James C Forslund’s Reviews

James C Forslund

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Knowledge Accessibility and Integrity

    Posted by Wayne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Forslund.

    I sought advice from Mr. Forslund about getting a Colorado Drivers License even though my Florida license is on permanent restriction from old DUI's. I found Jim to be quite knowledgeable about the hearing process. I'm always able to reach Him either by office phone, cellphone, or email. When I asked about Mr. Forslund at the Colorado Dept of Revenue he was endorsed as having a high level of integrity.
    I can highly recommend Mr. Forslund to anyone who is dealing with a driver's license issue in Colorado.

  2. Get a real Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    These guys are all about plea bargains and they aren't very good at that. If you have a criminal case (and DUI is) get a real lawyer. These guys are so called "DUI specialists" and anything out of their comfort zone, which is anything other than a plea bargain, they won't do. They even messed up my DMV hearing and I ended up missing it because they weren't proactive in finding out when it was scheduled. I ended up having to fire them.

    1. James C Forslund

      James C Forslund

      Lawyer Comment:

      We have done hundreds of trials. In one jurisdiction, we did more trials than the public defender's office for the year. We have done thousands of evidentiary hearings. Client's decide how far to a take a case, not us. If the client wants to go to trial, we are ready. DMV hearing notices are sent to the clients by the DMV. We advise our clients to make sure DMV has their current address and that they check their mail daily. Anonymous slander on the internet is the coward's way.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  3. Great Job

    Posted by Damian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim was successful in helping me reinstate my license after a revocation in a another state. Jim was very knowledgable, prepared, and responsive.

  4. Getting my license back

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Having gotten several out of state DUIs I luckily made it into Rehab and successful recovery (over 5 years of sobriety). Several years later, I became a legal resident of Colorado but could not get my name removed from the National DUI registry to get a driver’s license through the DMV even though my court requirements for the last DUI were met. Fearful that my driving privilege would never be reinstated I contacted Jim Forslund’s office and after an informative discussion hired him. As my legal representative, he and his associate Mr. Pareja, applying Colorado law, were instrumental in guiding me through the tedious CO MVD process and hearings in order for me to regain a restricted driver license requiring an interlock device for 2 years . After the interlock requirement was met, Jim provided a follow-up service representing my interest during the next round of MVD hearings. Due to clerical error and subsequent misunderstanding with my out of state records, my initial request for full privileges was denied. However, with Jim’s persistent assistance of my case with the MVD hearing office as a part of the follow-up service, the misunderstanding was cleared up and I was finally granted my full driving privileges.

    Mr. Forslund always received or returned my phone calls and responded to my emails in a timely fashion and always had time to discuss my case. Because of his professional and compassionate demeanor I consider him more of a friend than as my attorney. He and his associate Mr. Pareja are knowledgeable in all aspects of Colorado Law as it to applies to DUI and were readily accessible for all questions and concerns a client might have. As such, I whole heartedly recommend him to anyone accused of DUI or in need of excellent legal advice especially as it pertains interstate DUI and Colorado Law.

  5. Knowledgeable and compassionate

    Posted by Kristy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I needed advice on a legal issue, I looked in the yellow pages for an attorney. I came across Mr. Forslund's website and answered a few questions regarding my legal issue. Because it was after hours, Mr. Forslund replied the next morning and we scheduled an appointment. He helped me to understand my options and advised me on what steps to take to intiate the beginning process for handling my legal issue. I am very impressed with the professionalism and courtesy that was given to me by Mr. Forslund. He treated me like a person, rather than just another client. And I am thankful for his trustworthiness..

  6. Amazin g, Personal Servie

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jim represented me for a reinstatement hearing. I was amazed at the quality of the service:
    Jim called me himself each time an event occured, such as a hearing scheduled.
    Jim let me know what would happen each step of the way, I was never surprised by any event.
    Jim was a valuable representative in the hearing itself; when we got to any difficult spots he prompted me so that my case could be presented in the most positive light.

  7. Regained Driving Priviledges

    Posted by Christopher, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I feel very lucky to have been represented by Jim. Jim was extremely knowledgeable with the laws surrounding my case and with his help I was able to regain my driving priviledges in a very short time. After meeting with a number of other lawyers and spending thousands of dollars Jim was able to do for me what the others could not. I would recommend Jim to anyone in the future.

  8. Don't waste your money, you're better off without him!

    Posted by Roy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would have to agree with cheybugabee on all counts! The only reason I found this site is because I was so disappointed with Mr. Forslund's representation I decided to see if he was actually a real lawyer. When I found his posting I could only think that's EXACTLY how I felt with his representation. In fact, just minutes before our appearance we still had no defense, so my friend and I had to come up with a last minute strategy. When we discussed it with Mr. Forslund he was surprised and said it actually might work. After we won the hearing, he was genuinely shocked that we had won, and the fact of the matter was we wouldn't have won if we hadn't done what Mr. Forslund couldn't. Naturally, I felt it was best to find another attorney for my follow-up appearances.
    If you want to be represented by someone who knows what he's doing, then look elsewhere!

    1. James C Forslund

      James C Forslund

      Lawyer Comment:

      This never happened. This anonymous person's motives are suspect. Aways question what you read on the internet.

      Posted almost 4 years ago. Flag

  9. Highly Recommend James and his Partner...

    Posted by Tom, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Forslund.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    He Knew Exactly what he is doing , kept me Informed , was there to Answer all my Questions( MOST IMPORTANTLY YOU HAVE TO BE KNOWLEDGEABLE ) yourself do your own home work every case is Different..To Help your Attorney...I would Highly Recommend James...