Richard Martin P. Canlas’s Reviews

Richard Martin P. Canlas

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Expert legal help

    Posted by Stacy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.

    Richard Canlas is an outstanding attorney. I acquired his services when I had a serious, time-sensitive issue, and he handled it professionally, without delay. He clearly explained what needed to be done, and addressed all of my concerns in plain and easily understandable language. He was honest about potential outcomes, and offered straightforward solutions as circumstances progressed. The cost was reasonable and the value of knowing my needs were being managed appropriately gave me peace of mind.
    I will use Mr. Canlas again if I ever require future legal services, and recommend his expertise to anyone facing a legal challenge.

  2. Use judiciously - know what you want out of the case

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Litigation matter.

    Use him for a really expensive trial but not for petty charges. Paid a lot of money but had to switch lawyers because nothing got done.

  3. One of the best I've hired

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Bottom line is, hire this guy if you can?
    When I first searched for a lawyer, I of course read all the reviews I could find on him as a potential counselor. I got a feeling that he was what I looking for as our case was very serious. Over and over again I read of dismissals, reductions in sentences, cases thrown out and found myself wishing I could be one of those individuals.
    Well, here I am months later, and I am one of those individuals! I hired Richard Canlas, followed his directions closely, and recently had my case dismissed. It was not without some work on my part. As I said, he gave me directions which were sometimes difficult to complete. I weathered criticism from friends and family that thought things wasn’t being handled correctly all the time. It was quite expensive. But in the end with the advantage of hind sight, I can see that hiring him, was the best decision I could have made at the time.
    I would definitely recommend him!
    (Federal charges in Montgomery County)

  4. Richard was a Great Help for us!

    Posted by Steve,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

    My wife and I met with Mr. Canlas about our particular legal issue by e-mail. He was very thorough and knowledgeable about the circumstances of our case. Mr. Canlas was able to use his expertise and influence to help us win our case. We HIGHLY recommend Richard Canlas if you need a Very Qualified Attorney.

  5. Recommend Richard as a Criminal Defense Attorney without Hesistation

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard is an exceptional criminal defense lawyer that genuinely cares for his clients. He represented our child in a criminal case and managed to get the charges reduced significantly. Over the course of the case, he diligently dealt with an unresponsive and inconsistent ADA. Richard managed to get the best possible outcome given the circumstances of the case and the ADA. Richard also negotiated minimal terms for the probation period and quickly was able to get the record sealed.

    Richard clearly communicates the law, the circumstances of the case, and what his clients should do to improve their case. He always has his client's best interests in mind, both short and long term. I would recommend Richard as a criminal defense attorney without any hesistation.

  6. Couldn't have asked for a better outcome

    Posted by Shondi, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Canlas to anyone who wants a lawyer who will aggressively fight to get them the best outcome possible for their case. From our first meeting, I felt like I was in good hands. He is very genuine and easy to talk to, and gets the job done. I couldn't have asked for a better attorney to represent me in court.

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Richard was professional, diligent and effective. His
    Price was very reasonable and he got my case completely dismissed. I have had dealings with several lawyers in the past, and if you have the opportunity to retain this lawyer jump on it quickly. He is a UT grad and finished high in his class, so his credentials speak for themselves. Overall he is a great person and an even better attorney.

  8. Great lawyer

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Richard is a great lawyer and helped me avoid a dwi conviction on my record. His repution among the district attorneys defiantly helped get me an incredible plea deal. He kept me informed the whole process, and did not sugar coat any of the options i was given and informed me of the risks.

  9. Kept me informed

    Posted by Amanda, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Canlas was helpful in guiding me towards which action would be best in regards to my case. He was informative and polite.

  10. accessable

    Posted by Rich, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Canlas.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Confident, experienced and willing to aggressively handle your case. We plead down to a lower charge but felt confident that Richard would have had a pretty good chance of winning if he took it to trial. Made the whole process as painless as possible during a very difficult time.

Call now for a free consultation.

936-788-6999