Carl Michael Shusterman’s Reviews

Carl Michael Shusterman

Average Rating

Based on 327 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best immigration lawyer!!

    Posted by Marichel, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Worst thing that ever happened to me is to be placed under removal proceedings. Went to different lawyers to seek for advice and only one stands out for me. Came across Atty. Shusterman at avvo.com. Given his expertise in immigration law and the reviews I've read online made me decide to choose their firm. Atty. Shusterman was very accommodating and very knowledgeable. Just by looking at my papers he is confident that my case will be dismissed. Atty. Elif Keles was the one who handled my case. She represented me in court. She is very professional and knowledgeable too. What I like about her is that she always update me with the status of my case. She answered all my questions and responds right away whenever I email her. So my case finally got dismissed last year and I got my green card May 2014. For those who have immigration problems I highly recommend the Law Offices of Carl Shusterman. Great staff and service…Thank you very much Attorney!!!

  2. Knowledgable, Caring , Great Results

    Posted by YB, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl more than 3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My employer hired the law offices of Carl Shusterman for my work visa and permanent residency.

    My case was complicated and the process took several years. They helped me with my H-1, Labor Cert, VD, and consular process. I was in communication with Judy Lu, Raj Iyer and Ellen Lee.

    Their work was consistently excellent. They were clear about every detail: documents needed, timeframe, opportune times to submit the material, etc. They timely answered any question I had and were successful obtaining results for me and my family.

    I highly recommend them to anyone who wants a firm that is knowledgable, caring and with a proved success record.

  3. Superb legal team !!

    Posted by Nalin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl more than 3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend the Law Offices of Carl Shusterman to anyone who needs help in immigration. They are extremely professional, very knowledgeable and most importantly very accessible.

    My case was handled mainly by Attorney Raj Iyer and Senior Paralegal Judy Lu who was involved with my case from the very beginning. Me and my family have ..taken their help and they have been very patient with all our needs throughout the long years. Also, Attorney Ellen Lee prepared us for our green card interview . She really knows her craft and is extremely assuring .

    Thank you very much for helping us to realize our American dream.

  4. Wonderful team that helped me from start to finish.

    Posted by Jarrad, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-6 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I dealt with Raj from the start of my visa process and was introduced to the rest of the team in Ellen and Elsa. Throughout the process I experienced continual support and reassurance and all of the legally required advice I needed to ensure my visa process went smoothly. I now have my green card in hand, and have this team to thank for it.

  5. Peer Review

    Posted by Rick, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-6 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As a lawyer myself, I was very careful about selecting a law firm to handle my own immigration case. This was especially true after my husband and I had painfully waited more than 15 years to file a spouse-sponsored petition for a green card. The ability for us to file this type of petition was only made possible in late June 2013 when the U.S. Supreme Court issued a landmark ruling to recognize equal rights and benefits under federal laws for married same-sex couples. Our case was not only deeply personal, but needed the experience and expertise of an immigration law firm that was up to date with the rapidly changing legal landscape for same-sex couples.

    Mr. Shusterman’s firm has definitely lived up to its stellar reputation and delivered great results in our case. Overall, the firm is well run and works seamlessly as a team. Throughout the firm’s representation, our case was handled with diligence, care, and professionalism at every level. The initial consultation was easily scheduled with friendly support staff. The firm maintained timely communications with us every step of the way. Our paralegal, Maria, assisted us with multiple government forms and expeditiously filed the petition at our request. As a result, USCIS accepted and processed our petition promptly without any request for evidence.

    Last, but certainly not least, we want to say a special “thank you” to our attorney Ellen Ma Lee. Ellen is a seasoned counsel with expertise in family immigration. Ellen is not only knowledgeable about the law, but has a deep understanding of those human, but sometimes complex aspects of a marriage, which could become the focal point of a green card interview. Drawing from her experience of having appeared at numerous green card interviews, Ellen carefully analyzed the strength and weakness of our case and thoroughly prepared us for our interview. She astutely focused on the likely questions from the immigration officer in light of the ups and downs of my 15-year relationship with my husband. Ellen answered every question we had, and offered suggestions which turned out to be extremely helpful to our case submission. Perhaps most importantly, with her unparalleled expertise, Ellen guided us through the entire process, making us feel confident and at ease with the often intimating green card interview.

