Michael L Guisti’s Reviews

Michael L Guisti

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Helped my son

    Posted by Steve,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.

    Last year, my son was a passenger in an accident in which his car was totaled. The driver and the other passenger claimed my son was driving, so he was charged with hit and run (all parties fled the scene).

    Mr. Guisti repeatedly went to court to try to get the case dropped (I forget the exact number, but I think he appeared 8 or 9 times), but the DA's office kept reopening it. During this process he arranged that my son didn't have to appear in person (which would have been a hardship as he was living 400 miles away). When the case was finally set to go to trial (a year after the accident and 8 months after charges were originally filed), he arranged a plea involving a small fine and community service.

    My son, his mother and I are very happy with Mr. Guisti.

  2. Four felonies: 3 sales and 1 manufacturing and I'm a free man. This guy is amazing!

    Posted by Reese, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was facing four (very serious) drug-related felonies: 3 for sales and one for manufacturing. Michael was able to keep me out of jail for the entire length of the proceedings and, in the end, I only served 2 weeks in OC Jail after having 2 of the sales charges and the manufacturing thrown out. Honestly, if I had had a public defender, I am absolutely positive I would be serving time upstate for no less than 5 years. I couldn't be happier with the results, and while the whole thing was probably the most stressful process I've ever endured, I wouldn't trust anyone else with my freedom. Michael is a solid attorney who knows how to get results. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a criminal defense attorney.

  3. A Qualified Professional Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Michael is friendly, private and very reliable. He is very experienced with the criminal cases, as it was my case. He knows how to deal with those harsh prosecutors and got my case dismissed in 2 months. As a professional lawyer, he always kept me updated with my case happened at the court. He always listening to clients and giving the positives.

  4. The best of the best

    Posted by MO, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael not only made me feel comfortable but he took personal time to make sure my questions were answered and made sure I was clear about my case. He made me feel secure about the time spent with him and his office and did everything in his power to make sure everything was prepared in time. I thoroughly felt taken care of and felt like I was in good hands. I refer Michael Guisti to all my closest friends and family because I truly feel he is the best.

  5. Best Lawyer we hired!

    Posted by T.S, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was probably the best attorney we could of hired. I would recommend him to family of friends of there were any criminal case matters that were needed to taken care. He is very knowledgeable and personable. Unlike many attorneys out there that say they will do this or that for a case and in the end not go by their words, Mr. Guisti spoke realistically of the direction, motive, and outcomes that could be expected and could be coming out of the case instead of other attorneys that say many things just to have your case/money. DEFINATELY RECOMMEND! WAY TO GO FOR ALL YOUR HARDWORK YOU DID FOR MY MOTHERS CASE!

  6. Provided Negotiating Strategies and Tactics when Creditors

    Posted by db, a Debt Agreements client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt & Lending Agreements matter.

    The company I am associated with incurred a significant financial setback which was compounded by seriously delayed payments by a key client. This caused the company to be in default on several loans including bank lines.

    I was referred to Michael by a colleague who had retained him to represent his son on a drug charge. My colleague was impressed by Michael’s ability to negotiate with the DA and obtain an extremely positive outcome considering the circumstances.

    When I met Michael for an initial consultation, I was concerned that my situation might be outside his area of expertise; however, I learned that prior to being an attorney Michael had spent many years working in accounting, financial institutions and insurance. I was impressed with his grasp of the practical aspects of contracts, lending and workout situations.

    I engaged Michael to conduct a thorough review of the company’s loan agreements and covenants and meet with the company’s accountant to gain a complete understanding of the overall financial situation. Michael then provided me a detail plan to approach the company’s creditors. As a result of Michael’s recommendations the company was able to obtain modifications to most of the loans, buy the time needed to collect the delayed payments and avoid litigation.

    A pleasant surprise to me was that although Michael’s hourly fees are comparable to the fees of other attorney’s I have engaged, I sensed that he was careful to work efficiently to keep the hours down.

    I would without hesitation recommend Michael based both on my experience in the loan workout area and my colleague’s experience in the criminal defense of his son.

  7. Excellent Work!

    Posted by RA,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.

    My wife was facing a serious theft charge and Michael Guisti handled the case superbly! We were impressed with his professionalism and his knowledge was valuable in the favorable outcome. Excellent work! Very good lawyer.

  8. Mr. Guisti is the best lawyer

    Posted by Lynn, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Federal Crime matter.

    I have been charge with Federal count, I then hired Mr. Guisti to represent with me at the court. I'm very happy with Mr. Guisti, he always there when I have questions and explain details what I need to do.

    Thank you so much for all the things you have done for me.

  9. Avoid Mr, Guisti at all cost

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Mr. Guisti to represent my criminal case. He was extremely rude and belligerent throughout the ordeal so I had to fire him and hire another attorney. Mr. Guisti is not recommended.

    1. Michael L Guisti

      Michael L Guisti

      Lawyer Comment:

      I avoid responding to reviews because I don't like to sound petty. However, this review is just not true. A conflict developed which impaired my ability to represent this client. I made a motion to be relieved as counsel of record. The court granted my motion and appointed the public defender. This client ended up pleading guilty through the public defender. Never hired another attorney.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  10. job well done

    Posted by david, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Guisti.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr Guisti was exceedingly helpful in dealing with my 34 year old son's drug /legal issues... he was wonderful...he communicated with us in a timely fashion...he listened to our concerns and was able to arrange time for rehab and probation as desired to help our son....very affordable and reasonable.....I could not recommend anyone more highly....and we live in Oklahoma and have never met in person....we were lucky to have hired him