Jeffrey Phillip Mathias’s Reviews

Jeffrey Phillip Mathias

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome!

    Posted by Dave, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We felt like a great weight had been lifted off our shoulders when we walked out of Jeff's office. Four years later he still responds to emails and questions almost instantly. If Jeff didn't know the answer he directed us to someone who could help. Best money we ever spent. Jeff is awesome!

  2. Thanks!

    Posted by Kyle, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Jeff was a pleasure to work with in a difficult circumstance. He was always very responsive to questions and concerns whether it was 8:00AM or 8:00PM. He made the process easy to understand and was always there when I needed his advice. I would certainly recommend him to anyone who is experiencing debt concerns and is seeking a fresh start.

  3. HIGHLY RECOMMENED! GREAT GUY!

    Posted by KAYLAN, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    JEFF WAS EXCELLANT! HELPED ME OUT WITH EVERY QUESTION AND CONCERN I HAD. MADE THINGS VERY EASY AND HELPED ME UNDERSTAND EVERYTHING IN MY TERMS. QUICK TO RESPOND TO EMAILS. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  4. A Personal Bankruptcy Expert in Iowa

    Posted by Jonathan Ginsberg, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Jeff Mathias and I are professional colleagues in the area of consumer bankruptcy representation. Although I practice in a different state, I have come to know Jeff through email, phone conversations and by reading his website articles and viewing his videos.
    Jeff is one of the few bankruptcy lawyers in the country who truly seeks to educate his clients about bankruptcy and non-bankruptcy alternatives so they can make an informed decision about whether to file.
    I have been in practice myself for over 25 years and I regularly review Jeff's site and I watch his videos. I have also had the pleasure of speaking with him on the phone to discuss recent bankruptcy law developments. He is knowledgeable, straightforward and approachable. I feel very comfortable recommending Jeff to any Des Moines area resident who is considering bankruptcy.

  5. Johnny And Kelly

    Posted by Johnny And Kelly,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.

    This was such a smooth experience for us and Jeff went above and beyond to make sure we got everything we deserved. He was quick to answer questions and emails. I would recommend if you need help Jeff is your guy. We live out of town and we only had to come to Des Moines twice once to meet Jeff and fill out the paper work and once to our hearing. Thanks Again for a Great Job Jeff!!!

  6. Just received my discharge.

    Posted by Gary, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff made the whole process easy, prompt email responses and very knowledgeable.
    Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Jeff to anyone thinking about bankruptcy.
    Don't wait, like we did, contact Jeff and your worries will be taken care of.
    Thanks Jeff

  7. Jeff is the best!

    Posted by Jill, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Jeff promptly answered all of my questions, even before I hired him. He made everything so simple and eased all my worries and stress about filing bankruptcy.

  8. Jeff Mathias Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Jessica, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Made me feel reassured and more positive about my future. He helped give me a chance to start my life over again and was amazingly responsive in getting back to me! Thanks so much!

  9. Highly recommended!!

    Posted by Jessica D, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I just got my discharge in the mail yesterday for my chapter 7 bankruptcy. I was so nervous about this process. I had actually paid a down payment on different lawyer but got cold feet because he left me feeling very uneasy. This is when I found Jeff by searching the internet. First his website is so very helpful. It is loaded with information that you need to know about filing bankruptcy. Secondly, Jeff replies to email in an almost unbelievable quick time. Even after hours. The first time I emailed him I was at work on 3rd shift and was so shocked to get a reply within minutes of asking a question. He is very knowledgeable and he doesn't judge you on your situation. He answered most of my questions before my appointment and sent video and audio messages all through the process. The office appointment went very well. He had me fully preprared through email communication before I ever got there. He even sent audio with instructions on how to find his office. The hearing went so well. He was the most professional and knowledgeable lawyer in there. After the hearing he took a minute to tell me that the hearing went well which left me leaving with a much easier feeling. There were no surprises he had everything covered before we even thought about going into that courtroom. I witnissed other lawyers unorganized and left with no answers when the judge asked questions. I believe Jeff goes above and beyond what a person filing bankrupcty would expect. Like I said I had already met with 2 other lawyers who left me with an uneasy feeling as I left their offices. I wish I could explain it better but I assure you, you will not be disappointed in Jeff! He helped me so much an I am forever greatful!

  10. Excellent!

    Posted by Valerie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Mathias.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jeff made my filing so easy. I was a nervous wreck! All of my questions were answered and the entire process was so quick! Jeff lays it all out in front of you. There are no surprises or hidden fees. You will know in your first consultation what the fees are, what he needs to handle your case...the expectations are quite clear. Here it is 5 years after my filing...I needed a copy of all of my papers, and in 20 minutes I received it via email. He was really great to work with. If you are even THINKING about filing bankruptcy, you need to see Jeff Mathias!!! Don't waste your time with other attorney's...really.