Michael Jon Fremont’s Reviews

Michael Jon Fremont

Average Rating

Based on 89 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Michael Fremont won my case and saved my license...and we never even met in person.

    Posted by Dane, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I live in Northern California and was in San Diego for an event. I was arrested for a DUI and given a temporary license. I was just in San Diego vacationing and didn't have time to run back and forth between Northern and Southern California preparing for the case and attending court hearings. I contacted Mr. Fremont and he made all the court appearances, kept me informed on the progress of the case and answered all my questions. He was able to get my DUI dismissed and the DMV did not suspend my license. We communicated by phone and email. I especially appreciated having our email communications available to keep track of the case.

    I haven’t needed the services of many attorneys, but this gentleman put me at ease and I was comfortable trusting him. Because of his representation I was able to continue working and living my life while my case progressed through the court system. I recommend Mr. Fremont to anyone charged with a DUI in San Diego!

  2. LIFESAVER IS CORRECT!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A few months ago I found this site when my life turned upside down. I was charged with my first and only DUI. I was confused, scared and hopeless. I read through hundreds of reviews on this site trying to find a hope. I was very skeptical reading positive reviews thinking they must have been fake. And here I am writing a review myself, so may be this will help someone else who is in a similar situation now. I didn't know if hiring an attorney was worth it, many people mentioned that they had the same outcome the would have without a lawyer and should have spent the money on fines instead. But I knew that if I didn't hire one, I would always be wondering what if I had a chance. After calling a few law firms and having a few free consultations, I hired Michael. Why? Besides the great reviews here on AVVO and many years of experience, I liked that he didn't try to push me to sign anything when I met him. He didn't use scare tactics like some others did. I met him in his Mission Valley office, he just listened to me, he didn't overpromise but he sure did deliver. My charges were dismissed, yes dismissed, not reduced but gone. The guy knows his stuff, that's all I can say. If you are in a same situation like I was, give him a call, your life might just turn around just like mine did. On behalf of myself and my family, I thank you Michael Fremont.

  3. Revised review

    Posted by Susan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am reposting my review because I did not understand about clicking on the stars. I stand by my previous review. He is in fact an excellent lawyer.
    Michael Fremont represented my son 10 years ago in San Diego and did a fine job. The details of that case were needed for another court appearance, this time on the east coast. I contacted Mr. Fremont, who kindly took time to research and provide the details. I am impressed that he was willing to help a family living far away after such a long time. He's not only an excellent lawyer, he's a mensch (a man of honor, a caring human being. Used on both coasts).

  4. Lifesaver

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael < 1 month ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Fremont is great. I found out recently that a warrant had been issued from a DUI I had 5 years ago. Because I had moved, I never received a letter from the court and did not know of the warrant. Due to personal circumstances I missed completing the program given to me by the court at the time and that is why the warrant was issued. Additionally because my blood/alcohol level (.18) was so high, it would have been a felony. Not only was Mr. Fremont able to negotiate my charges down to a wet reckless, he also was able to convince the court to withdraw the warrant and release me from having to complete the program due to the length of time that had gone by. Mr. Fremont is a lifesaver. Had I not found out about the warrant issued, if I had been pulled over for something even as a minor as light out, I would have been immediately arrested and taken to jail for the unknown warrant. I also did not have to pay any fines or money related to this warrant/issue. I tried another attorney before calling him and was told I would probably have to re-enroll in the program, pay more fines and be put on probation for another 3 years. At the referral by another friend, I called Mr. Fremont and he was able to handle the issues with no further costs. I would definitely recommend him.

  5. Not all DUI cases are high priority to Mr. Fremont

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Fremont due to his reviews on Avvo. There are only 3 or 4 negative reviews out of 84. However, Mr. Fremont doesn’t direct clients to Avvo unless they’ve had a good experience. I now realize that with 26 yrs of experience and only 84 reviews on a relatively new site, there are probably a lot of negative experiences that we don’t know about. In my case Mr. Fremont is tremendously overrated.

    I had to plead guilty to a DUI. Looking back, I feel that I paid Fremont solely to make appearances. However, ANY lawyer does that. Aside from that one ‘positive’ thing, I felt like Mr. Fremont held me as a low priority and believed he had more important things going on.

    He never seemed well informed with my case If he did make any attempts at making any resolutions with the prosecutor/DA, I was not aware of them because he didn’t keep me informed. I would give him a negative star if I could when it comes to communication. If you are used to DUIs because you rack them up, maybe this is your lawyer. If you are scared and stressed and need a lawyer to talk to you about the process and what is happening, Mr. Fremont should be the last lawyer you should get. In my case, he was likely not even looking at my paperwork unless he HAD to, so there’s nothing to inform me about if he is ignoring my case.

    If you write him an email or a text, he will respond with a snippy short message. Many times I would email asking for an update and he’d respond saying he would call later or tomorrow but the next day would come and go. Here is an entire email he sent me: “Yes u can. Willbsoeak eithbu tomorrow”. An average response, actually. He also called me ‘Alan’ instead of ‘Aaron’ over the eight month period which made me know that he wasn’t very informed. I will say though in his defense that I am not aware of what preparation he may have done – maybe he researched my case diligently every night and spent every waking hour on it - I highly doubt it.

    My preliminary hearing was a crucial point in my case - where the arresting officer made his testimony. Instead of concentrating during the hearing, Mr. Fremont was reading emails on his laptop from other clients in the middle of the hearing. I was sitting next to him and saw his screen, so I’m not making this up. He was on his Gmail account scrolling through unread emails and responding to them. He made a motion to get one of my breath tests thrown out – which was knocked down – and also questioned the cause the officer had to pull me over. After that, he seemed to have nothing left and also seemed uninterested in the actual hearing going on in front of him. The DA on the other hand, was a fresh grad out of Stanford who was trying to win this case like his life depended on it. When the DA was making his case, Fremont was still reading his emails and barely paying attention.

