Anthony Abear’s Reviews

Anthony Abear

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Abear review

    Posted by Jim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 6-12 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tony is an outstanding attorney. He helped me during a very difficult divorce. He kept me balanced and not only advised me during the legal process; but how to keep my sanity. Tony pointed me in the right direction and guided me with sound decisions. He's professional, smart, thorough and worked in the best interest of me and my children. i highly recommend Tony.

  2. An attorney and man of Integrity

    Posted by Victoria, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Child Support matter.

    Tony is a peaceful warrior inside and outside of the courtroom for his clients. He delivers justice with grace and humility. I think most of us who need legal council have a preconceived judgment of most attorneys because most have earned that label through their actions. Tony is the exception to that rule.

    It was easy to trust him and his experience because he is truly a man of integrity who goes the extra distance to bring justice and fairness to his clients.

    I highly recommend Tony. He is professional, experienced and truly cares about people, and it shows in his actions!

  3. Best attorney ever!

    Posted by Barry,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.

    Ever had an attorney that you could call at night, or on weekends, or even better, would come to your house or work to meet with you? Well over the years I have hired literally a dozen attorneys through work, and out of all those attorneys, none have ever done any of that. But Tony Abear is the brilliant exception. He consistently went out of his way to make sure I knew everything that was going on with my cases (a few over a few years), made himself available night and day, and was always prepared to the point that he was one step ahead of the opposing counsel!

    I used Tony for my divorce and custody, my sons ticket, and have referred 4 other cases to him. In each instance Tony has done amazing work!!!

    I would tell anyone looking for legal services to make Tony Abear's office their first, last, and only stop!

  4. a lawyer who put my worries at ease

    Posted by julie, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 6-12 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    He was very clear on what we were to expect at court ,and had all the legal details worked out before we even walked into the courtroom, The process was very easy with the outcome better than we expected

  5. Thank you Tony, and Jane B, for finally getting it done for me!!!

    Posted by Roger, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 6-12 months ago.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tony, and his office, was reccomended to me by another attorney that I know. She said he was good at what he does and I could trust him. I don't think she has ever been more right.

    Tony and his staff worked on my case, and it was not an easy one, without flinching. My ex- was very difficult to work with but they kept doing what they do best and eventually they were able to work up an agreement that even SHE could not argue with.

    I will always reccomend Tony and his office to everyody that I encounter.

    If I ever need an attorney for anything else, I will most definitely go back to Tony Abear.

    I could not be more happy with the work they did.

  6. Mistakes...

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Child Custody matter.

    Tony Abear has been representing me for over a year in a complex divorce and custody matter against my husband out of DuPage county in IL. Although he is still my attorney, as I'm writing this I am researching other attorneys in the area that can get me to the finish line in a much less frustrating manner. My main issue with Tony is his complete disrespect in keeping me informed, whether related to communication from the other side's attorney or issues related to motions and petitions file in court. He often argues in court for the sake of arguing and to make himself look good in front of the Judge and other attorneys in the courtroom, many times this has unfortunately (for me) back-fired and I'm starting to see the Judge losing his patience with both my attorney and me. Very rarely does he attempt to move my case forward, instead dragging out on the time and money I have invested in this case. I also listed him as "poor" in terms of his knowledge. He often gets corrected in court, either by the Judge or by the other side's attorney, further delaying my case.
    I would not recommend this attorney if you are looking to move your case forward, limit the expenses associated with a divorce or having an attorney you truly feel is working on your behalf.

  7. A Highly Skilled Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr Abear handled my divorce case with insight, efficiency, and care. I always felt that he was on top of the issues and moved with deliberate speed to bring the proceedings to a highly satisfactory close. He and her assistants Sally were very responsive and communicated well. He always kept me in the loop and gave sound legal guidance. Mr Abear also handled some real estate transactions for me and my criminal case. I am happy with the consistently excellent way in which he manages the legal process and with the outcomes of his work. I highly recommend him

  8. Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Anthony Abear.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Anthony Abear for my complex divorce case involving a spouse with a criminal case for domestic violence to a minor. As a mother, I have been supporting my children and upholding the household on my own for the past 2 years without any contribution from my spouse. I have endlessly informed Mr. Abear that I do not want anything from my spouse, and to just have the divorce over, since I have been spending so much money in attorney fees and would rather take my losses. Mr. Abear continues to play the game with my spouses attorney by continuously asking for more and more documents of my expenses; however, Mr. Abear does not follow through with obtaining my spouses financials. Also, my spouse has a criminal case that is pending and Mr. Abear thinks its a perfect idea for my spouse to have communication with my children when my children do not have a desire at this time and there is an order of protection in place. I find this unreasonable since my spouse has not wanted to have anything to do with his children for many months, nor has he taken any responsibility to financially support his children and his financial responsibilities for the mortgage, etc. Mr. Abear has favored my spouses side throughout this entire process. Mr. Abear has no problem calling me and asking for payment, but yet does not follow-up on returning my phone calls. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this attorney to any women that is truly trying to get out of an abusive relationship for the better of herself and children. Mr. Abear only wants your money and to make himself look good to the judge and the opposing attorney.

  9. ABSOLUTE BEST LAWYER EVER!!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony 1-3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Tony represented me for a very complex family law matter involving the welfare and custody of my child.

    I had worked with other lawyers before Tony and was full of despair when I first came to Tony. After the initial meeting, Tony turned my despair into hope and soon after that, turned that hope into a miracle.

    He and his staff, Michael and Sally, handled my case as if I were family. They were beyond compassionate, never gave up, and provided support for me every step of the way. In fact, for one of my hearings, the entire team came just to provide emotional and physical support for me.

    Tony then worked relentlessly to get results for me that no lawyer before him could ever get. He truly cares and is an advocate for children. He sought justice and never gave up until he got results. I'm confident that there's no other lawyer in Dupage County, or the State of Illinois for that matter, who can match his skill and service level. He is everything that anyone would ever want in a lawyer and beyond. He treats you like family, is honest, hard-working, reliable, competently knows the law, and is financially reasonable. And on top of all that, he always keeps as smile on his face, no matter how complex or stressful the situation, which really helped to relieve my worries through the process. He and his team are truly miracle workers and the absolute best ever in the legal system, hands down!!!

  10. A Critical Support System When Needed Most

    Posted by Tim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anthony Abear.
    • I hired Anthony more than 3 years ago.
    • Anthony handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met Anthony through a mutual friend. This was during the most confusing, scary,and humiliating time of my life. I was filing a divorce after twenty years of marriage. With no clue as to what to do or what to expect other than more pain, Anthony listened, advised and, most importantly, provided support. He guided me through the expectations, drawbacks and possible consequences of every step. I could not have come through all of this without his steady hand.

    His confidence and demeanor within the courtroom assured me that he was in charge and fighting for me. I have no regrets and know it is because Anthony had my case and my back. His knowledge of proceedings and his explanations of each step of the process was clear and concise.
    He spoke with clarity and patience, even in times of my personal anger, despair or distress. I never felt helpless.

    Anthony got me through the most difficult part of the divorce proceedings and continues to be there for legal support and direction as issues continue to come up regarding support and maintenance.

    Anthony is a true professional and someone I would recommend to anyone seeking legal counsel,
    especially in the matters of divorce and family law. He makes you feel worthy of someone's help during a time when that isn't so easy. Divorce is a very very difficult process and Anthony is more than a lawyer. He treats you as a friend going through difficult times. He is that critical support system you need at your most vulnerable time.

    Thank you Anthony for everything you did for me.

630-904-3033