Jeffrey Anton Collins’s Reviews

Jeffrey Anton Collins

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent

    Posted by Angela, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Jeffrey Collins by a good friend of mine who acquired his services last year. I was very hestitate because of the level of trust I have wtih attorneys from experiences in the past. I must say that I was very impressed wtih Mr. Collins services. He is very knowledgeble in his practice, he explained step by step of what was entailed in the processes ahead and was extremely kind. I will definitely consult with Mr. Collins for any future situations that may arise as well as refer him to others who may need legal services. I am completely satisfied!

  2. Chapter 7, no problem!

    Posted by Tony, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    J. Anton Collins' work was phenomenal. He was non-judgmental, was empathetic, and made me feel what I was doing wasn't immoral but an every day business decision that companies do. He made the process go by seamless and painless that our case was finished in a matter of 2 months or less. I highly recommend him.

  3. He Treats His Clients With Respect

    Posted by Taylor, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have dealt with many lawyers in the past because of my own profession. They all talked over my head in a language not understandable to the average person. I needed a lawyer who was not trying to impress me with big words.
    I need regular advice with corporate issues. I found Attorney Collins near Chicago and he gave me not only solid technical advice, but also respect. He definately knows tax law and cares about all of his clients.

  4. from brian

    Posted by brian, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I needed help in solving my debt issues I turned to mr Jeffrey collins.My case was handled very professionally and efficiently.Mr Collins and firm shoed good knowledge and responsibility in handling their business and my case.I highly recommend their services to everyone.

  5. Thanks for a Great Job

    Posted by Mike, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Collins handled a very complicated IRS matter for us with great efficiency. He immediately took over all communication with them and helped lay out a strategy for the case to protect our family's income and assets. He handled the entire situation with great professionalism, and most importantly for us a very satisfactory settlement arrangement. His staff was also friendly and helpful.

  6. Thank You Jeff Collins For All You Help!

    Posted by Noel, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I want to Thank You Jeff for everything you have done for me. I started working with Jeff back in 2008 after working with another lawyers on my tax problems who basically belittle me the whole process. I had some unfiled taxes and for a few years which were very complicated because of my stock trading and needed to find a lawyer who could understand I wasn't a bad person but just allowed things to get out of control. After metting with Jeff and discussing my case. He showed me understanding and compassion. I finally felt this nightmare would get resolved. Then I lost my job and freaked out because I wasn't sure how I was going to pay Jeff and lost contact for a few months. I got myself together and contacted Jeff and without hesitation Jeff reopen my case and help with a payment plan that worked for me. Jeff was able to get the IRS off my back and work out a deal with them. Jeff stayed in constant contact with me about my case and he was able to get this problem resolved. I was finally able to put this case behide me and get on with my life. I would like to Thank Jeff for everything You have done and I have suggested him to a few other people I know who needed help and he was able to help also.

  7. Avoid at all costs

    Posted by Greg, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Collins.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Took me for over $5000.00 Intentionally misrepresented me to the IRS in order to secure future audits. Did no preparation for audit meetings with the IRS. Was a no show in at least two meeting with the IRS. (didn't even bother to reschedule until the IRS agent contacted him to do so) Had the IRS perform all accounting for him. Mr. Collins misconduct resulted in two additional years of tax audit. His negligence angered the IRS agent to the extent that damages in the form of penalties we unnecessarily assessed. Lost or misplace vital files provided to him, by us, for our case. Minimally communicated with me, the client, in order to clarify expenses to properly represent to the IRS. Indicated that "all is well" , "I've got it under control", "Don't worry about a thing" all while totally mismanaging our case. Created a long stream of misinformation for which we had to hire another firm to undo. The resolution to our case took over two and a half years to achieve.....a case which should have been over in a month or two, were it not for this man's incompetence. We ultimately prevailed through the efforts of the other firm. However, extensive work was necessary to undo the damage caused by this attorneys gross mishandling of our case. Do not, repeat, do not hire. Go back to your records. Collect your receipts, hire an experienced professional with experience in your field of work and honestly go forward with your own audit.

    1. Jeffrey Anton Collins

      Jeffrey Collins

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do not recognize this person's situation, as a past client. Unfortunately, intentionally harmful reviews are a hazard of this online forum.

      I typically do not request client reviews, so my many satisfied clients from nearly 20 years experience as either a CPA or Attorney are missing here.

      For the reader's understanding:
      Our work on these cases begins when a client contacts us, usually long after an IRS Agent contacts the client. Often, the opportunity for the BEST outcome passes, long before we are contacted for help. The nature of these IRS-related cases cannot guarantee that every client will be happy with their results. However, my professional policy is, and will always be, that I will continue to work any case until the best possible resolution is met. That policy is absolutely guaranteed, and my clients know that.

      (Also, the fees in nearly 100% of our past clients' cases were less than half the amount mentioned in this review.)

      We do rely upon our clients to be cooperative, communicate, and provide necessary information when requested, etc. So we update our clients, often. We use a great online workspace to exchange documents, case status, appointments, and ongoing results. And whenever a client is unhappy, there are many specific opportunities to express the problem. Then we resolve that problem.

      Like I stated above, I do not recognize this person's situation, as a past client. But if this is actually a client of ours, then that person can still contact me directly for resolution. But intentionally harmful reviews are not helpful to anyone.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag