Michael Jon Fremont’s Reviews

Michael Jon Fremont

Average Rating

Based on 92 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DO NOT HIRE THIS LAWYER!!!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Let me start by saying I'm not new to the legal world. I have had my fair share of drinking related issues. That being said Mr. Fremont is by far the absolutely worst DUI attorney I have ever retained. We set up a meeting in his San Diego office that he only uses to meet with clients. After we went over my charges which was my 4th DUI in a 10 year span, 3 of which were in another state. When he informed me that CA goes back 10 years of DUI's and my current one would be a felony I began to sweat. He looked me straight in the eyes and said I had a good case and he was so excited to defend a case like mine because the some laws had just changed of the way the police department took my blood. I was not up to date of CA DUI laws and how strict they are but Mr. Fremont looked me square in the eyes again and insured me that I would not be looking at jail time so I hired him right on the spot. This is where my confidence in him ends, the first 3 times I had court he didn't even know who I was so id have to approach him. He would tell me everything is going to be ok and not to worry. Well I have no choice to worry seeing how my job and life were on the line. As time and court appearances went on things got worse and worse. He lost every single motion hearing we took before the judge and manage to piss off the DA and judge on a regular basis. The court reporter had to ask him to speak up almost every time we were in court and was quite rude when making statements to the judge. All this happening while he's assuring me this isn't a jail case and I wont be going to jail. After losing all the motions we have one last chance by having a bench trial on my prior DUI's in another state. Well we go before a judge that doesn't hear a lot of cases like mine so she was a little lost herself. Mr. Fremont had his worst performance at my bench trial, he argued against a fresh out of law school DA and was embarrassed. Once I was found guilty on felony DUI, the judge increased my bail from 2500 to 50k, Mr. Fremont looked at me and said "oh wait I didn't know your bail was that low". I told him that he was my attorney and those were facts he was suppose to know. So off to jail I go for 30 days until my sentencing hearing. Mr. Fremont at this point begins to tell my girlfriend and my boss that I may be looking at serious time. Umm why would he say that when he's been telling me throughout this process not to worry jail wouldn't be on the table? So I go into my sentencing hearing completely blind and not knowing what to expect. At my hearing he hands me a copy of the probation report and that they are recommending 365 days in custody and 3 years on probation with my custody to serve half of the 365 in a work release program. So the hearing begins and right from the start Mr. Fremont isn't prepared. The DA completely embarrasses Mr. Fremont and made me look like a monster, everything I asked Mr. Fremont to speak on in my behalf he literally told me to shut up or I was going to prison. I have recently started looking for attorneys to maybe fight an appeal or a sentence reduction, every single attorney I have talked to laughed when I said who my attorney was. If that's not a warning sign I don't know what is.

    1. Michael Jon Fremont

      Michael Fremont

      Lawyer Comment:

      The initial offer on this case was 18 months state prison This client was released into work furlough and is not spending time in jail, This was a very high alcohol level with other factors bad factors and 3 prior DUI all with high alcohol levels. I do not agree with the rendition of facts or preparedness. I made two motions to declare three out of state priors invalid. One was a bench trial on the priors. These are difficult to win with good facts. I made a motion to exclude the blood results again another difficult motion that most attorneys would not even consider making in an attempt to exclude blood evidence and at least put the case in a position to negotiate a lower sentence and charges . It is common for bail to be increased upon conviction pending sentencing. Look at the 80 or so attorney endorsements and decide if I am a respected . I doubt that any attorney laughed when my name was mentioned

      Posted 5 days ago. Flag

    2. Michael Jon Fremont

      Michael Fremont

      Lawyer Comment:

      Out of 92 reviews I have only 4 negative ones! Most of the information posted by this former client is false and misleading and is not supported by the record. It should be noted THAT HE IS NOT IN CUSTODY BECAUSE OF MY EFFORTS WITH 4 DUI'S. THE LAST ONE A FELONY.