    When I finally received my green card that my husband and I had waited for so long, I kept thinking to myself: if all law firms were as great as Mr. Shusterman’s, lawyers would surely be amongst the most beloved professions in America.

  6. Thank you Elsa and Ellen!

    Posted by Maria, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-6 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My experience with Elsa and Ellen at Carl's Shusterman
    Office has been excellent! They have been always very professional and helpful, always answering my question s and getting out of their way to help me. I am so lucky to have found the best Law office! Thank you Mr. Shusterman! Thank you Elsa! Thank you Ellen! Sincerely, Maria K.

  7. Professional Team -Highly Recommended

    Posted by JS, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am really grateful for having the Law Office of Carl Shusterman that handled my case.
    Attorney Raj and Judy Lu ‘s hard work was crucial for the successful outcome of my case.
    In addition, they were prompt in answering each and every question I addressed in a very professional and timely manner. Their courtesy and enthusiasm in assisting me is beyond compare. My life is completely changed just because of them.
    I highly recommend them and the offices of Carl Shusterman to anyone who needs help in immigration.

  8. Immigration Lawyer

    Posted by Barbara, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm grateful that my husband and I have finally received our green card.First,we are thankful to God that he made this possible.Secondly,with the support of Attorney Carl Shurterman's Law Offices , especially Attorney E. Lee and Elsa Garcia(paralegal), our dream came true.Thanks to them and more power!

  9. Great Lawfirm!

    Posted by Michael, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I made an appointment with Mr. Shusterman for his firm's "initial consultation", and knew immediately that my wife and I were about to be in very good hands. He assigned our case to Attorney Ellen Lee. She is incredibly pleasant, knowledgeable, professional and was always very prompt in answering our questions throughout the immigration process, right up until our interview where my wife was immediately granted citizenship. Along with Ellen, her assistant Elsa Garcia was very nice and helpful every step of the way. Look no further, you cannot go wrong with this amazing team!

  10. The Best Law Firm For your immigration case Thank You So Much !!!!!!

    Posted by Ulises Duarte, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Let me start saying this is the best law attorney office for your immigration case after a long research on diferent websites i schudule an interview at this law firm there is a fee for a consultation and at first i was no way i will pay for a consultation, but let me tell you i will do it over and over again, there is no words to discribe the excelent service and professionalism they provide in my personal case I never felt like I was just a number, and never felt like my file was just sitting collecting dust somewhere. Everyone I interacted with was very understanding, and caring. I received continuous feedback on my case, and each step of the process was explained in both a friendly and professional manner.
    ******* ELSA GARCIA ….. ROCKS !!!!!!!!! she was there for me every time i call ready to help me on every question of my case she really make the diference in this law firm and i remenber once she meet up with me on her day off to pick up some files i was Wow this is the way to go you will think she own the law firm because the way she treat her clients Elsa Garcia Thank you so much i will be always thankfull for your help and kind words true my immigration case, Allen Lee was so nice and friendly always with a big smile and truly make me feel like family, she spend so much time with me explaining about the steps of my case in a friendly manner, now you wonder, but what about the results??? after filing my petittion with immigration for a Permanent Resident of Unites States my case was approved in just under 3 months no one can't believe it but the knowledge and professionalism really matter in all immigration cases don't waste your money else where when you can have the best possible representation at Carl Shusterman, now i am a happy USA Resident and Ellen and Elsa are friends for ever i will definitely go out of my way to recomend this law firm to family and friends Elsa Garcia Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all your help i wish you the best. Ellen You are the best immigration Attornie thank you so much.

    Ulises

For best results, hire the best.

213-623-4592