Daniel J. Winter’s Reviews

Daniel J. Winter

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hire this lawyer!

    Posted by Jim, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.

    Daniel J. Winter is an extraordinarily competent, skilled professional who gave us his full attention and time. He walked us through every detail and explained bankruptcy in ways that make sense to a non-lawyer. At every point Dan was reassuring and supportive in the face of a very intimidating process. He has been a strong advocate for our interests--he got us through bankruptcy safely and honestly, and because of him we are able to make a new start. And his colleague, Rebecca Engelmann, matches him in skill, knowledge, and "courtside manner" in very way. We are very grateful!

  2. trustworthy

    Posted by Rick, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    I spoke to three different attorneys before meeting Mr. Winter and when I met him and he started explaining things to me in simple terms and in detail I was ready to hire him to submit my case. everytime I had a question he answered right away and kept me informed of how my process was going. Bankruptcy is not easy and is not fun but I am glad there are lawyers like Mr. Winter that will treat you with respect and dignity in those hard times. I highly recommend Mr. Winter, thank you for your help.

  3. Great service with a great staff.

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Daniel J. Winter’s law firm by researching and reading reviews on bankruptcy lawyers in the downtown Chicago area. After scheduling the initial consultation, I was impressed with the level of interest and commitment the firm showed in helping me with such a complex and personal situation.
    My case was handled professionally. There were no surprises, and I was informed every step of the way. I appreciate all of the hard work that went into my case.

  4. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dan Winter provided excellent direction in our case. He provided up to date information and provided all our options. He was available when needed and worked to get the best result possible for us.
    He was sympathetic during a difficult time and helped us navigate thru the legal process. I would most certainly recommend Daniel Winter.

  5. Highly recommend Dan Winter

    Posted by Susan, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Dan Winter. By definition, he sees clients when they are in a very stressful state and his combination of knowledge and kindness make for a very reassuring experience. He and his associates are very familiar with the ins and outs of the process and give excellent legal advice and guidance. I'm sure many practictioners in the area of law have great expertise, but I Dan combines his with an empathy that removes a lot of the feelings of guilt and embarassment that can come with the process. You feel that he and his associate Rebecca Engelmann are on your side, and see their role as being your advocate, not just the person who handles the paperwork.

  6. A good experience and a wise choice

    Posted by Daniel, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Having a lawyer in my family, I asked her to talk to lawyers that she knew to try and find a lawyer who could represent me regarding my bankruptcy. Daniel's name came up and after speaking with him I was very comfortable that he had the knowledge and the expertise to represent me and come up with a solution that was the best fit for me.

    Daniel listened to my concerns and created a plan moving forward to give me the protection and peace of mind that I needed at such a difficult time. Daniel was very up front with me on what was available to me, offered to me choices that I could review and stayed with me along the way when I had questions and concerns. With 5 months left to go on a five year plan he still is helping me with questions that arise from time to time.

    I can honestly say that I made a good choice for a lawyer to represent me and my interests, who took the time and effort to protect me and my assets to the best of his ability. I always felt comfortable calling on Daniel when I wasn't sure what the next step required.

    While I hope I will not require his services in the future, I would however be comfortable recommending him to anyone who is in a similar situation and is looking for professional, knowledgeable, and courteous representation from a highly qualified lawyer .

  7. Advocated and helped us through a very difficult time!

    Posted by Marcey, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband and I found ourselves in a terrible cycle of debt; we had almost exhausted our retirement savings trying to stay one step ahead and we were no longer able to continue. Mr Winter advised us on bankruptcy; he clearly explained all the steps, what we could expect, told us exactly what documents we needed. He informed us of all of our options and the consequences to be expected. He appeared before the trustee with us, and has advised us also on our home mortgage. He absolutely helped us move out of this bad place, he did it with kindness, compassion and respect, all of which are so appreciated under the circumstances. We both feel like we are able to keep our dignity under the circumstances and that we can "pick up the pieces" and move on with our lives, wiser, better planners, and Mr. Winter really helped us get to this much better place!

  8. Mike

    Posted by Mike, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dan is informative and enjoyable to work with.

    He was patient with my bankruptcy process which changed since hiring him two years ago.

    I highly recommend him.

  9. chapter 13

    Posted by Kathleen, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Wonderful lawfirm. They treat you with respect. He made me feel like I was his only case.

  10. Impressive

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Winter.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    From the time if my initial consultation, and since, I have been treated by Dan Winter and Rebecca Engelmann along with the entire staff with the utmost respect and understanding. The practice is run with efficiency, professionalism and an incredible understanding of the law.
    Having to go through a Chapter 13 is an embarrassing and painful experience, however the law practice of Daniel J. Winter has made this unfortunate experience more tolerable.