John Edward Brennock’s Reviews

John Edward Brennock

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Recommended

    Posted by Kanahi,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.

    Mr. Brennock, represented me for a lease breaking. He was so professional, and answered all my questions, and I had a lot of them. Within 30 minutes, he was able to enlightened me to my rights as a tenant, and everything I was eligible for. I was able to break my lease, and move out within two weeks. So if you're having trouble with your landlord, or just have questions, don't hesitate to call Mr. Brennock.

  2. professional lawyer with great results

    Posted by scott, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John is a great lawyer and was very knowledgeable with my case. I did not think I was going to win this case until I saw john at work in front of the judge. He new what he was doing in the court room. I will use him again .

  3. Attorney John Brennock Landlord/Tenant review

    Posted by Kevin Cartwright, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would recommend Mr. Brennock to anyone looking for help with a landlord or tenant. He handled my case is speed, passion, knowledge and care. It only took Mr. Brennock 1 week to inform my landlord of the case that I had filed against him, negotiate a settlement and receive the full payment for the case. I was going through a problem with no getting my back security deposit from a landlord. I received 6,200 back from my landlord from a 1,800 security deposit. I was impressed with his knowledge and effectiveness. He was swift and easy to work with. I hope to do more business with him in the future. A+++

  4. Highly Recommended!! Quick, Thorough, Responsive, Excellent Legal Advice

    Posted by Katie, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John was extremely helpful with the landlord/tenant issues I had regarding the security deposit. I have not had to seek out legal advice prior to this, and John was very patient in breaking down the terminology/legal jargon for a lay person's understanding. He was easily accessible for questions/concerns I had, and was very thorough and knowledgeable on the subject matter. He also kept me posted of any updates via phone or email, as he received them. I highly recommend John to anyone seeking legal counsel.

  5. John Brennock.... A life saver to say the least.

    Posted by Kenneth,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John helped me out immensely with my case. Anytime I had a question whether I called or emailed him I always got my immediate response and answer. He was really thorough in explaining my whole situation in terminology I could truly understand. John also kept me constantly informed on the status of my case at hand. If ever,In the future I need an attorney....John will ALWAYS be the attorney I,myself and my family will go to! I'm recommending him to anyone and everyone in need of a friendly, honest,diligent attorney.

  6. Tenant/Landlord Recommendation

    Posted by Kamila, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John came highly recommended to me by a family attorney. John is straight to the point and thorough He handled my case with urgency in the little time I had to resolve it. I came to him with no knowledge or guidance. John was very informative and explained all the possible outcomes to me. He provided me with scenarios and options to resolved my case in my best interest. John is very professional and a pleasure to work with.

  7. Super helpful, amazing legal help with a Landlord dispute.

    Posted by Bekah, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    John helped me with a Landlord dispute in which the Building Management attempted to charge me for damages that did not exist (had pictures as evidence) when I declined to renew my lease. John researched, wrote a letter on my behalf, and worked directly with Management. Ultimately, Building Management released me from any liability for the non-existent damages (saving me almost $3K), due to John's help. Thank you so much again!

  8. Landlord/Tenant issues - clear and concise legal advice - highly recommended

    Posted by Mary, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I bought a two flat with a tenant that was in the process of being evicted. I didn't want to use the closing attorney, so called John based on a recommendation.

    I'm so glad I did! Not only did he save me money, but, more importantly, he patiently explained the process and what my options were concerning the eviction so I was able to make an informed decision on how best to proceed. Further, he prepared the necessary releases for the tenants to sign, and even reached out to the tenants to explain the document. The tenants signed off on the release, and were out before the sheriff had to come.

    It's been my experience in dealing with attorneys that some simply do not want to spend the time explaining the law to their clients - expecting the client to make decisions based on unclear or incomplete information. Not the case with John - again, he spent the necessary time with me to explain both my rights and the tenants' rights under the law so I had a clear understanding of what was at stake. This enabled me to proceed through the eviction process confident that I would be able to get the tenants out quickly and with minimal cost. Simply put, I highly recommend him for all landlord/tenant issues.

  9. Awesome, just awesome

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I recently found myself in a bit of a landlord/tenant nightmare and didn't know what to do. I had moved quickly and the house ended up having major issues, a "special" landlord and a god-awful lease.

    I ended up first reporting the landlord to the local code enforcement inspector who did an inspection and "nudged" me to find an attorney and find one fast. I found John on avvo.

    When I called John, he answered right away and we went over the basics of my situation and discussed possible courses of action, outcomes and costs. I decided to pursue one of the options and arranged to send all my documentation over.

    Mind you, my situation was not simple, not straightforward, not in Chicago city limits (or anywhere locally with awesome landlord/tenant ordinances) and I had a mess of things complicating an exit.

    John took his time reviewing my documents and discussing how we were going to approach my landlord (within about a 24hr period). After waiting on a few more documents, I decided to wait a few weeks for the code enforcement team to perform another inspection (basically add fuel to the fire) and got back in touch with John once it was done and I had the documentation.

    John turned the paperwork around relatively quick and it was off to my landlord. Then the settlement process took about 2-3 days (remember my landlord was "special").

    The next part was the walkthrough, key exchange and security deposit refund - which ofcourse happened over Christmas. And of course, hit a snag on Christmas Eve (one of my fears). John was available and we discussed what needed to be done (on Christmas Eve mind you) and waited for the next meeting with the landlord. The next meeting again had its issues, but thanks to John's prep, I was able to manage it on my own and finish things up.

    Overall, John was instrumental in helping me deal with a nighmare landlord/rental situation and get my deposit back in full. I would totally recommend him to anyone looking for assistance in the suburbs!!

  10. Professional, Reliable, Honest & Responsive Attorney

    Posted by Ernest, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Brennock.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    If you ever consider breaking a lease with your landlord in Chicago, you should give John Brennock a call. You can trust him and count on him. He knows his subject matters extremely well and uses his professional and legal expertise to guide and advise you.

    About a month ago, I had to break my lease with my former Chicago landlord for a new employment opportunity outside of Illinois. I did not expect I would ever be hired when I applied for the job back in May, so I renewed a new 12-month lease with my former landlord. Two months later the job opportunity came through. I immediately worked with my landlord to void my 12-month lease, but they refused to do so. My only given option was to sublet. At that point in time, I did not have time to go through all the required steps for sublet. I had 4 weeks to move out of Illinois. I found John E. Brennock on http://www.avvo.com and contacted him. He helped me get out of the lease in a clean slate.

    I am very thankful for John's help and certainly recommend him to anyone.