      Posted 3 days ago. Flag

  2. Successfully Defended Me Against First & Second DUI Charges and Got My Record Clean and Expunged

    Posted by Chris, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot speak highly enough of Mr. Michael Fremont, he is an excellent professional lawyer ; I would recommend him for any person having legal issues with DUI . Over the years he has represented me on two DUl cases ; and recently getting my DUI criminal record cleaned and expunged . I got my first DUI back in 2006 unfortunately it was more than just a straight forward DUI case, with complicating factors. Michael Fremont did good work in getting my charges significantly reduced, guiding me through the DUI process and keeping life on track. With my second DUI in 2010 it was a very unfortunate low BAC incident . However through the skill and advice of Mr. Fremont we able to get the second DUI case totally dismissed and all charges dropped ; I am incredibly grateful for this. Very recently I had the requirement to prove that my criminal record was clean for professional reasons. Mr. Fremont did great and detailed work in preparing the petition for dismissal, and getting the 2006 DUI charge expunged and dismissed totally . Over the years I have had to deal with a number lawyers , Mr. Fremont is one of the very best ; I highly recommend his legal practice.

  3. Michael Jon Fremont.

    Posted by Jackie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    This man saved my life and helped to set me free. The path I took leading me to Mr. Fremont, was one of desperation. Of course, there is never a reasonable discussion regarding the deadly decision to drink and then operate a motor vehicle. Never. Certainly, when you choose to repeat this three more times, unreasonable. I was desperate for help prior to the many arrests within a short amount of time. Tragically, I led myself down into the darkest abyss in order to find the first light in helping to save my life. I clicked on AVVO, and there he was. Michael Jon Fremont.
    Naturally, I read about him. I looked into his eyes, and knew.
    I called him concerning one DUI. We met and he agreed to take me on. He agreed to take on the other three, that quickly followed, as well. This lengthy process was the most arduous, challenging, mentally tortuous as well as frightening. This was also the beginning of the process of learning my life was about to be saved. Mr. Fremont provides you with the gratification of sitting down next to him as he gets to work. Mr. Fremont somehow kept me from jail. The Judge I suppose, agreed with Mr. Fremont to allow me the SCRAM monitor. His Honor declared, I attend AA meetings daily. There, I found my Higher Power and wonderful people who shared their love and hope. I was free. I was able to go home to my family. I was able to meet Mr. Fremont at the court on my own fruition. I was honored to sit next to him and listen as he shared his intellectual wealth and brilliant mind with all that chose to listen. He had my full attention as well as the one arresting officer, who seemed unable to sit still in his chair. Mr. Fremont worked valiantly in an attempt to have one of the arrests dismissed, for this would have kept me from a felony conviction. Under the circumstances, it was as though I had been accepted into the most elite college with the degree of brilliance afforded to me by Mr. Fremont. Mr. Fremont calmly reassured me that things would be OK, when naturally I thought things could not be. Four arrests meant the end of the world. Little did I know.
    Mr. Fremont had his Honor agree to keep me from jail. His Honor agreed with Mr. Fremont to have me wear the SCRAM anklet which allowed me AA, which in turn allowed me to finally properly introduce myself to God, who Blessed me with his Love and presence in the courtroom, and also Blessed Mr. Fremont. Mr. Fremont then blessed me during the final hearing with telling me there would be no felony conviction, no jail time. I walked from the courtroom first to find a corner to quietly let the emotions flow. Mr. Fremont joined me and we sat on a bench to have a chat.
    So much was coursing through my mind, and yet, this man once again rewarded me with his sense of humor which instantly calmed my heart. This man introduced me to his colleagues by saying I was a success story. Me? Mr. Fremont provided me his success.
    If you find yourself in the frightening besides terrifying position of a DUI arrest, I can provide you a referral. If like me, your life depends upon your choice, I can spell his name for you.
    Michael Jon Fremont.

    Mr. Fremont literally saved my life. I could not stop drinking, therefore, Mr. Fremont sent me to the place that I needed to be. Instantaneously, God came to me, restored my sanity and hope.
    Had I gone off to jail, I would have lost my job, my home, my family, and certainly my life.

    Thank You for the privilege of you, Mr. Fremont.
    You are the success story and I greatly appreciate your heart.
    You saved mine.

