Patrick Byron Markey’s Reviews

Patrick Byron Markey

Average Rating

Based on 37 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Markey is a good lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    for my divorce case, I hired Mr. Markey. He is a good lawyer, giving suggestions, and detailed billing. Always answer my questions quickly. However, I raised some requests which he thinks not possible in the court, and he resisted my requests. Basically he thinks I should declare all my assets and my ex should declare all her assets then divided our marital assets according to the law. Also, my wife acted as her own lawyer, and I felt that he was too accommodating to her and not accommodating enough to me. So I switched to another lawyer because that lawyer vaguely promised to do what I requested. But once I hired the other lawyer, he did not do that, or could not do that. In the end, I got the same result just like if I kept Mr. Markey as my lawyer. I think Mr. Markey is a honest lawyer, but I would suggest he be more straight forward and be better at educating clients.

  2. Awesome Legal Team

    Posted by Olivia, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Child Custody matter.

    Patrick and his team Were Always An Email Or A Phone Call away. The communication about the case was superior. I felt comfortable how the case was handled and how it ended. I would use his firm again and would suggest anyone else to as well.

  3. Extremely helpful and understanding

    Posted by Veronica, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Family matter.

    I was referred to Patrick by a dear friend of mine and I'm thankful that I was. I've had the experience in the past where I had to hunt down my lawyer and to no avail at times. Patrick on the other hand would reach out to me when it was necessary and important while always being detailed and informative with the information he related to me but most importantly he was truthful and straight forward with the expectations from the case and the possible outcome. I'm happy he's my lawyer and would highly recommended him as a family lawyer.

  4. Responsive and no-nonsense

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Family matter.

    Patrick and Gabriela helped me with my recent divorce. They were compassionate, professional, readily available and they assisted me with all the bumps along the road. They also told it as it was and were upfront and honest every step of the way. I highly recommend them.

  5. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Family matter.

    Patrick represented me during proceedings to change a joint parenting agreement. Patrick is very knowledgeable in family law. He will not sugar coat things and will tell you what to expect. I worked with both Patrick and his partner, Gabriela. Both are very reliable and returned my emails and calls promptly, even on weekends. Should I need a family law attorney again in the future I will definitely use Patrick again.

  6. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by JB, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Patrick took a stressful and anxious time in my life and made me feel as calm and prepared as possible. He also kept me informed of anything and everything involved, always returned my calls promptly and never seemed aggravated with me when I would ask a bunch of questions or didn't understand something and required clarification. He is easy to talk to, respectful and even funny; Patrick is the kind of person I would want to be friends with outside of the nastiness of family court. Most importantly, I am very satisfied with the work Patrick did for me as my attorney and with his very reasonable rates. I am out of state, and I put a lot of trust in Patrick to represent me in a contentious and very important matter. I would hire him again without hesitation if I ever needed to [fingers crossed I don't have to] and enthusiastically recommend him to anyone in need of a family law attorney.

  7. Mr. Markey comes highly recommended.

    Posted by Rachel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Markey provided excellent counsel in regards to my divorce. He was very diplomatic and supportive of issues that were sensitive in nature. With his assistance and guidance, Mr. Markey was able to get the results I was seeking, in a timely manner. I would highly recommend Mr. Markey's services to anyone who is seeking a Family Law attorney.

  8. More than excellent.

    Posted by VERONICA, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    More than excellent, human, they listen. Mr. Markey, Ms. Sapia and Ms. Guerrero went out of their way to get what looks like a really bad divorce case, something easy. They took care of every single detail and I never had to contact my ex husband, they did it. When I talked to Mr. Markey the first time I was in a lot of stress. As soon as I put everything into his hands, the stress was gone. And I was informed all the time what was going on. I never had to call them and ask what was the status of my case never, all the time they were about three or more steps ahead of me. I will recommend him in a heart beat. Thank you so much.

  9. Former Custody Case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He started out really good, but then just seemed to fall off the cliff. It was almost as though he was trying to win a popularity contest and make friends with opposing counsel. He is ok, and maybe it was our chemistry, but what he promised and delivered were 2 different things. I wound up with a different lawyer and got somewhat closer to what I was looking for. It just sucks to be a man in Illinois who wants to see his kids.

    1. Patrick Byron Markey

      Patrick Markey

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for your feedback. Child custody and visitation cases can be very difficult and frustrating for everyone involved. Not every case is the same and they are each driven by their own specific facts. You are correct that chemistry between a lawyer and client does matter. I'm glad you got close what you were looking for. I'm available to discuss your issues offline if that interests you. Thanks.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Professional, Patient & Through Support

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Markey.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Divorce is a painful process. Patrick has made it much more easier for me, when my now ex was changing his mind regularly. He has explained the laws clearly to me in a calm manner. Also he has helped me to look at this process more logically, instead of emotionally - trust me that can be done when you work with Patrick. Also, Patrick has responded to my after divorce matter in a timely fashion, which is a great help. It is unbelievable how many things are still there after the divorce.

We're ready to help. Call or email us today.

312-223-1763