Michael C. Craven’s Reviews

Michael C. Craven

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommended

    Posted by Ieva, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Michael Craven & Associates are a great team!
    I found Michael Craven on Avvo.com and hired him to handle my divorce case. The divorce case I needed help with was pretty easy, simple and straight forward. The husband had abandoned a marriage a few years ago, and I did not know where to look for him or how to file a divorce myself, and solve this problem. However, Michael Craven knew very well how to approach this issue and was very clear about it. He explained everything from a first step to the last one, which seemed very efficient and not shady. I was also very glad that he did not take the entire fee at once, although it was only $1200; he split a payment in three parts.
    I also endorse Heather J. Rosenberg, who assisted me on a court day. She is a young professional, and outstanding in her job!
    I absolutely loved working with Michael Craven & Associates through the process of my divorce!

  2. Intelligent, Competent, Ethical and Humane

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Michael is an excellent attorney. I appreciated working with him. He quickly comprehends the big picture and identifies the crucial issues. He uses time efficiently and proceeds effectively. When I became ill he recognized that it would be hard to continue and asked if I would like to place the process on hold even though doing so may have disrupted his own schedule. It was important to me to be able to trust my attorney's intentions and actions. Michael lived up to that trust fully. He is a true professional.

  3. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Jerry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I never thought I would recommend a divorce lawyer, but after working with Michael, my opinion of the profession has changed dramatically. Michael made the entire process easy. I always felt that he genuinely cared about my case and always kept me informed, every step of the way. The entire process was smooth and very quick. My case was not dragged out any longer than it had to so he could collect more money. I had complete trust he was doing the right thing for me and would highly recommend his services to anyone.

  4. Smart Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael was very smart and thought of things that I did not think of during the divorce process. My kids are young, so I didn't think about payment of certain things when they are older and he brought up issues saving me a lot of money currently and down the line. He was knowledgeable in many areas and brought up points that neither me, my (x) husband or other attorney thought to bring up.

  5. Lynne S.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In a crisis, Michael was available, reassuring, proactive and professional. Michael was able to hear my needs/issues, explain the process, and provide a understandable plan of action. It was so nice to be able to reach him by phone and email.

  6. Good attorney, but never available.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Michael is a very knowledgeable attorney. My only complaint, which is a big one, is that he was not very available to me and was not responsive. Even in critical situations I could only get a hold of him one time per week in the best case and sometimes some times not even that frequently.

    While he is a good attorney, I won't use him again or recommend him.

  7. There is NOBODY better

    Posted by Jason, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Divorce is never an easy situation, no matter how amicable. For me, it raised so many concerns -- about my kids, finances, quality of life, etc.-- largely overwhelming. For my benefit, I quickly got connected with Michael, and I can't imagine there's a better, more thorough, confident, and empathetic lawyer out there. From the first time I met with him, I felt an enormous sense of confidence -- confident that he would look out for my best interests, confident that he would "talk me off the ledge" when things got tough (which they do, no matter how amicable), and confident that he would work through the process quickly and efficiently. While my case wasn't a multi million dollar divorce, he always made me feel like I was as important as anybody else. He remembered facts and details from my case that most would have forgotten. He was compelling and forcefull with the OA when he needed to be, yet diplomatic so as to de-escalate issues when they arose. He was a master at the written law yet creative in finding solutions when it appeared we were at an impase. And he was on-task and fast-paced, yet emphatetic in those times when I needed it the most. My situation was so emotional at times, and yet every time I talked to Michael, it immediately disarmed me. I just knew that everything would be fine, and that everything would work out. He had a perspective and a context that constantly reassured me, calmed me, and decreased the enormous anxiety I was feeling. I would highly recommend Michael as your representation ... and while I surely hope to not be in this position again, I would re-hire him in a heartbeat.

  8. Out of state leap of faith rewarded in Michael Craven

    Posted by Paul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My daughter had moved to Minnesota and needed to immediately find an Illinois Family Law attorney. Living in one state, while divorce and custody papers were being filed in another, created extreme anxiety for everyone in the family. My daughter's decision to retain Michael as her attorney was reaffirmed during our first meeting at his office. Michael provided helpful advice in describing the expectations and consequences that could accompany my daughter's court experiences. He answered my various concerns with calm and candor. After discovering the ever changing time demands on lawyers/judges, it's a real bonus that Michael's office is within two blocks of the court hosting Daley Center. It was our good fortune that Michael Craven was the 'out of state' attorney my daughter found to represent herself and the children in Illinois.

  9. Out of Town Divorce/ Child Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My Dad and I were so pleased with Mr. Craven's help. We could not have asked for a better representative!!

  10. Sensitive, Knowledgeable, and Speedy

    Posted by SLL, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Craven.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael was recommended to me from friends in the Family Law business. He was always professional, demonstrated his field expertise, and dealt with my ex-husband and his evasive lawyer tactfully and directly. Michael was always sensitive to my questions and concerns and took into account my financial situation and desire to complete this divorce speedily. He was honest in making me aware which topics were worth fighting for and which topics were petty in the grand scheme. Michael always responded to my emails and phone calls in a timely manner, and his secretary and office staff was pleasant and easy to talk to. I live approximately 30 minutes from the office and Michael was able to complete most of the transactions by fax, email, or phone call. I was always informed when he would be away from the office, and was also informed the day that I was in court as to the proceedings and what would be expected of me. I highly recommend Michael in the manner of divorce as he made this very difficult time in my life more expeditious, classy, and graceful.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

312-621-1230