  4. Michael Fremont won my case and saved my license...and we never even met in person.

    Posted by Dane, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I live in Northern California and was in San Diego for an event. I was arrested for a DUI and given a temporary license. I was just in San Diego vacationing and didn't have time to run back and forth between Northern and Southern California preparing for the case and attending court hearings. I contacted Mr. Fremont and he made all the court appearances, kept me informed on the progress of the case and answered all my questions. He was able to get my DUI dismissed and the DMV did not suspend my license. We communicated by phone and email. I especially appreciated having our email communications available to keep track of the case.

    I haven’t needed the services of many attorneys, but this gentleman put me at ease and I was comfortable trusting him. Because of his representation I was able to continue working and living my life while my case progressed through the court system. I recommend Mr. Fremont to anyone charged with a DUI in San Diego!

  5. LIFESAVER IS CORRECT!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A few months ago I found this site when my life turned upside down. I was charged with my first and only DUI. I was confused, scared and hopeless. I read through hundreds of reviews on this site trying to find a hope. I was very skeptical reading positive reviews thinking they must have been fake. And here I am writing a review myself, so may be this will help someone else who is in a similar situation now. I didn't know if hiring an attorney was worth it, many people mentioned that they had the same outcome the would have without a lawyer and should have spent the money on fines instead. But I knew that if I didn't hire one, I would always be wondering what if I had a chance. After calling a few law firms and having a few free consultations, I hired Michael. Why? Besides the great reviews here on AVVO and many years of experience, I liked that he didn't try to push me to sign anything when I met him. He didn't use scare tactics like some others did. I met him in his Mission Valley office, he just listened to me, he didn't overpromise but he sure did deliver. My charges were dismissed, yes dismissed, not reduced but gone. The guy knows his stuff, that's all I can say. If you are in a same situation like I was, give him a call, your life might just turn around just like mine did. On behalf of myself and my family, I thank you Michael Fremont.

  6. Revised review

    Posted by Susan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am reposting my review because I did not understand about clicking on the stars. I stand by my previous review. He is in fact an excellent lawyer.
    Michael Fremont represented my son 10 years ago in San Diego and did a fine job. The details of that case were needed for another court appearance, this time on the east coast. I contacted Mr. Fremont, who kindly took time to research and provide the details. I am impressed that he was willing to help a family living far away after such a long time. He's not only an excellent lawyer, he's a mensch (a man of honor, a caring human being. Used on both coasts).

  7. Lifesaver

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Fremont is great. I found out recently that a warrant had been issued from a DUI I had 5 years ago. Because I had moved, I never received a letter from the court and did not know of the warrant. Due to personal circumstances I missed completing the program given to me by the court at the time and that is why the warrant was issued. Additionally because my blood/alcohol level (.18) was so high, it would have been a felony. Not only was Mr. Fremont able to negotiate my charges down to a wet reckless, he also was able to convince the court to withdraw the warrant and release me from having to complete the program due to the length of time that had gone by. Mr. Fremont is a lifesaver. Had I not found out about the warrant issued, if I had been pulled over for something even as a minor as light out, I would have been immediately arrested and taken to jail for the unknown warrant. I also did not have to pay any fines or money related to this warrant/issue. I tried another attorney before calling him and was told I would probably have to re-enroll in the program, pay more fines and be put on probation for another 3 years. At the referral by another friend, I called Mr. Fremont and he was able to handle the issues with no further costs. I would definitely recommend him.

  8. Not all DUI cases are high priority to Mr. Fremont

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Fremont due to his reviews on Avvo. There are only 3 or 4 negative reviews out of 84. However, Mr. Fremont doesn’t direct clients to Avvo unless they’ve had a good experience. I now realize that with 26 yrs of experience and only 84 reviews on a relatively new site, there are probably a lot of negative experiences that we don’t know about. In my case Mr. Fremont is tremendously overrated.

    I had to plead guilty to a DUI. Looking back, I feel that I paid Fremont solely to make appearances. However, ANY lawyer does that. Aside from that one ‘positive’ thing, I felt like Mr. Fremont held me as a low priority and believed he had more important things going on.

    He never seemed well informed with my case If he did make any attempts at making any resolutions with the prosecutor/DA, I was not aware of them because he didn’t keep me informed. I would give him a negative star if I could when it comes to communication. If you are used to DUIs because you rack them up, maybe this is your lawyer. If you are scared and stressed and need a lawyer to talk to you about the process and what is happening, Mr. Fremont should be the last lawyer you should get. In my case, he was likely not even looking at my paperwork unless he HAD to, so there’s nothing to inform me about if he is ignoring my case.

