Derek B Brett’s Reviews

Derek B Brett

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Brilliant Commercial Litigator

    Posted by William, a Commercial Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I own and run a number of reasonably high-profiled companies. I came to Brett with a number of legal issues involving former business partners and competitors. I was in up to my neck. My previous lawyer had failed miserably to get the cases going and I was left in a spot where several million dollars, and my companies' existence, were on the line.

    I saw Brett's online profile. He took care of me. He also reversed the tide against me, giving me victories despite what he first started with. He knows his stuff and is able to find issues where my other lawyer was left floundering. Also, he saved me money. Over the course of 18 months of representation, Brett charged me less than my former lawyer charged me in half that time.

    Brett is instinctive and honorable. I would not hesitate to hire him again.

  2. Lawyer Who Knows His Stuff and Fights Hard for His Clients

    Posted by Sharon, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Derek Brett was there for me. I was going through a horrible struggle on an employment law issue. I was looking for someone to vindicate me and to make certain that my bosses be made to pay for their illegal actions against me. Derek handled the case, charging me a fair fee (and earning every dime and then some). He kept me informed, he made me believe that he really cared, and he fought so hard for me. In the end, we won. I believe that Derek is what lawyers are supposed to be about. He puts a good face on a profession with a mixed reputation. I encourage those out there to strongly consider his hiring.

  3. I recommend Derek Brett

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek 1-6 months ago.
    • Derek handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have been represented by Derek Brett a number of times over the years ranging from serious matters to lesser matters. His services were professional, timely and fairly priced. I recommend Derek to anyone wanting honest and effective counsel.

  4. Dedicated and Honest

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Brett represented me honestly and with extraordinary dedication. He returned all of my calls promptly and gave me excellent advice. He explained what I needed to know about my situation.
    He easily earned his reasonable fee.

  5. Fantastic Lawyer!

    Posted by a Constitutional client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Constitutional matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Derek is beyond good. He handled a case involving a family member and was always accessible. We never felt like we were stuck on an island. He truly cares about his clients and is not just after the big dollar. After contacting countless attorneys and with desperation setting in, I can honestly say without Derek, we may have been lost.

  6. ONE SPECIAL LAWYER!!!

    Posted by Mary, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    In a world where the legal profession is generally ranked by the public one slot lower than the most unscrupulous used car saleman, Derek Brett was a breath of fresh air and gives people hope that there are exceptional counselors who really care that their client has been wronged and won't gouge them in the process of a defense. Derek expedited this dispute and resolved it in less than 60 days. He went above and beyond my expectations, highly recommend.

  7. Above and Beyond

    Posted by Christopher Wilson, a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    To say Derek went above and beyond my exceptions would not do him justice. I hired Derek and the guys after I was arrested in a high profile case. To my surprise it turned out to be one of the best decisions I have ever made.

    Do not let the fact that he is a super nice guy fool you, he is a complete pitbull in the court room. There was a certain time during my case were I wondered if he was going to be sitting next to me in the holding cell. This is the dedication I came to expect and admire.

    Derek was available to me almost 24/7. These guys worked nights, weekends and even Christmas to make sure everything that needed done in my case was taken care of.

    Let me tell you from experience, if the Government ever decides to put you in their cross-hairs, Derek Brett is the guy you want standing beside you.

  8. A great honest lawyer

    Posted by edward, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Derik Bret has changed my opinion of lawyers. There is at least one good one in the world, and this is him. I highly recomend him if you need a lawyer, and I know from personal experience if you get the wrong lawyer to represent you, you will regret it. Fact of the matter is, he actually cares about the law,and what he is doing. You could not find a better lawyer in my opinion.

  9. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Brett.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Derek Brett represented me well -- very well. I was dealing with both criminal and civil liability. He ably and effectively was able to vindicate me with his knowledge, writing ability and verbal skills. Beyond that, he is probably the most honest attorney I have had (I have had many), and was continuously available to hear out my questions and to provide well-explained, understandable responses. I strongly recommend him to any one out there.