Russell Sheridan Babcock’s Reviews

Russell Sheridan Babcock

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. BEST LAWYER IN SAN DIEGO CALIFORNIA

    Posted by YADIRA, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 1-6 months ago.
    • Russell handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I LIVE IN CHICAGO MY SON WAS CAUGHT WITH DRUGS IN CALIFORNIA ON HIS FIRST COURT JUDGE SAID HE WAS LOOKING AT 30 YRS IN PRISON. DESPERATELY LOOKING ON GOOGLE FOR A LAWYER IN CALIFORNIA. I CALLED 3-4 LAWYERS LEFT MESSAGES WHEN I CALLED RUSSELL I WAS SO HAPPY TO ACTUALLY SPEAK TO SOMEONE OVER THE PHONE. RUSSEL & RYAN HELPED ME WITH MY SONS CASE THEY TREATED ME AS WE WERE FAMILY, ALWAYS RETURNED MY CALLS, E-MAILS & TEXT MESSAGES. I AM SO GREATFUL WITH THEIR HARD WORK THANKS TO RUSSELL & RYAN MY SON SHOULD BE HOME IN LESS THAN 24 MONTHS.

  2. Highly Recommened Lawyer

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Russell had him firm were great attorneys. With the help from them they kept me from serious federal charges being filed against me. They were very informative every step of the way. I at no time felt I was being ignored or neglected. I felt they were honest and trustworthy. They knew what they were doing. I was very impressed.

  3. Very happy Russell Babcock got my case dismissed.

    Posted by Ted, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 6-12 months ago.
    • Russell handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am very grateful for the representation provided to me by Russell Babcock. I went to San Diego on vacation with some friends to get away from a brutal Rocky Mountain winter. On our second day there one person in our group brought drugs with him to the beach and decided to help himself to a pocket in my daypack to stash them. I took them out and gave them back to him and that was witnessed by plain clothes police who then arrested us both and charged us with felonies including conspiracy and intent to distribute. I had never been in trouble with the law, and now I was locked up with a high bail and facing a prison sentence. I was devastated. A felony conviction would also mean the end of my career. Nobody wanted to listen to my side of the story. My family called Russell Babcock and he listened to how I had ended up in jail and he immediately told me his goal was to get me out of jail with a much lower bail and to fight the charges until they were dismissed. He recognized that being a convicted felon was not an option for me. Mr. Babcock was very confident in his abilities to defend me and told me of recent similar cases he had worked on with successful outcomes. Based on his eagerness to help me turn this case around and use all of his experience and knowledge of the criminal justice system to represent and defend me, I decided to retain him as my attorney. Sure enough, at my first hearing I was released on a lower bail, and over the course of the next few months and all my court appearances he took the time to get to know me and the facts of my case. He represented me extremely well and worked on my behalf with the District Attorney so that I could be placed in a court-sanctioned program for first offenders. This meant I did not have to go to trial and after I completed the program, my case was dismissed and I have no criminal record whatsoever. My employer even found out about the case through the periodic background checks they do, and I could confidently tell them I was in the wrong place at the wrong time, and that the charges were dismissed. They were very happy with that outcome, too, and have never mentioned it again. For all these reasons I am extremely satisfied with how well I was represented by Russell Babcock. I recommend him without reservation to anyone who has need for expert criminal defense.

  4. BEST LAWYER IN SAN DIEGO

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 6-12 months ago.
    • Russell handled my Federal Crime matter.

    MY SON WAS ARRESTED IN 2011 DUE TO A DRUG TUNNEL CASE. THE CASE WAS VERY COMPLICATED WE DIDNT HAVE ANY IDEA OF WHAT TO DO THEN WE CONTACT MR. BABCOCK'S FIRM. MR. BABCOK AND MR. MARDOCK WERE VERY COMPREHENSIVE AND SENSITIVE WITH ME AND MY FAMILY. THEY WHERE ALWAYS THERE WHEN WE HAD A QUESTION ABOUT ANYTHING RELATED TO THE CASE. THEY STARTED WORKING ON THE CASE AND MY SON SIGNED A MINIMUM SENTENCE OF 13 YRS. IN PRISON. THE CASE TOOK A LONGER THAN WHAT WE ALL EXPECTED IT TOOK 2 YRS. TO CONCLUDE BUT AT THE END MR. BABCOCK AND HIS STAFF DID EVERYTHING POSSIBLE AND INSTEAD OF 13 YRS. MY SON RECEIVED 36 MONTHS. HAVING MR. BABCOCK AND RYAN WORKING ON THIS CASE WAS THE BEST CHOICE ME AND MY FAMILY COULD EVER MADE... I WISH THEM THE BEST AND I WILL ALWAYS BE THANKFUL WITH THEM.

