Alan Castillo’s Reviews

Alan Castillo

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI defense

    Posted by walter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I am a retired attorney. Alan Castillo represented my wife in a DUI case that was complicated by our defense based upon a mistake of fact. The Orange County DA was extremely aggressive and not willing to even discuss a negotiated plea. Alan's effectiveness with the judge in a discussion between the judge, Alan and the DA was described by the judge as "robust" and resulted in the judge changing his view of the case and granting us the mistake of fact defense. Not long after that, for a variety of reasons that did not put the DA in good stead with the judge, the DA agreed to drop the DUI charge and change it to a reckless driving charge to which we agreed to plead guilty. Alan's effectiveness as an advocate carried the day and he was even complimented by the judge for his advocacy at the conclusion of the case. During my legal career which spanned some 30+ years, I served as the general
    counsel to a multi-national company and worked with trial and business lawyers around the world . I can say that Alan Castillo is a terrific advocate and works extremely hard for the client's interests. My wife and I recommend him highly.

  2. Alan Castillo -- A tremendous advocate

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I found Alan during a very difficult time in my life after a DUI arrest. It was a legitimate turning point in my life as I was ready for a change. I knew my family was depending on me to get my life straight but I was facing a significant amount of legal trouble. Alan was amazing through the entire process. His knowledge and experience was evident immediately and he helped my wife and me navigate the extensive legal process. I had a great deal of anxiety because of the situation I had placed myself in. Looking back, I know that Alan was the best person to help me through this journey from a legal perspective. He handled everything like a true professional and I am glad he was in my corner. I think he truly cared about me as a client and a person.

    I have 25 months sober now and as I look back on the entire experience I am thankful Alan handled my case. I highly recommend him to anyone facing a similar situation.

  3. Recommend Without Hesitation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I recommend Alan without hesitation. He is knowledgeable, caring, and competent. Without hiring Alan and the rest of the team at Barry T Simons, I would have been stuck with a DUI charge on my record. I have no doubt in my mind that it was Alan's perseverance with my case that led to a lesser conviction. It took over a year for my case to finally be settled. Throughout this difficult time Alan always kept me informed and I felt as though I could always call if I had questions. He consistently explained things well and was clear about my options. He was very helpful at all times and gave sound advice. I am extremely happy with my decision to hire Alan.

  4. Bad thing happen to good people

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am anonymously writing this review to enlighten you on the spectacular experience I had while going through a very traumatic time last year. I unfortunately was arrested for a second DUI while coming home from a Christmas party. I am employed as a healthcare professional and having this conviction on my record would have heavily encroached on my ability to practice due to the proposed ramifications imposed on me by my licensing board. I was referred to Alan, Barry, and Peter from a colleague and felt immediately comforted when I walked in their office (as compared to the prior 2 attorneys I had interviewed). Alan quickly broke down my options in my case and gave me tangible potential outcomes that gave me solace from the multitude of scenarios I had created in my own mind. Over the year I was working with Alan, I was witness to the diligence Alan put forth towards not only my case but managing the collateral damage created by dealing with my licensing board. Alan and his associates were, through a collaborative effort, able to deliver the optimal result in my case. The one thing I would like to highlight is the fact that when you hire Alan, you are not only employing one attorney, you are hiring an entire team of lawyers who specialize in this specific type of scenario. During the process of dealing with my case, I by chance, came across an article written in the OC Metro rating the top law firms in Orange County and was comforted to see Alan’s firm listed in the top 5. When I finally had to appear in court, I was able to observe how respected Alan is within the judicial system. The Judge, DA, and bailiffs all referred to him by his first name and allowed him to freely navigate through the judicial process unhindered( another attorney was also present during the closure of my case and was not nearly treated in the same fashion!). After my case was closed, Alan continued with the management of correspondence with my licensing board to create closure to this extremely stressful time in my life that nearly ended my career and marriage. I am indebted to Alan’s service and will never forget his compassion in my time of need. I cannot express how imperative it is to get the right attorney during a situation like this that can change the course of your life.

  5. DILIGENCE AND HONESTY

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan treated me with absolute respect, which made my legal "experience" easier that it would have otherwise been. He was personable, always returned phone calls and supported me when I was upset. Alan was also very determined to see me have the best resolution for a case of my type. He kept me informed every step of the way, which helped lower my anxiety. Alan is also a very candid individual, and from the very first meeting, made it easier for me to understand my rights. He never made promises he could not keep and in fact recommended and managed significant outcome benefits for me. Along with his other exceptional personal and professional qualities, Alan's pragmatic intelligence and knowledge of legal minutiae make him a defense attorney with whom it is easy to feel safe.

