Deanna L. Kelley’s Reviews

Deanna L. Kelley

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. More Than Just an Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 6-12 months ago.
    • Deanna handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you ever find yourself in need of a defense attorney, it's hard to know where to begin. How does someone select an individual to speak for them and fight for them in what is most likely the most terrifying experience of their life? If this is you, and you are considering Deanna Kelley, you can confidently end your search now. Deanna is the one you want on your side. She not only knows the law inside and out, but having been a prosecutor, she has the distinct advantage of understanding the other side of the case. This gives her a strategic edge over other attorneys when formulating a strong case for her clients. With that said, what makes Deanna so special goes beyond her superior talent and knowledge of the law. She is a kind and compassionate person, and is understanding towards her clients. She is tough and direct when needed, yet still calm and reassuring to her clients in such a difficult time. If you haven't gone through a legal battle in your life, I can't possibly enforce how important it is to have someone on your side that believes in you, cares about you, and who you know is truly fighting tirelessly for your well-being. That person is Deanna Kelley. I am thankful every day to have had her on my side.

  2. Thank you Deanna

    Posted by Lori, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 6-12 months ago.
    • Deanna handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Deanna was involved throughout the entire process. She was honest, upfront and kept us informed. She talked to everyone involved and defended my son very well against the false accusations.

    1. Deanna L. Kelley

      Deanna L. Kelley

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Lori! It was my pleasure to represent your son. I was pleased that he was found Not Guilty. Justice was served!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  3. Excellent and knowledgeable defense attorney

    Posted by Lisa, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Deanna Kelley is an exemplary defense attorney. Tenacious, forth-right, persistent, honest, purposeful, and diligent describes some of her attributes. I was in a situation where I desperately needed an attorney to defend me against false charges. Her thorough knowledge of the law, her organizational skills of putting the pieces together in a coherent manner, and her belief in my innocence helped to get the case completely dismissed. Thank you, Deanna, thank you!

  4. Personable, hard-working and earnest lawyer

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Deanna represented a friend and I in a domestic violence case. She is a very thorough, hard-working and honest defender. Once she was hired, Deanna whole-heartedly immersed herself in the case, and left no stone unturned to unearth all the facts. In addition to being a hard worker, she is also very personable. This allowed me to be totally honest with her and gave me a sense of security knowing that she was on my side. I would recommend her to anyone and everyone in need of a criminal defense attorney.

  5. Great attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Deanna is tough, thorough, and very knowledgeable. She was a prosecutor and I feel that gives her a distinct advantage as she knows the ins and outs of both sides of the process. I, like others here, never thought I would need a defense attorney, but found out how easy it is to be accused of something if someone wants to go that route. My outcome was good and I have Deanna to thank for that. Even though I don't have experience with all of this, I know when someone is working hard for me and she did in every respect. I wouldn't recommend anyone else.

  6. Hardest working lawyer I have ever known! Restored my faith in justice!

    Posted by Peggy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a law abiding mother of 3, preschool teacher, charitable causes volunteer, police wife and Faith filled woman, I NEVER expected to need a criminal defense lawyer. When my world was turned upside down by a handful of vindictive people, I turned to Deanna Kelley. She essentially saved my life during what felt like a nightmare! I was naive enough to think that truly innocent people would never be charged with a crime unless there was actually a crime commited. Sadly, I saw the truth in just how far people are willing to go to hurt another person for their own financial and political gain. If it can happen to me, it can happen to anyone! I could have a taken a "plea deal" early on in my case and saved alot of time and stress but I would have always regretted it. The prosecuting attorney was hoping for, even counting on, a plea deal to justify their own mistakes, they even threatend and ADDED additional charges when I would not agree to their deal. My name, my family's reputation, and the future of my my children were too important to allow this injustice. Deanna knew that I was fighting on "principle" and believed in me 100%! I have never seen a lawyer work harder or dig deeper for a case. She was an unbelievable fighter and yet always professional. The night before my preliminary hearing, she was working late (again) going over every detail of the case (again) to be sure she was beyond prepared; meanwhile, my husband and I were out to dinner-THIS is the peace of mind Deanna gave us. She even called me the morning of my hearing just to make sure I was emotionally and mentally ready and knew what to expect ie. just to make sure I was "ok". Always professional, always proper, but also always giving that little bit extra; that "human touch". She truly cared, not just about winning the case but about me, about my family, about JUSTICE. Our judge and our local court will never forget this case or Deanna Kelley. There was quite "a buzz" over the lawyers (she and Steve Vitale) that were publicly exposing the truth about sloppy police work, lack of evidence, false rumors, disregard for policies, violation of rights and overall misconduct and misuse of power. The nightmare I had been living turned into a very enjoyable day in court! I certainly didnt expect to leave the courthouse so elated. Deanna never gave me false promises or false hope. She believed in me and my case but always warned that nothing is guaranteed. We knew that we could be in for a long trial before claiming victory, but due to Deanna's dedication and diligence, the case was dismissed at the preliminary hearing. It is because of Deanna that I am able to enjoy my life again!

  7. Best Criminal Defense

    Posted by Thomas, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna more than 3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As apolice officer I highly recommend Deanna Kelley and her partners. A family member was accused of crimes that were patently false. After seeking advice from other attorneys and seeing the direction the case was going we asked for another opinion. Deanna and her firm went above and beyond to make our case their priority. They went the extra distance to prove the prosecution was wrong. They skillfully and masterfully worked the courtroom to expose the truth to see that justice was done. This highly sensitive case resulted in all original charges being dismissed. Because of my chosen profession, my family was unfairly scrutinized at a level higher than the general populace. With Deannas experience as a former prosecutor she has unusual insight into how the justice system works and uses that knowledge her clients advantage.

  8. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Christina, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I will highly recommend services from Deanna Kelly in the future to anyone in search for professional legal services from an individual that is respectively appreciated and helpful with any and all questions during the legal process.

    1. Deanna L. Kelley

      Deanna L. Kelley

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the great review! It was my pleasure to help you in this case! I was thrilled that we were able to get all charges dismissed! Justice was served!

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Tough as nails attorney that inspires confidence

    Posted by Brad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna more than 3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Deanna has proven herself to be highly skilled attorney, well versed in the law and all its subtle gray areas. Her connections in Oakland County were very useful in my case, and she was able to achieve a far better outcome than I had expected. I appreciate her blunt honesty, no fluff but also made me feel confident that things would be alright.
    She was there every step of the way, and always had answers for all my questions. Facing criminal charges is a very frightening time, and her calmness helped me to focus on the case and not "freak out". She has a commanding presence, and I knew every detail of my case was being handled professionally.

  10. Police Failed

    Posted by Forat, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Kelley.
    • I hired Deanna more than 3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Deanna was very kind, and very fast. She analyzed all aspects of my case which was for Firearms Felony and found that the law enforcement agency FAILED the constitution, violating my rights. Case was dismissed. I would and do recommend her any chance I get!