  5. BETS LAWYER

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 6-12 months ago.
    • Russell handled my Federal Crime matter.

    MR. BABCOCK AND MR. MARDOCK HELP MY RELATIVE. THEY BOTH KNOW HOW TO DO THIR JOB AND ALWAYS TRY THEIR BEST. MY RELATIVE WAS INVOLVED IN A DRUG CONSPIRACY FACING A MINIMUM OF 10 YRS IN PRISON & THEY HELP HIM ALOT AND INTEAD HE RECEIVED 36 MONTHS WICH IS NOTHING COMPARE TO WHAT THE GOVT WAS TRING TO GIVE HIM.

  6. I am back with my family and free because of Mr. Babcock's efforts.

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had an unfortunate incident of which, I need the assistance of a competent and trustworthy attorney. Finding the right attorney is like finding a needle in the hay stack but I was lucky. Mr. Babcock was referred to my family and at the time I had little choice. Just by luck or whatever, I got Mr. Babcock and I will profess that he did everything he was supposed to do, he told me before he did it, and today I am a free man because of his efforts. I know for a fact that had I got anyone else to handle my case that I would have been ripped off and stuck in jail without any hope. I am not a person to toot anyone’s horn but in this case Mr. Babcock literally saved my life. If you are considering retaining the services of a criminal attorney then I endorse Mr. Babcock and his team. I am out, I am free, and joy is back in my life.

  7. Seek elsewhere.

    Posted by B.,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.

    Russell, Ryan, and Rommel were very difficult to reach. They did not keep me informed on the case for which I hired them. They rarely returned my calls and no contract was submitted to me by them. I simply paid their fee and went on my way to wonder what was going to happen. I would certainly find another group with which to work.

    On a side note, they are pleasant enough to speak to outside of law.

    1. Russell Sheridan Babcock

      Russell Babcock

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very surprised and sorry that you report a negative experience with my firm. Your matter does not sound familiar to me. We make the utmost effort to satisfy every client. I am unaware of any problem with any client and would certainly be very pleased to discuss this matter with you at anytime.
      Best,
      --Russell

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  8. Best lawyers

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I highly recommend the lawyers Russell and Ryan. They were always aware of my needs. They always answered all my questions quickly. I honestly felt I had someone to support me and to defend me. I not only felt their interest on a professional level but also on a personal level. They are people with great human qualities. If I or a family member was in need of some service from a lawyer, I undoubtedly would seek Russell again. I am very grateful with them and I fell very lucky that I found them.

  9. THE BEST CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER IN ALL OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Russell and his team is the best! I was looking at 8 felony charges and up to 9 years in State Prison. I was stuck in Mexico at the time my warrant was issued. Russell was able to talk to judge into releasing my warrant so I could cross the border back into the USA to face my arraignment. After several months of clever negotiations and chamber discussions with the judge, Russell was able to get me a plea-bargain to accept only one (1) misdemeanor charge, which accounted to only 3 years of summary probation. I never went to prison and I was free! Since then, my life has been wonderful. Russell is the best at his craft and worth every dime spent for his services.

  10. God sent me 2 Angels!...

    Posted by Crystal, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Babcock.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My Brother was facing a 9 year sentence to prison. And Mr. Babcock and Mr.Murdock did the best job in the world for my brother. My brother had three felony's one for having a Ak,and it being fully loaded and also threatening someone's life with a conceal weapon with a ( 9 mm) 2 of them also fully loaded. Mr.Murdock only got my brother 6 months and with time served he is only doing 4 months. Mr Babcock gave me the Best day of my LIFE on 10/12/12. Not only that Mr.Babcock and Mr.Murdock returned every phone call and took time out to visit my brother at Gorge Bailey and Me and my family. And Mr.Babcock came in after a lawyer before him had made a disaster of my brother case and took him for his hard earn money. Mr.Babcock and Mr.Murdock showed empathy towards my brother case and to the family. I would highly recommend Mr.Babcock and Mr.Murdock for any Case they are the best!!! I haft to say my money was well spent.

    And I am ever so greatful for Mr.Babcock and Mr.Murdock, Thank you!