    If you write him an email or a text, he will respond with a snippy short message. Many times I would email asking for an update and he’d respond saying he would call later or tomorrow but the next day would come and go. Here is an entire email he sent me: “Yes u can. Willbsoeak eithbu tomorrow”. An average response, actually. He also called me ‘Alan’ instead of ‘Aaron’ over the eight month period which made me know that he wasn’t very informed. I will say though in his defense that I am not aware of what preparation he may have done – maybe he researched my case diligently every night and spent every waking hour on it - I highly doubt it.

    My preliminary hearing was a crucial point in my case - where the arresting officer made his testimony. Instead of concentrating during the hearing, Mr. Fremont was reading emails on his laptop from other clients in the middle of the hearing. I was sitting next to him and saw his screen, so I’m not making this up. He was on his Gmail account scrolling through unread emails and responding to them. He made a motion to get one of my breath tests thrown out – which was knocked down – and also questioned the cause the officer had to pull me over. After that, he seemed to have nothing left and also seemed uninterested in the actual hearing going on in front of him. The DA on the other hand, was a fresh grad out of Stanford who was trying to win this case like his life depended on it. When the DA was making his case, Fremont was still reading his emails and barely paying attention.

    Fremont’s actions during this hearing made me lose all confidence in him. It was then that I knew I was going to end up with a DUI. I could tell he didn’t care whether I got a DUI or not and that he wasn’t going to pull any moves with the DA to make a deal. I am seeing all these reviews about how people received misdemeanors instead of felonies, or wet/reckeless instead of DUI, but Fremont never attempted to even talk about that to me or to anyone involved in my case.

    If you get an initial impression that Fremont cares about you, you could give him a shot and maybe you’ll be in the majority. If he seems like he wants to talk on the phone to other clients and acts like you are not important, go with another lawyer.

    1. Michael Jon Fremont

      Michael Fremont

      Lawyer Comment:

      In this case the client had a high blood alcohol level. I MADE 9 COURT APPERANCES WHICH INCLUDED THREE MOTION DATES! I had numerous discussions with the DA regarding the case. Look at all the comments and reviews. I pride myself in handling ALL my cases personally. I do not check emails while in court with clients while conducting a hearing. I do have my computer to check law and the arrest sight and other documents for the case On all my cases I go the extra step to get the best resolution possible. I always return phone calls and text messages. All my clients have my office and cell phone numbers. Filling the motions were in fact "MOVES" to attempt to put the case in a better posture for a deal. when a client does not want to go to trial I take other measures to resolve the case without a DUI conviction. I am sorry that this client was disappointed with the outcome.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  9. After 10 years, Michael Fremont came through again - long distance.

    Posted by Susan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael Fremont represented my son 10 years ago in San Diego and did a fine job. The details of that case were needed for another court appearance, this time on the east coast. I contacted Mr. Fremont, who kindly took time to research and provide the details. I am impressed that he was willing to help a family living far away after such a long time. He's not only an excellent lawyer, he's a mensch (a man of honor, a caring human being. Used on both coasts).

    1. Michael Jon Fremont

      Michael Fremont

      Lawyer Comment:

      I believe that Susan just didn't fill in the rating as her comments are very positive. The family was happy with my representation of their son at the time and I immediately found her son's old court case in San Diego and relayed the information to his new attorney in New York.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  10. I recommend Michael J Fremont

    Posted by Andre, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you're ever charged with a DUI in Southern California, I recommend hiring Michael J. Fremont to represent you. He is very experienced in this area and has ample knowledge about it. He knows how to attack the state's case from every angle, using all resources at his disposal to get his client the best deal possible. I was charged with two consecutive DUIs and Mr. Fremont was able to get the first one dismissed. On the second one, I received probation. I'm grateful for the way he handled my situation, especially the first case. This attorney is very trustworthy and appears very comfortable and confident in a courtroom. He walks in there and talks to everybody as though he's just entered his own living room. Mr. Fremont also cares about the well-being of his clients beyond the courtroom. He is almost always available to answer any questions about your case and knows what he is doing.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

760-635-0640