Vijay Ratan Sharma’s Reviews

Vijay Ratan Sharma

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review of Vijay Sharma

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 6-12 months ago.
    • Vijay handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A friend recommended Vijay to me, and I had no prior experience hiring a lawyer before so I gave him a call. He was on his way out of town, but talked to me on the phone and gave his full on legal advice for an hour. I was thinking to myself, "not only is Vijay giving me legal advice, but he's providing full on support for the stress that I am feeling."

    Upon reaching my court date, Vijay explained the expectations and how everything would happen in full detail. All of my questions were answered with the utmost knowledge. There was a high level of respect and regard for myself, the client's, needs.

    After my court date was completed, I still found myself asking questions about my case. A text or a call away, Vijay made himself available, and was there once again to speak about the concerns I had.

    Although the experience of having a court case was not at all ideal, I am very pleased with the attorney that I chose. Because of his positive perspectives, knowledge, respect, and support, I would recommend him to all.

  2. DUI Lawyer - A+++++++

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-6 months ago.
    • Vijay handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Vijay was very helpful in helping me through this tough time and with his skills was able to get me off the hook with the least severity possible. He is passionate about what he does and will help you through all the hurdles you face through your case. He explained to me all my rights and all the options I had. He made sure I understood everything that was occurring and that I knew the consequences of what would happen if I choose to do one thing over the other. Overall, he did a great job and I would highly recommend him.

  3. Knowledgeable, Reliable and Thorough!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-6 months ago.
    • Vijay handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I can't thank you enough for what you have done for me. I am extremely grateful to have you in my corner during one of the most difficult times of my life. You were always there for me no matter what and I deeply appreciate it. If you are looking for a lawyer, who not only is knowledgeable, but takes a vested interest in each of his clients, then Mr. Sharma is the man for you!
    Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!

  4. Reliable and Responsive

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Vijay after firing my previous attorney. Frustrated, overwhelmed, and pessimistic about my case, I just wanted my trial to be over. Vijay was responsive the entire duration of my case and even advised me about some law issues, outside of what I hired him for. Vijay made my trial as painless as possible and he is someone who I recommend to anyone in a tough legal situation. All in all, I won my case with Vijay as my attorney.

  5. Professional and caring as it gets

    Posted by Farooq, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Vijay represented me on a DUI case several months ago. The entire process was horrible but made bearable by constant updates and discussions at every turn in the case. Vijay is a refreshing change in lawyers across the area. Helping his clients comes first and foremost in his mind.

  6. THANK YOU VIJAY SHARMA

    Posted by MARIUS, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hi everyone. My name is Marius and i have a CDL. Last year in october i was arrested and charged for DUI while i was driving my personal car.This is very bad when you have a CDL. My CDL was summary suspended and i had a court date. I was looking for someone to represent me in court and lucky me i found Vijay, honest and trustworthy. When i met him i was without hope but after speaking with him i started to hope again. In short words, he reduced the charge of DUI to reckless driving and what impressed me it was that after 3 days after my last court date i had my CDL back and i started to drive again a commercial vehicle. I recommend Vijay from the bottom of my heart to everyone who needs help with this. THANK YOU VIJAY SHARMA !!!!

  7. Great Experience

    Posted by Sergio, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Vijay is hands down, the best attorney I've worked with. He was extremely professional and diligent when walking me trough the steps to solve my situation. He helped me build a strong case which eventually was dismissed due to the strong evidence that supported my case. I would definitely recommend his services to other friends and/or family.

  8. Highly Recommended! Mr. Sharma's credentials are complemented perfectly by a refreshing authenticity.

    Posted by KJ, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We had recently moved to the area and my wife had the unfortunate luck of being involved in an alleged DUI incident. Anxious and unsure of what to do next, we began a very unscientific Google search of DUI lawyers in the Evanston area. After evaluating some different sites and reading numerous reviews and testimonials, we decided to email Mr. Sharma for more information. Within minutes of sending a brief description of our case (at 10:30 pm), we received a phone call from Vijay. He talked with us for about forty-five minutes and immediately outlined a plan of action and patiently answered all of our questions -- all without any agreement from us that we would hire him. (Interestingly, he never even brought up fees, unlike other lawyers, who merely want your money.) We hung up, but there was no question whom we wanted to represent us.

    In short, my wife was involved in a minor traffic accident near Evanston and when the police officer thought she had been drinking, and asked her to submit to a Breathalyzer test. She refused. The officer then proceeded to seize her license, and handcuff her and take her to jail. But, not before citing her for every minor infraction possible, including no registration or insurance card, failing to stop in a reasonable amount of time, transportation of open alcohol, and failing to change address on her license. We had moved less than three weeks before this incident.

    The most striking thing about Vijay is his authenticity. His understanding of DUI law, and his familiarity with the judges and prosecutors at the Skokie Courthouse are unparalleled, but it was how he talked with us that was more profound. Vijay talked with us like his neighbor, like a friend, and we appreciated that. We felt more than comfortable discussing all the details of our case and asking questions along the way. When our court date was postponed, he even rearranged another of his cases so that he could represent us at our new time.

    It was at this new court date that Vijay effectively got my wife's license reinstated, while getting most of the infractions dismissed, including the DUI. He carefully introduced doubt by asking the right questions and used police footage to counter the claims made by the arresting officer.

    If you've run afoul of the law and find yourself Googling, "What happens when I get a DUI?" you should definitely call Vijay. He is remarkably skilled in the courtroom, and will always put your needs first. He is always available by phone or text, and will speak to you honestly about your options. We resoundingly endorse Mr. Sharma.

  9. Review for Vijay Sharma

    Posted by Carla, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have not had a lot of personal encounters with the law but I ended up in some trouble back in May. I was referred to Vijay by another great attorney. Meeting up with Vijay he was VERY prepared and I have not even hired him to be my lawyer yet. The reason I hired Vijay at first because he was truly passionate about his work and he was a former prosecuter so he knows both sides of the law. His prices are very very reasonable and fair. I was facing a Felony 3 conviction for a retail theft which was a substancial amount of money. He told me all the different routes that I was able to take with my case. He always put my best interest first. After every court date he followed up with my telling me exactly what happend and why it happend. He is a complete work horse and if he by chance he missed my phone, he called me back with in hours. Very diligent work ethic and is probably one of the smartest attorneys I have ever met. He got my confiction down to a class A misdemenor. I am so thankful for him to represent me and I would recommend him to anyone.

  10. Professional, Polite, Courteious, Knowledgable in possession of a;; "tools" required by a Defense Lawyer.

    Posted by Alvin, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vijay Sharma.
    • I hired Vijay 1-3 years ago.
    • Vijay handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Was referred to Mr. Sharma by 2 people in the Clerk's Office & hired him to defend me instantly for a Speeding Ticket.
    In the Court Room he was "recognized" by the Prosecutors to be imminently qualified resulting in an immediate "victory" virtually w/o even trying the matter before the Court, which, I recognized as sheer respect by the "opposition" resulting in a favorable verdict for me, aka "victory." All that one would/could ever expect and more. I therefore w/o hesitancy or reservation recommend him to anyone in need of his services.

The Best in Criminal, DUI and Traffic Law

847-337-2716