Julia Marie Garwood’s Reviews

Julia Marie Garwood

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS FIRM AND RETAIN AT YOUR OWN RISK

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Julia Garwood.

    On Wednesday, January 29, 2014, I had an appointment with Julia Garwood, for a phone consultation at 2:00 p.m. I called her at the appointment time and was told that she was not in the office. The receptionist explained that the attorney would call me back on her cell phone later that same day. Because I understand mistakes do happen, I thought I should be reasonable and give her the chance to see if she actually called me later that day as promised. To date, I still have not received a phone call from the listed attorney. Due to me not being happy with this firm I thought I would send them an email as a common courtesy to let them know that I planned to leave negative reviews for them online (so they wouldn't feel blindsided), but I did so in a very polite way in hopes they may want to reach out to me and make things right. After all, I am a potential client and I would hope customer service would be important to them. After sending the firm the email I did finally receive a phone call back, but it was not focused on customer service at all as I'd hoped. It would not at all have been hard for them to simply apologize and let us put this behind us and move forward. However, one of the paralegals, Larisa, without even a greeting proceeded to jump down my throat with a nasty tone which I found to be very unprofessional. She told me she did not appreciate the aggressive tone in the email I had sent them and was very sarcastic in her remarks saying, "there is such thing as human error, you know." Julia, what kind of office are you running over there? I was surprised Larisa had said my email to them was aggressive because it was anything but. It had to be one of the most polite emails I had ever written someone and I made sure to not use a threatening tone in any way. When I hire an attorney I like to know they can be aggressive on my behalf, but after hearing that this firm considered my polite email to be aggressive that really makes me not want to hire them even more. I want an attorney to represent me who actually has an understanding of what "aggressive" means. On the phone call Larisa stated that the attorney did in fact make several attempts to call me and even left a voice message. I found that to be quite strange because I intentionally kept my phone on and waited for this phone call which never came, nor did the voice mail of course. I asked Larisa if she had checked with Julia regarding her attempts to call me prior to contacting me today and she said she had not because Julia was in court. So my question is... How could Larisa call me without first speaking to Julia to get her facts straight? Did she just assume Julia must have tried to call me? Larisa did not have an answer for that. The paralegal explained that errors happen and that the attorney may have called the wrong phone number? Really? So, Larisa... How did you just happen to find my correct phone number today so you could call me regarding the email I sent you? Is it just a coincidence you happened to find the correct number to contact me at but Julia could not? I find that hard to believe. Also, there were other hypothetical scenarios as well. I do feel that when a potential client sends an email to a professional office with a complaint the attorney herself should make time to contact that client. It was unfortunate that her paralegal called me instead because she lacked first hand knowledge of the facts. In addition, made matters worse. Julia Garwood, I wish your firm only the very best but I no longer have any desire to retain you.

    1. Julia Marie Garwood

      Julia Garwood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I've just read your review and I truly apologize for any negative experience you've had with our firm. We do strive to provide the best customer care possible, and I'm sorry to read about your recent experience. I'll be reaching out to you directly to learn more about the experience you had and to see if there is anything we can do to improve our customer relations with you and for our future potential clients. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, and I hope to speak with you soon regarding your experience.

      Julia

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  2. Garwood Family Law & Mediation

    Posted by Richard, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia 1-3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Family matter.

    Garwood Family Law and Mediation
    I highly recommend Julia Garwood to everyone. Julia has handled my divorce over the past 17 years. Mine has been a complex case and I am pleased with Julia's work. Her compassion and understanding made believe that she took my case personally. Julia was there to guide and counsel; she truly took the time to help me reach decisions that will best address my concerns while helping me not get caught up in the emotional aspect of this process. Julia is a strong advocate of children - always keeping in mind what would be best for them.
    I highly recommend this firm.

  3. The lawyer you can trust

    Posted by P, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia 1-3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Julia got everything done with a great result. I like the fact that she returns phone calls, she cares, and she knows the law right and left. I felt secure when Julia represented me. I highly recommend Julia to anyone. Julia is knowledgeable, trustworthy, and fair lawyer!!!

  4. Garwood Family Law and Mediation

    Posted by Alex, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia 1-3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    If the prospect of divorce looms on the horizon of your life like a dark and storm-portending cloud, please seek for shelter and relief the Julia Garwood Family Law and Mediation Center.

    She and her associate - Janiffer Pearce - are stone-cold experts in all the important ways - knowledge of the law and turning it to your advantage, toughness when it counts, compassion, understanding and building the client's confidence that the ship won't sink while they are at the helm.

    Welcome aboard. You will not regret it.

  5. Knowledge and guidance you can count on

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia more than 3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Garwood and her staff handled my case in a professional and satisfactory manner. We attempted to settle out of court which was my desire, but opposing counsel was very unreasonable and showed very little flexibility. I was extremely pleased with Ms. Garwood's representation of my case in court and actually going to court resulted in a better outcome than I had anticipated. Her knowledge and guidance through this very difficult time along with the support of her staff was comforting. I feel confident that you can trust Ms. Garwood to handle your case with the upmost care and professionalism.

  6. The Law Office and Mediation Center of Julia M. Garwood

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia more than 3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Julia Garwood and the entire staff of her firm provided excellent legal services in a timely and professional manner. They reviewed the facts as presented by me and opposing counsel. They made me aware of the law and previous decisions of the court as they related to my case. The firm worked with opposing counsel to resolve issues before going to court. They brought the case to a sucessful conclusion without me having to return to California.

  7. Was Not Impressed with this Attorney's Judgment

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia more than 3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I consulted this lawyer on a family law matter. She had a phone call with opposing counsel, bought into the story that attorney presented, and then she told me she couldn't help me and that I was probably going to lose custody of my child.

    I went on to represent myself and won the case outright at virtually every turn. I was shocked that Julia would be so shallow as to assume what opposing counsel told her about the case was true, and she caused me a lot of stress by implying I had a weak case, which turned out not to be correct.

  8. An Excellent Attorney Who Gets Results

    Posted by Stephen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia more than 3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Julia Garwood brilliantly presented a complicated legal argument on my behalf at a Family Court hearing in such a convincing manner that we received a favorable ruling beyond our expectations. The ruling put me a good position for a case settlement that met my goals. She made a positive difference in the quality of life for me and my children.

  9. Thankful to have found such a highly knowledgeable and experienced attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia 1-3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My child and I have greatly benefited from Ms. Garwood’s thorough knowledge of family law in addition to her extensive experience. She is very reasonable and attempts to settle matters with opposing counsel out of the courtroom, which is always my first choice. However, when that is not a possibility and we do have to go to court I could not be happier that she is my attorney and not opposing counsel. She is a highly knowledgeable attorney and always well prepared in court, thus ensuring the best possible outcome for me and my family. I highly recommend Ms. Garwood.

  10. Highly Reconmended

    Posted by Ron, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Julia Garwood.
    • I hired Julia 1-3 years ago.
    • Julia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I retained Julia to represent me in my divorce and am very thankful I did. She came highly recommended by my business attorney. Over the course of my divorce, there were times when I was frustrated by the process and the many emotional factors. But, Julia told me to stay the course, and do not react emotionally, and because of that good advise, , things have settled down and I feel that both my wife and I will be able to complete our divorce and begin to move forward with our lives. Julia’s office is dedicated, organized and hardworking. , the staff has been focussed on keeping my interest in mind as the first priority, and guiding me through this long and arduous process. I highly recommend this office. I trust Julia Garwood .