  6. Saved me from jail

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan and the team at Barry Simons office helped me stay out of jail by taking preemptive action. I kept my job, got my license back in record time, was always kept in the loop of what was happening by the amazing staff, and was treated with kindness and professionalism at every step. He knows his stuff, and is trusted by anyone in the legal circle of your DUI dealings (judges, bailiffs, etc.) My sisters friend who is an attorney actually recommended this office to me based on his friend, who is an attorney also, actually used them. I had already made my deposit so this was a huge relief when I heard this. They aren't the cheapest in the land, but if you want your best possible result and peace of mind, your money goes a loooong way here.

  7. Criminal Defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Using Alan Castillo, Esq., of the Law Offices of Barry T. Simon, has been a life saving experience for me. I have been a drug addict since 17. I am now 39 years old. I have been clean since 2005, when I had a 3 month relapse that ended my marriage and landed me behind bars.
    Since I've been out, I have achieved a successful career in the fitness industry that has changed my life. However, I did get into a legal situation with my motorcycle that threatened my career and success. Alan Castillo and his staff at Barry T. Simon have helped save my career by representing me to an incredible standard. I am eternally grateful to them and their services, and I would highly recommend them to anyone seeking criminal representation. They are an incredible team of legal staff. Thank you, Alan Castillo, Esq. You are a wonderfully accomplished attorney.

  8. Best Lawyers!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Recently, I had the traumatic experience of being pulled over and charged with a DUI. I knew I had had one drink several hours earlier, but truly felt ay affects were completely gone. After enduring the rudeness of the accruing officer, several hours in a holding cell, my license being temporally suspended and the real possibility of losing my job and future career in the educational field, I was scared, frustrated and didn’t know what to do. A friend recommended Barry Simons Law Firm in Laguna Beach.

    From the moment I walked thru the door, they seemed to understand exactly how I felt and what I had been thru. The receptionist gave me a warm welcome EVERY TIME and made me feel comfortable. Alan Castillo was diligent in presenting my case and the inaccuracies of the officer’s report in court. Everyone in the office worked so well together for my best interest. In the end, the judge was able to understand that a ‘wet and reckless’ charge was more reasonable then the DUI charge.

    During this time, while on a temporary driver’s license, another officer pulled me over for crossing a solid line to an offramp. The moment she saw the temporary license I had just received from the DMV, she began treating me like a criminal, accusing me of driving on a suspended license, would not allow me to drive my car and threatened me with jail and a $500 fine. As soon as I could, I called my lawers and explained the incident. They were appalled at the attitude and assumptions of the police officer. They immediately filed arguments with the court and were able to get these charges completely dropped.

    I cannot say enough about the professionalism, compassion and dedication of Alan Castillo and the whole staff at Barry Simons Law Firm. They basically gave me back my future.

  9. Terrific, hard-working and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Castillo did a brilliant job dealing with a difficult DUI-related case. This was a misdemeanor situation that had gotten blown out of proportion due to an egotistical judge. Mr. Castillo developed a great strategy and used his knowledge of the Superior Court operations to get the case handled fairly. All the while he kept us informed and showed concern. His advice was comforting and he was realistic in making us understand possible outcomes. His assessments were accurate and his skill and knowledge of the law resulted in a very favorable conclusion. I strongly recommend Mr. Castillo to others in need of a criminal defense attorney.

  10. A life saver

    Posted by Chris, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Castillo.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan was a beacon of hope in what was, potentially, a very dark situation. Though not his area of expertise, we were so impressed with his attitude, skill and professionalism, that we asked him to take our case anyway. Alan did not disappoint. He was a champion of justice for us, in what was a very unjust situation. His communication was excellent, he made us feel protected and ultimately, vindicated. He always had time to answer our questions and was patient with us, when we got anxious about our situation. We ended up winning our case and were only required to show up to court on one day. Alan represented us several times in our absence.

    We liked Alan so much, that even when having an issue in Georgia with our automobile Title, we called Alan. Again, he showed his versatility and overall knowledge of the law and was prepared to assist us again. Luckily, we caught a break and did not need to go to court.

    In short, Alan is a hero in our book. He's just the right mix of gentle, understanding advocate and no BS, hard nosed butt kicker. I would recommend Alan for any legal issues you might have.

    Thanks Alan!