Shawn Richard Dominy’s Reviews

Shawn Richard Dominy

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Lawyer Recommendation

    Posted by Ashley, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn 6-12 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    When I found myself in need of representation, I did not know where to go so I called around to several different lawyers. After speaking with numerous lawyers the conversation I had with Mr. Dominy stuck out the most to me because he was not only extremely knowledgeable and professional, but he was also relatable. During a very stressful and scary time in my life Mr. Dominy was able to provide me peace of mind. Throughout the process he kept me well informed and quickly responded to all of my questions. I especially liked that we were able to do the majority of our communication thru email because it was very convenient. Mr. Dominy was able to have my charge of OVI lowered even with my participation in some field sobriety tests. I would highly recommend Mr. Dominy to anyone I know in a similar situation.

  2. Lawyer Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn 6-12 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I first researched lawyers and came across Shawn Dominy Law . I read his website and felt comfortable. I contacted Shawn immediately after I was charged and summoned to court I met with Shawn to discuss my options. Shawn was very informative regarding my case. He was always available to answer questions or concerns of mine and put me at ease with the situation at hand. Regarding my case we contacted a lot through email and Shawn responded in a timely and professional manner. He always makes himself available to answer or talk about anything. Once we decided the route to take for my case Shawn kept me very informed with the court processes and documents that needed to be signed etc. Fortunately for my case the process was simple as this was my first criminal charge and Shawn sought diversion for my case. I was awarded diversion and my case was dismissed. Following the dismissal Shawn walked me down to the courthouse to help me file expungement for my case free of charge and walked me through the process. I would recommend Shawn Dominy as he took my case seriously, was informative and always there to guide you through the process and reach the best possible outcome for your case. Overall a great experience with Shawn and would refer him to any others down the road if needed.

  3. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Tanya, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn 6-12 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I highly recommend Shawn who recently represented me for the charge of OVI and a Marked Lanes violation. I had a very favorable outcome including the dismissal of the OVI charge and a termination of the one-year Administrative License Suspension. Shawn was knowledgeable, respectful, and most importantly non-judgmental through the entire process. Facing the OVI charge was very scary. Shawn put me at ease with his consistent communication and willingness to fully explore all options available to me. I am confident Shawn is the best as what he does!

  4. I would highly recomend Mr Dominy.

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Juvenile matter.

    Mr Dominy is very knowledgeable and keep me from spending jail time by having the documents to show it was not legal in my case. He worked very hard to reduce my charges and I thank him for that.

  5. The Most Highly Recommended DUI Attorney in Columbus!

    Posted by Leslie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Shawn represented me in an OVI case over a year ago and he provided me with great information as to what my options were in regards to the case ad worked diligently to ensure that all the facts were accurately represented. Because of his relentless determination, the pending charges of my case was reduced to physical control which is the best outcome that you could hope for given the circumstances. I highly recommend Shawn to anyone that is in a similar situation.

  6. Great attorney!

    Posted by Anna, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My first and only time in court was for underage and ovi. Shawn was very informative and helped me understand everything that was going on with our court appearances. He was knowledgeable about everything he did and left me at ease that my case my being taken care of. He ended up getting my ovi down to reckless op and 6 month probation for the underage but no criminal record for underage, which was such a relief. Have recommended him to friends who have also gotten an ovi.

  7. Experienced Professional

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shawn helped me through a couple OVI cases. One was a high test that he was able to lower and the other was a probation violation in which he again helped to acquire the lower sentencing.

    Shawn was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and trained to help me figure out my options and potential outcomes. I highly recommend him for any OVI related cases.

  8. Great attorney, great person.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Excellent attorney. I have only had to deal with the courts through an attorney once, though I have been in more trouble than that. He understood my needs and concerns at the time and what he needed to do to meet them. Very nice person in general, well spoken. I am very happy with what he did. He is a, I guess to say, good legal acquaintence with the prosecutors and outlined that how much more trouble it would be for them to pursue chargers rather then give me a bond forfeiture and let me off. Understands how things works in the courts and uses that to his advantage.

    I would go back to him again if need be, and for my sake I greatly hope I never need be.

    *This was not for a DUI/DWI/OMVI rather a underage charge. The choice is not in the list.

  9. No need to look further

    Posted by Jason, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shawn is not only a very good attorney, but is also a people person. I have always cringed when attorneys came up in conversation and had a bad experience with a Divorce Attorney in the past. Unfortunately for me I needed Shawn, but Fortunately for me I found Shawn because he truly is a gentlmen when it comes to providing the services that were needed to help me during my situation. Although I had lots of questions, Shawn gave me a fair price and treated me with the utmost respect. I don't believe there is enough room in this little box to provide the type of positive feedback required to show anyone just how great Shawn was.

  10. fantastic

    Posted by christine, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dominy.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. dominy is a fantastic lawyer, when i got charged with and ovi i was so scared, but he explained to me step by step what was going to happen and answered all my questions not matter how stupid i thought they were. He got my case droppped down to a physical control. i couldnt be happier with the end result.

Email me or call me to schedule a free phone consultation

614-717-1177