he won my case hands down.

  5. Absolutely amazing

    Posted by Babak., a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr. Ray to all clients. He is the best I have ever seen and walked me through the path step by step.

  6. Hired Fred Ray for our defense

    Posted by Mark, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Fred is incredibly knowledgeable in contract and licensing issues. My company was facing a potential fine of 5 million dollars and ended in a 2,500. decision by the judge. His fees were very reasonable and he was very generous with his time. I'm very grateful for the referral and would gladly recommend Fred to anyone needing his service.

  7. great lawyer

    Posted by Jonathon, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a problem with the board of nursing as I was trying to get licensed. I had called/emailed a couple other licensing lawyers before calling Mr. Ray. One of them was such a big shot he couldn't even answer any of my questions, he just wanted his fancy website, reputation and HIGH fee to speak for itself (in other words, just TRUST him and stop asking questions). Another wanted to play like my psychotherapist (I think he truly wanted his career to be in psychoanalysis, NOT law). It was WEIRD and NOT what I was looking for. Then I called Frederick Ray. Ah. Just right. Professional. Not rushed. Willing to answer my questions. Not trying to be my psychotherapist. Just straight forward. He made no promises about the outcome of my case. He was realistic. He prepared me for the worst outcome but said he would try hard to achieve the best outcome. He held my hand throughout by answering my many questions. In the end what happened? The best outcome possible, and in a much shorter time than expected. He COMPLETELY resolved the matter with the board for me, allowing me to be done with those 6 months of nightmare in my life and move on with my career. I am extremely grateful for this attorney and would definitely recommend him.

  8. Above and beyond Excellent!

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Fred Ray and his team helped me to win what seemed to be an insurmountable case. I was up against the Board of Nursing, and, over the course of two excruciating years, was forced to endure months-long response periods without consideration for my individual case. I was asked to submit personal information and subject my family members, co-workers, employers, and friends to writing letters and giving testimony. My record had been expunged, and the one crime I had committed was not one of moral terpitude. I had paid my debt to society and been punished by the Court. It was not the Board of Nursing's job to put me back on trial for a case wholly unrelated to my impeccable work history and stellar performance in nursing school. The initial "settlement" that I was finally offered was an insult. Basically, I never would have been able to find a job in the field, and my education and time and money spent pursuing a career in nursing would have been for nothing.

    Fred Ray and John Bishop were ready to fight for me from the moment it became apparent that the Board had no intention of settling the case fairly. My case was heard before an honorable judge from the Office of Administrative Hearings. Since I was facing financial ruin as a result of being prohibited from practicing in my chosen field, I was unable to take off time from work to meet with them before my hearing. They accommodated me by coming in on their time off to discuss with me what would happen during trial. I have had a personal tragedy that they knew would be addressed. Had they not taken the time to prepare me to speak about this topic, I would not have been able to keep my composure on the stand.

    When my Court date arrived, they were extremely professional. Because of his calm demeanor in Court and plainly spoken language, the Court transcribers actually fought over the duty of transcribing for his particular case. He was also given accolades by the judge for being well prepared. It is clear that his work ethic and dedication to his clients is recognized by his peers within the legal community. During my trial, he showed concern for my state, and was very reassuring. Unlike the Board of Nursing, His Honor from the Office of Administrative Hearings looked over my documentation, listened to my case and the opposing counsel, and had questions of his own. He was in no way the kind of judge to sit on the sidelines and let the lawyers fight it out. To each of his questions, Fred was prepared with case law and answers and documentation that furthered my case. It was clear there was no case against me, and he made it obvious during trial. It also became clear on that day why Fred and John had required so much documentation from me, such as prior work evaluations, other state certifications in good standing, and copious letters and testimony from people ranging from friends to my psychologist. They had done all they could to prepare me and give His Honor an idea of who I am as a person, irrespective of a mistake I made, and regret, years ago.

    His Honor ruled in my favor. However, the Board of Nursing can choose to fight a judge's decision. While they did not technically "adopt" the decision in my case, they did not fight it within the allotted 100 days. As a result, by course of law, the ruling became effective. I have already been working in the medical field, and have proven myself to be hard-working and dependable. I can now expand my duties to encompass those within the scope of practice of a Registered Nurse. Many opportunities have opened up to me, and I have Fred Ray and his wonderful staff (Shiela is the BEST office manager, by the way! And John's a very talented and motivated young lawyer!) to thank. I would highly recommend Fred Ray's law group to anyone fighting a licensing agency. These agencies don't see applicants as individuals. It takes a good law team to differentiate one's case and prevail. Good luck to you all!

  9. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Bill, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Ray represented me in a matter before a State licensing board, which recently ended with the best possible outcome for me. He was knowledgeable in the logistics and expert in the presentation to the authorities.

    In addition, he exudes a calm, reassuring manner which is very important to clients facing some of the most stressful times of their professional lives.

  10. Truly an example of gold-standard lawyer services

    Posted by Andrew, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fredrick Ray.
    • I hired Fredrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Fredrick handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Fred Ray's decisions was brilliant and creative ideas -- truly an example of gold-standard lawyer services. From personal professional experience.

    It is exceedingly rare for any attorney to recognize, as Mr. Ray did in my case, when a client's situation may be strategically improved by changing counsel. Mr. Ray was genuinely selfless in his determination that OAH would not be willing to extend my hearing date except with an external reason such as a change in counsel. I was truly well-served by Mr. Ray and I want to make a public acknowledgement of that fact.Mr Ray briliant Idea save my proffesional life, i was facing a consequence of revoking my license & Fred Ray Idea save my life.



    All i can say, no words can express how great is Fredrick Ray and i recommend him & his office to any one need help with administrative law attorney.

Professional license defense and appeals of license denials.

714-558-8488