Scott Joel Markowitz’s Reviews

Scott Joel Markowitz

Average Rating

Based on 52 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Invisible hand of Markowitz

    Posted by KW, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It's always hard to trust what you read on websites, but Scott proved this was to the contrary. This was my first ticket, and a multiple citation too! After days of research, you realize that there are only a handful of traffic lawyers that pop up, and Markowitz is consistently in the first page of Yelp! Houston, Avvo and KHOU (yes, people, Scott has provided an interview). I show up at his Richmond Ave office, just to 'verify authenticity', and his assistant promptly greets me, quickly allays my fears about the citation. After providing my details, she assures me that Scott will get the court date reset and send to me the new court date. True to words, this came in an email first 5 days later and followed up with a hardcopy letter after that, true professional. 6 days before my court date, you'll get a friendly phone call reminding you about court, where to park, what to dress and what to do on that day. This calms the nerves. On the day itself, Scott's team of lawyers (one of them) will call out your name to confirm representation. They are very businesslike and professional, very transparent about their recommendations and our options as a client. I was out of there in 2.5 hrs, dismissal in hand - that, to me is the experience you want as a client. Sometimes, you need a little nudge in the right direction, just don't attempt to do it without Scott's advice.

  2. Excellent Representation

    Posted by George, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I don't know how this attorney and staff know when to reschedule so the ticketing officer does not show up, but they did with my three moving violations. The cost of his services were the best deal I have had in a long time. I was met with two different firm attorneys as they explained the court process. Basically, I just set in the courtroom for a few hours and my case was dismissed.

  3. Exceeded my Expectations!

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Scott Joel Markowitz exceeded my expectations through his firm's representation in Tomball, TX. Mr. Ron Morgan was selected to represent me for a speeding violation that presented adversities toward my driving record. I was impressed by all aspects of how my issue was professionally and articulately resolved. I highly recommend The Markowitz Law firm and will continue to utilize their services in the future in regard to legal consultation and representation for business and personal accommodation.

  4. Thank you from Kent

    Posted by Kent, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Thank you so much Markowitz and associates! I had 3 traffic citations which
    were all thrown out. I could have been in serious trouble with my drivers licence.
    Besides the fact that i live alone and pay expensive child support and medical insurance
    on my child who lives out of state. I didnt have the money to pay my fines. The help
    i recieved was most appreciated thanks again ... sincerely Kent R :)

  5. Speeding made easy.................

    Posted by Teri, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I am a frequent flyer (literally) and I always receive the red carpet treatment when in court with Scott or Ron. I am always one of the first people in and out of the court house thanks to this firm.
    I highly recommend The Markowitz Law Firm to anyone with a lead foot like myself.
    Sincerely and Thankfully,
    Teresa G

  6. Great job

    Posted by Maria, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I was very pleased with my lawyer's professional work. The day of my court I was going through a miscarrage and was running late. By the time I got there he had already took care of business. Needless to say he was very pleasant and professional.

  7. Hired for Traffic Ticket - Very pleased.

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Got my ticket dismissed! Also, I needed to leave court to pick up my son and the attorney spoke with the Judge and was able to get me two-hour leave. Communicated well. I would hire again in a heartbeat. Thanks.

  8. Read it

    Posted by Art, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I missed my court date for a traffic ticket "open beer and no turn signal" 600$ fine
    Warrant was issued Paid him 800$ My lawyer was late about 3 hours, walked to prosecutor did a little whisper in his ear "he was not Scott Markowitz" I had to pay all of my court cost and ticket, walked away with deferred adjudication for a 1 year.
    I asked the guy "What did i pay for?" and he told me "You paid us to represent you..." And who should i rate anyway on this review?

  9. First Class Legal Advice

    Posted by Terry,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.

    I called Mr. Markowitz with the fullest intent to retain his expertise regarding a traffic citation issue. After he took the time, several minutes, to understand the situation and circumstances, which were not straight-forward, Mr. Markowitz provided excellent legal advice regarding next steps and offered alternative resolutions which were clearly apropos for the situation. He undertook to address the alternatives clearly and with supporting rationale -- he provided me with a self-delivered solution. At the end of this discussion, I offered to Mr. Markowitz that his advice and counsel were very sound and I appreciated the time he spent in understanding the situation. He stated that I could retain his services the next time I encountered a problem he could assist in such a matter.

    1. Scott Joel Markowitz

      Scott Markowitz

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad to help you out Terry! Sometimes folks don't really need representation as much as they just need a little nudge, a little legal advice to help them straighten out a situation. If it is something that I can do on the phone with you in a matter of minutes, the advise is "on the house"!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Speeding Violation

    Posted by John, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Markowitz.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Scott Markowitz addressed my wife's speeding violation and the inadvertent driving on the wrong side of the road with superb aplomb! He delivered precisely as he promised, and more. He is very knowledgeable of our judicial court system, impact, and associated penalties and kept us continually informed of any postponements and processes. For an attorney, he is atypical, and clearly has his client's best interests in focus. He is honest, forthright, and will deliver as promised, qualities often lacking in these type environments. I would strongly recommend his services...you will not be dissappointed. Should circumstances warrant the need for a traffic attorney in the future, (let's hope not) I will not hesitate in utilizing his services again. My sincere thanks Scott.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

713-521-7568