    Fremont’s actions during this hearing made me lose all confidence in him. It was then that I knew I was going to end up with a DUI. I could tell he didn’t care whether I got a DUI or not and that he wasn’t going to pull any moves with the DA to make a deal. I am seeing all these reviews about how people received misdemeanors instead of felonies, or wet/reckeless instead of DUI, but Fremont never attempted to even talk about that to me or to anyone involved in my case.

    If you get an initial impression that Fremont cares about you, you could give him a shot and maybe you’ll be in the majority. If he seems like he wants to talk on the phone to other clients and acts like you are not important, go with another lawyer.

    1. Michael Jon Fremont

      Michael Fremont

      Lawyer Comment:

      In this case the client had a high blood alcohol level. I MADE 9 COURT APPERANCES WHICH INCLUDED THREE MOTION DATES! I had numerous discussions with the DA regarding the case. Look at all the comments and reviews. I pride myself in handling ALL my cases personally. I do not check emails while in court with clients while conducting a hearing. I do have my computer to check law and the arrest sight and other documents for the case On all my cases I go the extra step to get the best resolution possible. I always return phone calls and text messages. All my clients have my office and cell phone numbers. Filling the motions were in fact "MOVES" to attempt to put the case in a better posture for a deal. when a client does not want to go to trial I take other measures to resolve the case without a DUI conviction. I am sorry that this client was disappointed with the outcome.

      Posted 8 days ago. Flag

  6. After 10 years, Michael Fremont came through again - long distance.

    Posted by Susan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael Fremont represented my son 10 years ago in San Diego and did a fine job. The details of that case were needed for another court appearance, this time on the east coast. I contacted Mr. Fremont, who kindly took time to research and provide the details. I am impressed that he was willing to help a family living far away after such a long time. He's not only an excellent lawyer, he's a mensch (a man of honor, a caring human being. Used on both coasts).

    1. Michael Jon Fremont

      Michael Fremont

      Lawyer Comment:

      I believe that Susan just didn't fill in the rating as her comments are very positive. The family was happy with my representation of their son at the time and I immediately found her son's old court case in San Diego and relayed the information to his new attorney in New York.

      Posted 10 days ago. Flag

  7. I recommend Michael J Fremont

    Posted by Andre, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you're ever charged with a DUI in Southern California, I recommend hiring Michael J. Fremont to represent you. He is very experienced in this area and has ample knowledge about it. He knows how to attack the state's case from every angle, using all resources at his disposal to get his client the best deal possible. I was charged with two consecutive DUIs and Mr. Fremont was able to get the first one dismissed. On the second one, I received probation. I'm grateful for the way he handled my situation, especially the first case. This attorney is very trustworthy and appears very comfortable and confident in a courtroom. He walks in there and talks to everybody as though he's just entered his own living room. Mr. Fremont also cares about the well-being of his clients beyond the courtroom. He is almost always available to answer any questions about your case and knows what he is doing.

  8. 5YRS OF SUPERB REPRESENTATION

    Posted by RAFAEL, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    ATTORNEY MICHAEL J. FREMONT IS SOMEONE YOU NEED IN YOUR CORNER. MIKE FIRST REPRESENTED ME OVER 5 YRS AGO. I WAS GIVEN A DUI AND I HIRED AN ATTORNEY THAT ONLY MADE MATTERS WORSE FOR ME. MIKE TOOK OVER THE CASE AND AT OUR FIRST COURT APPOINTMENT IT WAS APPARENT THAT MIKE WAS THE REAL DEAL. HIS RAPPORT CAN ONLY BE GAINED FROM YEARS OF EXPERIENCE AND SUCCESS IN THE COURT ROOM.

    MONTHS AGO I WAS PULLED OVER ON WHAT I BELIEVED WAS PROFILING AND WAS BROUGHT IN TO COURT ON A TECHNICALITY FOR THE SAME DUI. EVEN 5 YRS LATER, MIKE CAME TO REPRESENT ME WITH NO HESITATION. EVERYTHING WAS SORTED OUT IN A MATTER OF DAYS AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE WITH MY LIFE AND CAREER.

    EVERYONE WHO HAS A RECENT DUI KNOWS THAT FEELING OF POSSIBLY LOSING THEIR CAREER. MIKE GAVE ME PEACE OF MIND AND HELPED ME EVER STEP OF THE WAY.

    THANKS MIKE. YOU TRULY ARE THE BEST AT WHAT YOU DO.

  9. Professional, Outstanding, Felxible

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Fremont came through for me once again. Even though my DUI charge was reduced to a Dry Reckless out in town the military wanted to tank further action. I cleverly chose a court martial. I believe it was his first. Mr. Fremont jumped right in and started working hand in hand with my military defense attorney. From what i was observed he learned the military side of the law and schooled my military lawyer on DUI law. It was amazing to see that an attorney with such experience can adapt to a totally different environment. Long story short, my case was dismissed! Not only has Mr. Fremont saved me from receiving a DUI conviction out in town he saved my military career.

  10. Best of the Best

    Posted by DUI Client, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Fremont.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    The best of the best. Very happy to have had Michael Fremont represent me on my DUI case. He supported me through this devastating experience, and proved himself to be a well qualified attorney who made the difference and won my case. Very pleased. Excellent representation.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

760-635-0640