John Edward Brennock’s Reviews

John Edward Brennock

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Tenant/Landlord Recommendation

    Posted by Kamila, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John < 1 month ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John came highly recommended to me by a family attorney. John is straight to the point and thorough He handled my case with urgency in the little time I had to resolve it. I came to him with no knowledge or guidance. John was very informative and explained all the possible outcomes to me. He provided me with scenarios and options to resolved my case in my best interest. John is very professional and a pleasure to work with.

  2. Super helpful, amazing legal help with a Landlord dispute.

    Posted by Bekah, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    John helped me with a Landlord dispute in which the Building Management attempted to charge me for damages that did not exist (had pictures as evidence) when I declined to renew my lease. John researched, wrote a letter on my behalf, and worked directly with Management. Ultimately, Building Management released me from any liability for the non-existent damages (saving me almost $3K), due to John's help. Thank you so much again!

  3. Landlord/Tenant issues - clear and concise legal advice - highly recommended

    Posted by Mary, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I bought a two flat with a tenant that was in the process of being evicted. I didn't want to use the closing attorney, so called John based on a recommendation.

    I'm so glad I did! Not only did he save me money, but, more importantly, he patiently explained the process and what my options were concerning the eviction so I was able to make an informed decision on how best to proceed. Further, he prepared the necessary releases for the tenants to sign, and even reached out to the tenants to explain the document. The tenants signed off on the release, and were out before the sheriff had to come.

    It's been my experience in dealing with attorneys that some simply do not want to spend the time explaining the law to their clients - expecting the client to make decisions based on unclear or incomplete information. Not the case with John - again, he spent the necessary time with me to explain both my rights and the tenants' rights under the law so I had a clear understanding of what was at stake. This enabled me to proceed through the eviction process confident that I would be able to get the tenants out quickly and with minimal cost. Simply put, I highly recommend him for all landlord/tenant issues.

  4. Awesome, just awesome

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I recently found myself in a bit of a landlord/tenant nightmare and didn't know what to do. I had moved quickly and the house ended up having major issues, a "special" landlord and a god-awful lease.

    I ended up first reporting the landlord to the local code enforcement inspector who did an inspection and "nudged" me to find an attorney and find one fast. I found John on avvo.

    When I called John, he answered right away and we went over the basics of my situation and discussed possible courses of action, outcomes and costs. I decided to pursue one of the options and arranged to send all my documentation over.

    Mind you, my situation was not simple, not straightforward, not in Chicago city limits (or anywhere locally with awesome landlord/tenant ordinances) and I had a mess of things complicating an exit.

    John took his time reviewing my documents and discussing how we were going to approach my landlord (within about a 24hr period). After waiting on a few more documents, I decided to wait a few weeks for the code enforcement team to perform another inspection (basically add fuel to the fire) and got back in touch with John once it was done and I had the documentation.

    John turned the paperwork around relatively quick and it was off to my landlord. Then the settlement process took about 2-3 days (remember my landlord was "special").

    The next part was the walkthrough, key exchange and security deposit refund - which ofcourse happened over Christmas. And of course, hit a snag on Christmas Eve (one of my fears). John was available and we discussed what needed to be done (on Christmas Eve mind you) and waited for the next meeting with the landlord. The next meeting again had its issues, but thanks to John's prep, I was able to manage it on my own and finish things up.

    Overall, John was instrumental in helping me deal with a nighmare landlord/rental situation and get my deposit back in full. I would totally recommend him to anyone looking for assistance in the suburbs!!

  5. Professional, Reliable, Honest & Responsive Attorney

    Posted by Ernest, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    If you ever consider breaking a lease with your landlord in Chicago, you should give John Brennock a call. You can trust him and count on him. He knows his subject matters extremely well and uses his professional and legal expertise to guide and advise you.

    About a month ago, I had to break my lease with my former Chicago landlord for a new employment opportunity outside of Illinois. I did not expect I would ever be hired when I applied for the job back in May, so I renewed a new 12-month lease with my former landlord. Two months later the job opportunity came through. I immediately worked with my landlord to void my 12-month lease, but they refused to do so. My only given option was to sublet. At that point in time, I did not have time to go through all the required steps for sublet. I had 4 weeks to move out of Illinois. I found John E. Brennock on http://www.avvo.com and contacted him. He helped me get out of the lease in a clean slate.

    I am very thankful for John's help and certainly recommend him to anyone.

  6. Completely Satisfied

    Posted by Stephen, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. John Brennock worked with me to determine the best route i should go on my case. I couldn't be more happy with his results. Not only was John knowledgeable about my situation, but everything was handled properly and quickly. My case was dismissed, and given the circumstances of my case, I didn't break the bank for costs. John didn't ask for an outrageous amount of money, and got the job done. I am very thankful and satisfied with everything that john has done for me. I look forward to having John Brennock on my side if any future issuses arise where i need to hire a lawyer.

  7. Q & A

    Posted by Rachel, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John was easy to work with, and got back to me quickly. He made it easy to understand a complicated situation.

  8. Excellent, honest, generous attorney

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My wife and I got to know John through his father, Mike, who is a long-established Chicago attorney. Mike had helped us with a few real estate closings. We later hired John to help us with some legal issues related to our commercial rental property. John reviewed the lease, detailed our options, and represented us in court. We were able to get satisfaction on some back payments that the tenant owed. John Brennock is a smart and professional young attorney. He is thorough and spends as much time as needed to get to know the case and understand the legal issues in depth. He is responsive, swift to return calls or emails. We strongly recommend John as an attorney who is competent, generous, and has strong convictions.

  9. John Brennock, Esq.

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Brennock provided me with excellent consultation/guidance in a real estate matter. He was prompt, thorough, responsive, and extremely helpful. He helped me to understand my options and was extremely responsive. I would highly recommend him.

  10. Highly Recommend Brennocks

    Posted by James, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I live out of state and needed the assistance of attorneys to help our family. Our mother was living in Illinois, in ill health, and eventually passed. We were originally referred to Michael Brennock to help us with real estate issues. Later we were referred to John Brennock for lease and related estate issues. Both Michael and John were very professional and of great help to us during these difficult transitions. I would highly recommend them both!