Todd D. Schmitz’s Reviews

Todd D. Schmitz

Average Rating

Based on 48 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review of Todd D. Schmitz

    Posted by Cheryl, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd < 1 month ago.
    • Todd handled my Trusts matter.

    I walked into Mr. Schmitzs' office totally confused as to what I needed to do. He walked me through every step and answered all of my questions. Mr. Schmitzs assistant Michael Garrisi is also very knowledgable and very willing to help when needed. I am very pleased with my association with Mr. Schmitz and Mr. Garrisi.

  2. Excellent advice and very thorough

    Posted by James, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd 1-6 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Todd's expertise in setting up our parents trust in order to preserve their savings when my father entered a nursing home was a great relief. Todd made the process understandable and simple. His follow up advice and guidance made us feel comfortable and at ease. I would recommend his services to anyone.

  3. Reliable advise

    Posted by Linda, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Trusts matter.

    my family hired Mr. Todd Schmitz to prepare a living Trust for my mother and step father in 2009. From time to time since then, we've had need to ask Todd for advise about the Trust and some interpretation. He has responded to my calls in a timely fashion (I live in another state) and answered questions.

  4. Todd Schnitz "A Journey Through Elder Law"

    Posted by Ellen, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Elder Law matter.

    Todd Schmitz and Mike Garissi are extremely competent in the area of Elder Law...That was the reason I contacted Todd and I was always pleased with the respectful and knowledgeable treatment I received from them...I certainly believed they knew what they were doing and never worried that I hadn't been well represented...I have recommended them to several friends and relatives ...

  5. Estate Planning and Medicaid Attorney

    Posted by Tom, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Todd initially prepared Estate Planning documents which were later used to prepare an application for medicaid. Todd and his paralegal then handled that application and got the application approved. In a process that can only be described as burdensome, Todd was always accessible and responsive.

  6. Mitchell Family

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dealing with Todd Schmitz has always been a pleasure! He helped my parents set up their trust, helped the family amend it after my father died, and is now helping me administer the final division of assets. Not only is he very professional and knowledgeable, you feel very comfortable dealing with him! He is very personable, caring, and a great listener who will answer all your questions!

  7. Excellent service, especially after the fact

    Posted by Martin, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Todd has been especially helpful to my brother and I in resovling things after our mother's passing. He has provided a great deal of guidance that has made it easy to tie up all the loose ends. I have been especially impressed with how responsive Todd has been after the fact. He quickly gets back to us even after-hours. He's answered all our questions and provided all the necessary documents to settle our mother's estate.

  8. Excellent Lawyer when performing estate planning

    Posted by Dennis, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Completed a comprehensive estate plan for my Mother and Todd assisted with establishing a Trust. Todd was very well organized and I was able to ask questions re. the Trust months after the completion of the Trust. He helped my family with unforeseen matters even after my Mother's passing one year afterwards. Highly experienced and an excellent communicator.

  9. Case Closed

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I picked Todd in regards to a couple ads/articles he wrote along with a referral from a co-worker who had hired him previously. He explained the process and/or plan that was to be done simplifying it from the legal standpoint to a level his client could understand in order for me to research and do what I needed to do on my end. The case took almost 4 years to close due to DHS mistakes and incorrect information the case worker came up with. But Todd stuck with the case knowing his figures and what he determined was correct until it worked out on behalf of his client.

  10. Irrevocable Income Only Trust Preparation by Todd Schmitz for my father

    Posted by russell, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Todd Schmitz.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The initial Trust preparation took some time but then proceeded well with Todd personally visiting my father for consent and signatures and then visiting and cooridinating with the Veterans Administration. VA benefits were obtained and, although my father died before Medicaid benefits were possible, I knew they would be eventually.

Call now for a FREE 15-minute Elder Law telephone consult, or order a FREE report! :)

586-493-7661