David Ashley Haenel’s Reviews

David Ashley Haenel

Average Rating

Based on 51 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Professional and efficient attorney

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I've always owned up to my traffic mistakes and paid my citations. However, in the case of a faulty traffic light and an unreasonable deputy I was unwilling to pay this citation. This attorney handled everything quickly and professionally.

  2. PHENOMENAL QUICK POSITIVE OUTCOME 10 STARS!!!!!

    Posted by Alejandra, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Licensing matter.

    I was in a pickle with my license being revoked for five years for being a habitual traffic offender. I was in complete panic and Mr. Haenel and his team were phenomenal. They took my case and imediately worked on it realizing the gravity of my situation. To my dismay, one week later my license was reinstated!!! I really have no words to describe the piece of mind that was returned to me. I highly encourage and recommend him if you have a case he can handle. Your money will be well spend with him. Everything about their service was spectacular. They kept me informed and were immediately responsive to any of my questions. I can't say enough.

  3. Job Well Done!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Last year I was on vacation in the Sarasota / Englewood area when I was stopped around 3 am for going 75 mph on US 41, in a 45 mph zone. Clearly I wasn't paying any attention to my speed on this seven lane highway and found out later that this was a favorite place to give out tickets for speeding during those early morning hours when the highway was virtually empty. My girlfriend and I had a few beers earlier that night and when I truthfully answered the officer's question if I had been drinking, the officer told me to take a breathalyzer. When I refused until I had a chance to speak to my attorney first, I was immediately arrested, handcuffed, taken away in his police car and booked in the county jail! The fact that I went ballistic over my treatment by both the arresting officer and later the jailer didn't help my case either.

    After I was bailed out by my girlfriend, I contacted David for help. Although the prosecutor wanted a DUI conviction, a huge fine, suspension of my driver's license, impoundment of my car and even jail time due to my behavior after being arrested, David was able to get all of these charges either dropped or reduced. I know I was going too fast and had to pay for this mistake but on the other hand I felt I was not impaired and believed the punishment proposed by the prosecutor was excessive. It was a scary time for me and when all is said and done, a very time consuming and expensive mistake as well. Fortunately this was my first offense and the judge agreed to a reduced charge. David did an excellent job defending me.

    David is also the author of several books on this subject which are available for free at his office at 200 N. Washington Blvd in downtown Sarasota. The books do an superb job in explaining your rights after a DUI arrest. My only regret is that I was reading this information after the fact and could have saved myself a lot of grief if I had known all this before. My first mistake of driving too fast was compounded by another mistake and then another that night. I discovered the hard way that Sarasota does not take kindly to DUI offenders refusing to take a breathalyzer let alone talking back, but I must say David knows how to obtain a fair result in spite of all this. I don't know what I would have done without him. If you have been charged with a DUI, I learned my lesson, drive more safely, and David Haenel is the attorney you need to see!

    Thank you!
    AH

  4. DUI reduced to Wreckless

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    The Best! Called me within 3 minutes of my email request! Excellent guidance with process to follow for both DMV and court system. His "Guide to surviving your Orlando DUI" was a lifesaver for me. He put me at ease and communicated clearly what was taking place. All my phone calls and emails were answered within minutes. My case was reduced from DUI to wreckless driving, adjudication withheld. Careless driving ticket was also dismissed. He was negotiating for me up until the courtroom doors opened and saved me $500. Awesome Result!!!!!

  5. Simply an AMAZING lawyer!

    Posted by Margaret, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    Mr. David Haenel is fantastic. He accepted my very complicated traffic accident case after just a few minutes of conversation. He did not raise any unrealistic expectations towards what might happen with my case, but instead provided hope which helped ease the heavy weight of worry I had. He and his staff were available to answer any and all questions I may have had and were able to ease my apprehension with their expertise in the matter. He spent a considerable amount of time and effort thoroughly researching the case and consulting with experts to get the proper information and facts to better defend me. He was able to rebut the prosecuting trooper’s report on what had happened in my accident effectively, which ultimately resulted in the dismissal of my ticket. I will, without a doubt, recommend Mr. Haenel to anyone who is unfortunate enough to have come into similar circumstances such as mine, and wholeheartedly say that he is one of the best lawyers that I have met. He will fight on your side 200% and he will fight like a bulldog. I cannot express my gratitude towards him enough, he allowed me to get back to my life and live it without any more worries in the matter.

    Thank you again, Mr. Haenel.

  6. Very professional attorney

    Posted by RP, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I contacted David following an arrest for a DUI. David responded on a weekend and immediately began digesting the case and presenting to me an honest assessment of where I stood in the process. He gave me a checklist of things that I could obtain for him in order for him to better represent me. Based on his professionalism, knowledge, and information I obtained on him using the Internet I decided that he was the right attorney for me. I am so glad that I made this decision. I got everything that he asked for and then in essence he told me that he would handle everything else. Within a few weeks David notified me that he had won my case in the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles and that I therefore had a full license. He then proceeded to defend my case vigorously on the civil side, which eventually culminated in the result that I was hoping for, a withold of adjudication on a Reckless Driving. This took a great deal of work on David's part and I believe that he puts above and beyond effort in to every case that he takes on and any one in my position in this area would be lucky to have him representing them.

  7. DAVID IS AN OUTSTANDING ATTORNEY!

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    David is an outstanding defense attorney, and I would highly recommend him. My case had been pending for 5 months and he was able to get it dismissed. He is very well-prepared, and pays great attention to the details. You'll be in good hands with David!

  8. effective DUI expert

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Got me out of a lot of unnecessary trouble! This guy is a genius. reviewed my DUI case carefully and took the necessary steps to bring justice to town!

  9. THIS IS THE GUY TO HIRE!!!

    Posted by Anne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.

    Mr. Haenel is an excellent attorney. He assisted myself and my son on moving violations and other matters and I was very happy with the results. He is responsive and professional and I would recommend him to any person seeking an attorney.

  10. David Haenel was an amazing lawyer to work with!!!

    Posted by Keith,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Haenel.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.

    I was lucky enough to have David Haenel to represent me on a legal matter and he was AMAZING!! He was able to get my case dismissed!!!! His knowledge and passion are fantastic and refreshing. From the moment I first spoke with him, until my case was closed I was kept in the loop about everything. I highly recommend David to anyone looking for representation.

855-890-7979